We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great White Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Save Saved
You added Club Med Tignes Val Claret to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Tignes Val Claret
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 hotels in Tignes
JHB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great White Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Having been to a couple Club Med's before we had a good idea as to what this resort would offer. Everything lived up to our expectations, rooms are great and the food as always is beyond believe.

We had ski lessons with Valentine who was brilliant, great understanding of what we wanted out of the lessons whilst making them as fun as possible!!

A special mention to Roxy from Club Med, her friendly nature and smiling face was always welcoming us when we were in the hotel. We shared many meals together which were always a good laugh, she is a real asset to Club Med.

See you soon Club Med!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    75
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
124
31
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a party of 8 that went for Christmas week, hotel was lovely but its the staff that really make it, really lovely, helpful and fun. nothing too much trouble.I broke my arm on the first day and they were really concerned and extra helpful. ski-ing was apparently great- but even if you couldn't ski then the spa's worth a visit. food is amazing!!! definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent our Christmas vacation in this hotel and everything was perfect.
Club med team was great, full of energy, Nathalie is concerned about all little details to make your stay a special moment.
Food was really good, above the standard I use to get in Club med those past years.
Rooms are large and well equipped ...out of the bad TV system and the poor quality of the mattress.
Mini club was great, our kids enjoyed every moment there.
Will come back next year!

Room Tip: try to get a room on higher level to avoid the late noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My rest was totally destroyed by gastro virus in this hotel. The doctor in the medical center said that a lot of emploees in this hotel were sick. First me then my daughter was attacked by that virus. My daughter has had 39,5. A lot of children were ill. Please be awere and take attention! Mini club is good only for ski, other is very dull. Night program is amazing. Food is average. I will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: if you travel 2 adults and 2 children take only 1 club room, it is enough for this size familly. Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a great location right on the piste. Amazing view from our slope-facing room which was spacious and comfortable for us (2 adults and one teenager).
The hotel was a little "tight", felt cramped compared to other Club Med resorts we have been to. The food was really good, and the staff made a big effort, especially the manager, Natalie, who sent everyone off skiing with a candy and strong shot if you wanted it.
The theatre was small and cramped, and reception and check-in were poor - but other than that it was great. And Tignes is great for skiing and access to the Espace Killy ski area. If you are on a lower floor you will be kept awake from the night club - so get as high a floor as you can - and pay the extra for slope-facing as Petit Claret is not in the same league.

Room Tip: Slope-facing is worth the extra. And pay to stay in the main hotel as Petit Claret is unpleasant an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was my first stay at a Club Med hotel so had no particular expectations and after reading some of the reviews was beginning to get a little nervous about the standard of the rooms. I was very pleasantly surprised as we had a slope side room with plenty of space. I am used to very small bedrooms in ski hotels/chalets/apartments but my Club room was one of the biggest I have used. A clean bathroom with bath/over bath shower and a separate toilet made it even more convenient for two people to get ready for an early start. We were disturbed a couple of nights by the noise of piste bashers who were out on the slopes in the early hours of the morning making the slopes safe after a heavy fall of snow. They start and end their shift at the bottom of the slope outside the hotel so expect some noise from them.

Although ski school was included in the cost of our holiday we did not use it. The cost of ski, boots and helmet hire was very expensive and if I had read an earlier review, would have used Skiset just across the road from the hotel.

We were there for the Christmas week and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere created by the staff. I must compliment the staff for all of their hard work. They were constantly on the go and could be seen in various guises around the hotel. Reception, behind the bar, involved in the evening show, collecting glasses, talking to guests, handing out sweets, carrying bags, etc, etc. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food at the hotel was great and more than adequate for fussy teenage appetites. Lots of choice and good quality. I was also pleasantly surprised to be given premium brand alcohol in the 'all inclusive' bar so have no complaints there either.

All in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and every member of our group said they would definitely go back to Club Med Tignes Val Claret if given the opportunity.

Thank you to all at Club Med Tignes.

Room Tip: Slope side room on an upper floor means you are not disturbed by the bar entertainment at night. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very large, spacious room.
Delicous food and good wine in the restaurant.
Ski in-ski out club in the middle of a big ski area linked to Val d'Isere.
All inclusive concept.
Nice ski room.
Kind and helpful staff directed by Nathalie who is always present and who tries to emerge a lost Club Med spirit.
Lively evening entertainment.
Only negative point is no complimentary wireless internet access.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Tignes Val Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Address: 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tignes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
#10 Family Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Tignes Val Claret 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village of Tignes Val Claret, nestled at an altitude of 2127 meters in the heart of an immaculate paradise, looks out over the magnificent surrounding massifs : Grande Motte, Grande Casse, Mont-Blanc and Grande-Sassière. Devoted to skiing in winter and summer alike, it is one of the legendary resorts for all snow sports fanatics. The Village lets you explore its slalom, mogul runs and snow parks. After a day's intense skiing relax with a sauna, Turkish bath, stretching and Club Med Spa* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Tignes Val Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Tignes Val Claret Hotel Tignes
Tignes Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Tignes Val Claret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.