We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms a bit run down but location is superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Save Saved
You added Club Med Tignes Val Claret to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Tignes Val Claret
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 hotels in Tignes
Windsor,UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Rooms a bit run down but location is superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I decided to try Tignes over Val D'isere last year. Club Med formula works for me although I may change to stg else in the future. Went with a friend and we had single rooms in the 2nd property. Very small rooms and very dated building. However, the quality of the skiing area and the fact that the food is better than ValD makes me recommend this place.Excellent spot for March skiing as you are high up and do not have to deal with slush in your afternoon run. the quality of the ski groups and instruction is also better than Val...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    75
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
124
31
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Belgian ski instructor Serges was excellent. Ski in and out was so useful. Room did not appear to have been vacuumed before our arrival and was not vacuumed whilst we were there. On arrival there was hair on bathroom floor which was still there when we left. Space between double bed and wall on both sides was less than20 cm (8 inches) so you had to sidle down with your feet at an angle to get into bed.......lots of bruised lower legs! We asked (two members of staff over two days) whether it would be possible to have a kettle, they both went off to find out but neither ever came back to us with a reply.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Club med tignes was an excellent venue for the perfect family ski holiday. We were a group of 13, 7 children and 6 adults. The ski out- ski in made life so much easier. The GOs were very attentive, the hotel was clean and the food was good. We never had a problem eating together and the place never seemed over crowded.
The evening entertainment was very good and the GOs put a lot of effort into it.
The only other club med I've been to was cervinia. so to compare:
Tignes is a smaller hotel therefore friendlier and easier to navigate for children.
The pool in tignes was smaller but fine for a splash about.
The food and variety was not as good as cervinia, the children lived on pizza and chips.
The staff in kids club were the usual club med high standard.
The rooms were bigger in tignes. And the south side had the most amazing view.
We were lucky to be on the 4th floor and I agree with other reviews that the noise if on level 1 could get irritating.
The best thing about Tignes was the chef du village Zani. She was so attentive and was everywhere all the time. Incredibly friendly and efficient. She made the whole experience 1notch better. Well done Zani and good luck in Mauritius.

Room Tip: Fourth floor or higher on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in a family room for one week in mid April 2013. Our four years old son loved the Mini Club and the Mini Club staff actively went our of their way to make him feel welcome and play with him - the Mini Club was the most positive aspect of our holiday and our child loved it. I could not praise the Mini Club staff highly enough - they are the reason this review is an "average" and not a "poor" or "terrible".

There were a number of issues that impacted very negatively on our holiday experience. When we arrived on the Sunday, our son found the Mini Club room on the ground floor - it is a lovely roomy space, with windows with views of the slopes and chairs and tables of a size suitable for young kids. When we registered our son for the Mini Club, we were told that, actually, as there were not many children of his age attending that week, our son would be allocated the Junior's Club room with the older children instead - a horrible space in the basement with no windows, no light, chairs and tables of a height suited to older children and games such as pinball and table football that are completely unsuitable for younger children (they cannot even reach the handles!). I had a stand-up row with the Chef de Village about this on my first day - I said that the allocation of play rooms should not be made for the convenience of the Club Med staff, it should be for the enjoyment of the children. The Chef de Village eventually relented, but not without an argument that I simply should not have had to make.

As for our room, the family room is very small. The two beds for kids are located in the 'hall' of the room leading to the main bedroom and the kids' sleeping area does not have windows. Worst of all was the state of the bathroom. We had mould growing around our bath. Also, the gap between the shower screen and bath was completely unsealed meaning that on each occasion we took a shower, water flowed freely on to the floor, which made the floor sopping wet, slippy and completely unsafe for all of us. In fairness, the bath was resealed at the third time of asking on the Tuesday but we were not able to use the bathroom from morning until evening on the day of the repairs to allow the sealant time to dry and it did not prevent water leaking on to the floor as the shower screen is simply too small. It is a disgrace that the bath was allowed to get into that state and the room allocated to paying clients, and that repairs were then made to the bath on the clients' time with no credit whatsoever.

In general, we found staffing to be an issue. The evening meal service begins at 7.30pm and we found that until around 7pm there would be only one person serving at the bar, at most two. There would be no table service at all until around 7pm. We were told by one GO that she was only serving drinks as there were staff shortages. Also, on two occasions we found communal toilets, one by the ski room and one in the restaurant, without toilet paper, paper towels, soap and even a working hand drier - these are basics that the resort should be getting right. The food and drink were both fine we found.

Our son loved swimming in the pool, but the pool is small and the supervision by the 'lifeguard' is nonchalant. On two evenings in a row, two older children whose parents were not supervising them ran riot in the pool and constantly splashed my son, who is learning how to swim. The 'lifeguard' simply looked on.

It grated with me also that while at the resort, the Club Med way is to earn more money from its clients, not least in the exorbitant rates charged for ski and helmet rental. Also, there is clearly open collusion between the ESF instructors and the resort photographer. On the last day of our ski lessons, we were 'shadowed' by the photographer (we on skis, he on a snowboard). The ESF instructor gathered us without explanation at a particular spot on La Grande Motte Glacier, then about 15 minutes skiing time were wasted while the photographer arranged the skiers for increasingly cheesy photographs. I refused to take part and complained to the instructor that our valuable skiiing time was being wasted with this nonsense, only to be told that he had no choice but to allow the photographer to do this. The resulting photographs can be bought in the dedicated photography shop on the ground floor of the hotel - prices starting at NINE EUROS each for a small print. Worst of all, when I went to visit my son to see him learning to ski at the Mini Club, I found one of the photographers taking numerous pictures of all the kids. No-one had asked my permission for a photographer to approach my son in this way - as far as I was concerned he was learning to ski all day, not posing for photos.

Our ESF instructor was good, but he insisted on taking the group on a longer excursion on the Thursday and going to a restaurant outside of he resort of his choice for lunch - those of us with children simply could not join the party as we would miss lunch with our own children at Club Med and so we lost a whole day of ski lessons while the instructor brought the entire group on an extended trip to a restaurant outside the resort for lunch. I have no idea what arrangement the ESF instructor has with this restaurant, but I felt it was completely inappropriate.

The hotel is clearly showing its age, the rooms and the basement area in particularly, are very much showing their age. We had a very positive experience in Club Med in Val d'Isere previously, but despite the excellent Mini Club, we will not return to Val Claret, it is simply not worth more than EUR 4,000 for a week's stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our first experience with Club Med, but we traveled to many other skiing resorts before. Club Med offers very good value for skiing in Espace Killy.

The GOs really try to make our stay enjoyable. Always with a smile and the end of the stay they know who your kids are and you're basically on the first name basis. Special thanks to Maxim and Flo for taking care of the kids. Zani (a.k.a Zanush, for those who stayed until the last spectacle which was absolutely hilarious!!!!) is very visible in the village and makes management look easy.

Entertainment and kids activities. Wonderful. I found that quality of performances is great, especially taking into account that GOs have day jobs, that don't include dancing. Although, I'd say activities are great for ages 3 to 14. Older kids hang out with themselves and I don't think they need entertainment. There is dancing every night, but many people with kids had to put go to bed early. Not easy to manage skiing and night life. I prefer skiing.

Location. Nothing is better in the Tignes. Easy access to lifts - ski in/out. No more comments. Google Maps has an error in location of the resort, which is kind of important.

Room/sleep. The higher the better. Fairly standard rooms, nothing fancy. Animal figures made of towels - kids absolutely loved them.

Food. Nothing fancy there. But if you want "haut-cuisine", go and pay extra somewhere else. For those coming from outside France, this is your chance to try all dishes from French cuisine. There is always something fresh or something is made right in front you (e.g. roast beef or salad or oysters). Kids loved omlettes for breakfast.

One thing I would change. There is a great reception after morning skiing. I would really move it to 4-5 PM and then it would be real apres-ski experience. You can't really relax before lunch and skiing in the afternoon. Would be nice to have an opportunity to eat on the mountain.

Skiing. Many thanks to Philippe our skiing instructor. I got some good advice from him. He knew the domain, and took us to places with best snow and weather. When weather was bad, we ended up dancing on the tables. Great experience overall.

Overall. I loved it, kids loved it, will come back. Many thanks to Zani and her team.

Room Tip: Take a room with view on pistes. The mountain is highlighted at night and it adds to a great view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Tignes connected to Val d'Isere is just a fabulous domaine. Start directly at ski tracks from the Club ski room. Ski room is very well organized and thought : individual lockers, with private code, ventilated, just 10m to go to be outside with skis at your feet ...!
Ski teachers available immediatly out of the ski room to take you to the slopes ... greatly done.

Food buffet is nice but nothing really special ... Quantity is there, quality is average .... Atmosphere of the restaurant is nice although a more mountain-traditional climate would have been appreciated.

Fitness room is small but acceptable,,, fantastic view on the slopes ... Swimming pool is just much too small ... don't go there when dozens of kids have decided to spend there time ...

Staff is friendly but taking into account the club med spirit, they really could / shoud do more & better. Maybe effect of the end of season .... GOs not so motivated 2 weeks before Club seasonal closing ?

Ski equipment rental is more expensive than outside, and not necessarily of highest quality although the service is professional ...

Absolutely for a 4 Tridents club is the non-included Wi-Fi ... For a stay costing overall 1.500eur per week, anybldy would consider a free wifi as a normal thing ... In club med, no. You have to pay 20eur to get connected ... Even a short-time free connection in the lobby is not granted ... I would call this a scandal ....

Main lobby is nice, nespresso & excellent tea available at all time ...Nice tea-break from4pm for people coming back from ski ...
Free of charge drinks at the bar, but drinks are that light that you'll need to drink dozens before you feel you have drunk anything ....

Last but not least, accomodation : the separate building Petit Claret (connected by underground path to the main building) is overall old and tired ... Club manager probably does not look there ever .... Floor so dirty, lift never cleaned .... Room for this was very clean and nice, although incredibly small (but club very honestly informed about it).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Summary: Very good value family skiing in high location. Kids love it but parents beware that you get little time or space to yourselves. I'd never do Club Med without children!

Some detail: My wife and our teenage children (14 & 15) joined a large British contingent of guests totaling 29 over Easter 2013. Most of us had some previous Club Med experience. Ours was at La Plagne the previous year.

Club Med offers good value skiing with excellent ski-in ski-out facilities in high altitude locations. Tignes Val Claret was no exception. The hotel is an ugly, purpose built affair surrounded by similarly ugly but functional buildings situated above the tree line. It was never intended to be a pretty, scenic setting with easy access to alpine walks among the fir trees. This place is designed for family ski holidays with loads of children charging about all day and evening until the staged entertainment ends around mid-night. You get exactly what is promised.

As usual, the Club Med staff were fantastically friendly and efficient. Its hard to fault them. The only error was the driver of the bus delivering us to the wrong terminal at Geneva on our way home. Food was not quite as good as La Plagne but was still of a very high standard with something for everyone including pizzas and pastas for the kids. There is a small indoor pool and sauna / steam rooms for adults only but these are right beside the cramped changing rooms and offer no where to relax other than on loungers around the child infested pool. Our room was fine for the price but you only have the beds to relax on. Bathroom was small but everything worked. Wifi was E20 for the week but was very unreliable. I run my own business and found the poor broadband access very stressful. The ski / boot room was spacious with working boot warmers in every locker. Tip: rent your skis / boots from Intersport just down the road (online in advance) and save 50% of the Club Med cost and there's none of the queuing at Club Med on day 1 or 7. For a family of 4 we saved well over 200 Euros over one week.

My personal gripe, not shared by our children who love the Club Med experience, is that every day is identical to the next. You eat in the same place breakfast, lunch and dinner. The only relaxing area is in the huge bar plus theatre that dominates the ground floor which resembles a cheap night-club even during the day. Disco light displays and low lighting with no windows other than doors to the small terrace and smokers shed do not encourage adults to kick back and relax. The routine that all but the old and injured follow is get up at 7.30, breakfast, join your ski group, back at lunch, eat, back on the slopes, back between 4 to 5, shower, eat, line dance (seriously - the French love it!), bed by 11 and start all over. By paying in advance for all food and drink why would you pay outrageous French mountain prices for lunch in a piste-side restaurant? (Watery hot chocolate E4.50 & someone paid E16.50 for a plate of chips!) And there's very little apres ski in Val Claret so again, everyone stays in Club Med. Six identical days!

We also had a running battle with the ESF ski school that have the Club Med contract. A profoundly deaf child in our group required an actual English, English instructor to help him hear and understand. ESF could not provide this so our friends pre-booked a Brit they had used in Tignes before. Each day this instructor was physically shoved around, face slapped and twice knocked to the ground by ESF staff. Crude hand gestures were given in front of his face - all right in front of our many children. We returned home to news in the British papers of an established and popular British instructor being arrested in Megeve because of some red-tape rule changes deliberately introduced a few weeks prior (in mid-season) to cause British instructors a severe headache. We will never use ESF again - they were a disgrace.

My wife was also rudely shouted at by the operator of a ski lift when she was trying to help a small child off the chair lift. I hate to sound so jingoistic but the French authorities in Tignes are doing themselves no favours. ESF and others would do well to learn some lessons from Club Med staff in how to manage customer relations.

Room Tip: Others in our grouo advised to avoid first and second floors. Disco music and rubbish collection sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Tignes Val Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Address: 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tignes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
#10 Family Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Tignes Val Claret 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village of Tignes Val Claret, nestled at an altitude of 2127 meters in the heart of an immaculate paradise, looks out over the magnificent surrounding massifs : Grande Motte, Grande Casse, Mont-Blanc and Grande-Sassière. Devoted to skiing in winter and summer alike, it is one of the legendary resorts for all snow sports fanatics. The Village lets you explore its slalom, mogul runs and snow parks. After a day's intense skiing relax with a sauna, Turkish bath, stretching and Club Med Spa* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Tignes Val Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Tignes Val Claret Hotel Tignes
Tignes Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Tignes Val Claret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.