We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Save Saved
You added Club Med Tignes Val Claret to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Tignes Val Claret
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 hotels in Tignes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went skiing last week and stayed in the interconnecting room in the petit claret (opposite the main club med building), which was a three person room, one double room and one single room.
pros:
ski in ski out
good ski locker room with ventilated lockers to dry out boots.
well organised
lunch at the hotel was very convenient.
friendly staff
comfortable double bed
nice shower
good breakfasts with very nice bread.
good variety of food

cons:
short single bed
double sized duvet on the single bed, so it kept slipping off the bed as it was so heavy.
uncomfortable square pillows
not really an interconnecting room - the bed was in front of the door; it could be moved, but was difficult as is was a tight fit, and you still have to climb over the bed to get to the door.
double bed too wide for the room.
the petit claret felt very dated and the staircase and lift were very dirty - more effort put into the main building.
stains on the towels and bed sheets
mugs and plates were chipped and many mugs were dirty.
cutlery sometimes dirty
glasses in the room were not cleaned properly
bathroom in single room very cramped and dirty in the corners
mixed food for lunch and dinner - some very good, some awful. veg overcooked, avoid beef.
not so good for vegetarians - lots of things had meat in, including the potato salad and mixed veg.
ski lesson sizes far too big (said max 12 on the website, but it was more like 12-15 in some classes)
some instructors very good, but some not good (especially those for the teenage lessons) and were more like guides - did not teach at all, went very quickly and didn't stop often to wait for the slower skiiers.
Overall it was ok but not worth the price and expected better.

Room Tip: stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    75
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
124
31
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spend a week end of March at Tignes Clud Med Val Claret. The welcome process is efficient, all you luggages are in your room very quickly and your ski equipment ends up in your locker on the spot. Rentals, ski passes...all waiting for you. The public places ( bar, restaurant) are nice. Not too crowded, no " cantine" feeling at all. Buffet were fine but not exceptionnal. The service level and the GO team were very good. Evening shows were nice , different than usual . The last one " reward' is very nice.....with a Great Zani....Zanich...Val Clarechhhh live from Rio...Zani ," cheffe de village " is efficient and supportive. The room with view on the ski slopes is nice. Modern, functionnal, clean and roomy. Overall, this was a nice stay, friendly , no major negative stuffs to report except.....an loosy internet connection charged 20 euros.....( a bit sad when you pay already 1900 euros per person for a week....) and elevator which are dating from 1925 or something ( annoying when one person is injured....).....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburry
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were at this same Club Med two years ago and must point out that we enjoyed our stay both times! The hotel is very well managed with a kind and attentive staff that will make you feel at ease the minute you arrive. The reception is excellent as it is swift and well organized (difficult taking into consideration that all clients arrive on the same day!). The ski room for equipment rentals is also very swift and efficient as well as the well run Restaurant. Food is good (not gourmet but nor do we pay for that) and plenty. The skiing is also very well organized in the different ages and levels so that everyone can enjoy the wonderful snow and great slopes of Space Killy (unbeatable ski domain). The only "but" I can say is that two years ago our children (then age 7 and 13) had more activities in the Mini Club and Junior club. Now with age 9 and 15 they felt slightly left out and believe me, both were looking forward to the shows they had nearly nightly two years ago with Remi in the Mini Club and Fabien in the Junior (they still remember their names and even some of the songs they learnt). This year, it was the staff that held the shows and there was little for the children. No big deal really but thought this might be of interest to the hotel. We shall hopefully come back next year.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try and stay away from the first floor as you can hear the music slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having read the previous review of this problem we emailed in advance to avoid the first floor as our daughter was ill. Arrived on the day and booked into 1112 and 1114 on the first floor! Complained and were told that these rooms OK and 1117 and 1118 were the problem rooms. This was a lie. The "show" was so loud that the room vibrated and impossible to read or watch TV. Have complained and told we will be moved in the morning...but no one could do anything this evening which also seems very poor . And I do object strongly to be being misled when we checked in.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Last year we've been to Valmorel, food&service quality was very good as well as mini club activities for kids. This year, for a change we have decided to try Tignes.
Great dissappointment; Mini club activities were very good, mini club chef was Benjamin and he was at Valmorel previous year. But food and Service quality were nowhere near Valmorel. During the breakfast time at 8.00 am it was difficult to find tea! There was only one selection of bread which is white bread. Food quality and choices were poor. Empty plates were with us throughout the meal as waiters did not collect the empty plates until the end of the meal. Therefore, next year hopefully we will either go to Valmorel again or try Paisey Vallandry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staff are great, really welcoming and enthusiastic. Skiing, food, rooms etc all very good BUT our room is on the first floor and the disco is so loud it could be in our bedroom! If any of your group want to sleep before the music stops at 11pm then ask for a room higher than the first floor. My 8 yr old has to be at ski school at 8.45am so I want him to sleep before 11pm. I find myself managing to tune out the music and drifting off to sleep when the DJ yells into the microphone and I nearly hit the ceiling!
If they do a refurb they must soundproof between the disco and the bedrooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Back to Club Med Tignes for a week in December - third year running. Not scenic or pretty in any way but everything just works here. The ski in ski out is great, everything from ski lockers, restaurants, pool, spa, rentals are all located conveniently in one building and the staff are well organised and by and large very well drilled in how to take care of guests. Children (11 and 7) were generally well taken care. Transfers (really long - 3hrs+ bring snacks/arrival/departure all extremely well organised (although Club Med can't do anything about that horrific airport in Geneva). Had our fair share of skiing in blizzards but it's like that every December and the powder is great once visibility returns. Ski school/ski instructors at their usual standard. All excellently organised and very competent instructors who really know their way around. Rooms haven't really shown much signs of wear and tear and were generally in good condition - but would be good to sleep on something other than those square pillows. Wifi connections worked well, sometimes slow at peak periods. Some staff were super helpful and the Chef de Village went out of his way (slightly OTT) to introduce himself to almost everyone in the resort.

Our main gripe was the quality of food. It is trending downwards in a really bad way in our view. Cooking was average and not disastrous, but quality of ingredients (tough cuts of meat or seafood that couldn't really be described as fresh) was a real letdown this year. Quite uninspiring and we didn't really return for seconds for any of our main meals. If there's one thing that will stop us from returning to Club Med Val Claret next year, it would be the food.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not on top of the bar area if you're not into your apres ski activities and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Tignes Val Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Address: 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tignes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
#10 Family Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Tignes Val Claret 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village of Tignes Val Claret, nestled at an altitude of 2127 meters in the heart of an immaculate paradise, looks out over the magnificent surrounding massifs : Grande Motte, Grande Casse, Mont-Blanc and Grande-Sassière. Devoted to skiing in winter and summer alike, it is one of the legendary resorts for all snow sports fanatics. The Village lets you explore its slalom, mogul runs and snow parks. After a day's intense skiing relax with a sauna, Turkish bath, stretching and Club Med Spa* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Tignes Val Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Tignes Val Claret Hotel Tignes
Tignes Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Tignes Val Claret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.