We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guytons from norwich england xmas holiday 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Tignes Val Claret

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Med Tignes Val Claret
Save
You added Club Med Tignes Val Claret to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Club Med Tignes Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“guytons from norwich england xmas holiday 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

the best holiday we have had so far.we go away every year for xmas.. food was so good we were really full. thank goodness we could ski it off.ha ha the staff were always there to help and always talking to you making sure every thing ok.plus on top of the staffs working day they put on the shows in the evening which was so professional.the spa was great.with water arobics every day. we will be using club med again .

Room Tip: room with ski run views . we loved being on 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    102
    47
    19
    9
See reviews for
172
39
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
holbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff are very accommodating from the moment you walk through the door. The resort manager Julian works extremely hard and the staff all work very well together. The entertainment is top class and there is never a dull moment. The food is excellent and great variety. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We chose this resort as we wanted a club med hotel which would have snow early in the season. This was our third club med ski experience and we had a fantastic time - there was a clear difference to the three trident resort that we had previously stayed at. Julien was a brilliant host who was always evident and this seemed a very well managed hotel. The level of ski instruction was high and the instructors spoke great English. The family club room was a good size and there was lots of storage. The food was plentiful and the pre dinner snacks just about kept our 7 year old going until the restaurant opened -however we would have liked this to open slightly earlier!

Overall, we had a great holiday, with fantastic snow conditions and we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed here several times before on my own and with my family. The hotel is situated directly on the slopes with access from the ski room. One tip is to hire skis from the the shops adjacent to the hotel rather than in the hotel, it avoids the long queues to rent and return skis. The skiing area will keep all levels of skiers happy and it enables the intermediate skier to venture safely off piste with one of the groups that are led by ESF instructors.
Children learn to ski in a safe environment and can take part in the evening shows.
The shows are very French with great costumes, though not for everyone.
Being an inclusive resort you may think you would have to queue at the bar however this is rare and the selection is good. The children can order what they like when they like.
The food is always buffet style and varied but sometimes difficult for vegetarians, however there is a wide choice. Perhaps the standards have dropped a little over the last few years.
Accommodation is comfortable though the single rooms are very small.
Overall a great resort to ski for the whole family and you can take part as much or little as you like.
Is there a downside, perhaps the length of the transfer from the airport.

Room Tip: Slope view is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We chose Club Med Tignes because of the guaranteed good snow at that altitude. We weren't bothered that it was a family resort because we were reassured by the various programmes for children. We arrived for our week's stay over Christmas 2012 to find out that of 500 guests, 220+ were children. They were everywhere. All the time. The bar was nothing more than a venue for children to run laps around chairs, sofas and the fireplace. The all inclusive drinks and food policy meant that many were so hyper on soft drink and essentially "red cordial" that they were out of control. Meal times were on ongoing nightmare with children of all ages careening between buffet stations with plates of food and pushing into queues. Not to mention swinging on hand railings and occasionally just sitting in the middle of the floor until a chef would tidy them away. The dining starts at 7.30 pm in the evening which someone suggested is too late for children who have been skiing all day - we would agree. We tried every night to find a relatively secluded spot in the restaurant but had little luck as there is no-where that is sectioned off as adults only - not in the restaurant, not in the bar. No where. Can understand that families want to dine together and share their snow-ploits of the day - perhaps just an earlier sitting and a later sitting would do the trick. We stayed in Le Petit Claret (accessed from the main resort via a tunnel or by crossing the road). Nicely refurbished room, excellent big soft bed, good use of space and had a bath in the bathroom. Suspect a good soft refurb was done as the bathroom, whilst functional, is showing it's age a little. Food was excellent - lots of seafood and French christmas food - christmas "logs" etc - but not somewhere to go if you're looking for ham/turkey/cranberry and christmas pudding. Also, if you arrive on Sunday and have your own gear, avoid the tunnel between the buildings at all costs - it will be full of families with children lying all over the floor so that you have to pick your way between them just to get back to your room (they are all there renting equipment for hours).

Honestly, Julien and his senior team did their best to create a slight exclusion zone for us at mealtimes, but without an actual adults only section at the bar, a later dinner sitting or a separate (and enforced) child-free section in the restaurant, it's just not worth the stress of having a ski holiday at a kindergarten.

The only way to sum it up is to imagine you're visiting a family with a lot of kids - there is ALWAYS food on the floor. Some of it fresh, some of it ground in - but it's always there. (Which is just not good enough when you've paid several hundreds of dollars a day).

Then imagine your visiting friends with no children - spotless. That will be us if we ever go to Club Med again - at the Adults Only properties!

OK. 'Nuff said. If you have a family, get in there, you'll have a great time. If you don't. Think twice.

Room Tip: Our room on level 2 of Le Petit Claret faced the main entrance and was generally, very quiet and pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Kudos goes to Julien, who seems to be everywhere anytime, organising the goings-on in Club Med Tignes Val Claret. We arrived from Turin which was a pleasant sub-3hr drive away. Got our deluxe rooms immediately and our luggage made its appearance swiftly ... Everything worked, which is not what I can say of some of the other Club Meds we have visited. The skiing is good at Tignes, fortunately for us the weather turned out fantastic in the last 3 days.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

1. Shuttle from the Geneva Airport was late, almost an hour
2. Reception at the Hotel, not organised
3. Rooms were very good, spacious, tidy with lots of wardrobe space
4. Food/dining: a very good well prepared variety of foods and snacks. The dining time is way too late for children who have been skiing two sessions per day. 19:30 is too late, dining should be open from 18:30.
5. The lounge area is spacious but the floors are not well vacuumed.
6. Coffee machines in the lounge hardly ever had milk
7. Entertainment: If you like to loose a % of your hearing, this is the place to visit. The children's concert started at 21:30???? The noise level was uncomfortable. The music was extremely loud.
8.SKIING - excellent!!!!! The runs, the gear, the instructors were all very good.
This is "ski in ski out" in the true sense of the word!!
9. Kids club staff - most staff members were very friendly and very enthusiastic. Programme activities apart from the ski sessions not well structured.
10. Hotel staff: friendly and helpful, made sure that we are happy daily.
11. Check out was very unorganised...

Will I go back to Tignes? for the skiing yes!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Tignes Val Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Address: Club Med Tignes Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tignes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tignes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
#11 Family Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Tignes Val Claret 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village of Tignes Val Claret, nestled at an altitude of 2127 meters in the heart of an immaculate paradise, looks out over the magnificent surrounding massifs : Grande Motte, Grande Casse, Mont-Blanc and Grande-Sassiere. Devoted to skiing in winter and summer alike, it is one of the legendary resorts for all snow sports fanatics. The Village lets you explore its slalom, mogul runs and snow parks. After a day's intense skiing relax with a sauna, Turkish bath, stretching and Club Med Spa* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Tignes Val Claret Hotel Tignes
Tignes Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Tignes Val Claret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.