We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gentiana - a French gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Gentiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Gentiana to your Saves list
Hotel Le Gentiana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Rosset, 73320 Tignes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“The Gentiana - a French gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Gentiana hotel just after Easter for 4 nights. We have stayed there before, with good memories and again the experience didn't disappoint. This is a family run hotel and Serge, the proprieter and his sister, Nadia are charming and efficient. The food is wonderful and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The Gentiana has a lovely comfortable dining room which has a delicious spread for breakfast and an imaginative menu for the evening. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the main telecabine at Tignes Du Lac and Serge has good relations with the adjacent ski hire shop making equipment hire easy and comparatively reasonable. The rooms, although on the small side are extremely clean and comfortable. We would recommend this hotel without a second thought and look forward to staying there again. The Bond Family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    37
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
52
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We (family with teenage children) booked Le Gentiana on the strength of the reviews from previous visitors and because we wanted a local French run hotel for our skiing holiday in Tignes (as opposed to a British run chalet/hotel). We booked direct and Serge advised and arranged taxi transfers for our party. We were not disappointed...the location is perfect (so close to the lifts), the hotel is cosy yet spacious (plenty of room in the lounge, dining room looking over the slopes and Serge, Nadia and all of the staff were super friendly, helpful and flexible. We enjoyed the food and the speciality fondue and buffet evenings added to the experience. The chef is clearly very accomplished...and innovative, there were Asian inspired dishes as well as classic French. Cakes and pastries in the bar at tea-time is a nice touch. The icing on the cake is the pool and spa area which we all made use of after hard work on the slopes - not just one jacuzzi but two, sauna and steam room and a pool which never seemed too busy - a bit of luxury!. Yes the rooms are compact but they are adequate. My only (small) complaint was that I was woken several mornings by lorries reversing into the hotel opposite (so I will be asking for a quiet room away from the road if possible when we next stay!). All in all a fabulous holiday - Le Gentiana is certainly the best ski hotel I've stayed in - as one of the other reviewers said, it really is a 'little gem'. We will be back!.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have balconies but the downside is the road which can be noisy in the mornings. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here with family 5-12 April 14. We booked direct with hotel and flew to Chambery with Jet2. The hotel arranged a taxi return. The ski passes (full espace killy) were part of the deal. All very easily and willingly organised by Serge who runs the Gentiana with his sister Nadia. The Gentiana is well placed in Tignes le Lac, not ski in/out this year at the time we went but can imagine it might be close to it when more snow. The hotel is very comfortable with great facilities: rooms we had were facing the street the hotel sits on, we got a lot of road noise but that's not the hotel's fault and if it was serious we would have asked to move, the rooms are neat but well spec'd (good en suite), boot/ski room neat but very well set up (boots always lovely and dry/warm, skis in locked cupboard, but can imaging could be crowded if weather poor and lots of people heading out at same time, we tended to put boots on in reception or outside), restaurant one of biggest selling points (service and food outstanding, can't say any more than the best reviews already mentioned), wellness area very pleasant (small but well tended, clean and always very welcome at the end of a day in the mountains).
Serge and Nadia were always more than willing to assist, answer, help with any question or problem we had. This obviously sets the culture of the hotel as the rest of the staff follow suit.
More on the food: we have 2 sons (18 and 19) who have big appetites and they were never left hungry! Breakfast: plenty of options from cereals, fruit, yoghurts, breads, meat and cheese, boiled eggs (they say 4.5mins and were soft for us but we always managed to eat!). Really liked one of the previous reviews: "there is no full english breakfast because you're in France!". Plenty of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit juice, water etc. Dinner: always outstanding! Cheese fondue and seafood buffet especially. We were asked if we wanted the main chicken course on the seafood buffet night (the buffet is a starter!!) and obviously said yes...........my wife bailed out and changed her mind after looking at the buffet properly, the other 3 of us struggled through.........the buffet would have been plenty!
Afternoon tea: every day after skiing (if you were not too late on the apres ski) there was a great selection of pastries etc on the small bar, plus options of smoothies or milk shakes from the bar (ordered and charged extra but well worth it!).
We had a great week in Tignes, very much made by this hotel, the owners and their staff, all we can say is thank you to the Hotel Gentiana :-)

Room Tip: Rooms to front/road subject to noise through the night/early morning but have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We booked a late deal with Nielson Ski holidays and found ourselves a little gem in Tignes. The hotel is cosy and welcoming with a superb staff who could not do enough for the guests. Serge and his sister run the hotel to a great standard. The restaurant served a wonderful array of foods every evening that were served and presented to a very high standard. After a hard day skiing the pool, jacuzzi and steam room were very welcome and a lovely place to relax. The bedrooms are small but comfortable with room cleaning every day. The hotel is a short walk (2mins) from the ski lifts and village centre. The ski boot room is well organised with lockers and boot warmest and there was always plenty of space to get ready before hitting the slopes.
A lovely touch was the provision of a snack tray in our room providing us with refreshments for our early morning departure.
This hotel is excellent and not to be missed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Booked a late deal with Neilson and our Hotel in Tignes was the Le Gentiana. What an amazing piece of luck. Having skied in the Alps for over thirty years this hotel must rate as one of the best we have experienced. The rooms and the public areas were cosy, and welcoming, the service at all times was friendly, and ultra efficient. The proprietor Serge and his sister who manages the restaurant were attentive, helpful and welcoming at all times. The food was outstanding, with wonderful main courses and sweets, in particular the sea food evening meal which can only be described as sumptuous. The ski room was well organised with individual lockers for skis and the reception area had excellent seating for getting suited and booted in the mornings. Access to lifts, ski hire, and buses was first class. The Polish receptionist went out of his way to be helpful and provided fantastic backup to Serge who was usually available for any issues. In addition to all these facilities there was a pool, whirl pool, and sauna very welcome after a hard days skiing. Minor issues, the plumbing was a bit tired and some of the wiring a little challenging. These were small criticisms as the only word which sums up our stay was "FANTASTIC".

Room Tip: Which room is irrelevant.....just get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

my girlfriend and I arrived at the Gentiana and was immediately greeted by the Polish receptionist who came outside to welcome us, he apologised that our room was not quite ready yet so we'd have to wait for an hour- not a problem, he was very professional about it and we were more than happy to go for a beer down the road whist we waited.
on our return back to the hotel we finally checked in and one of the waiters helped take one of our 30Kg snowboard bags to our room via the lift for us, which was a nice touch.
a lot of reviews on here say the rooms are small and pokey,
I'm going to say our room was comfortable , clean and warm - all you really need for a skiing holiday right? I mean, how much time are you going to spend in this room?
there was a large double bed with wooden wardrobes on either sides that had " cubby holes" built in to either side for your convenience and the whole structure was connected so it looked fitted. there was a few deep shelves on either side and each wardrobe had a rail and hangers.
one side has a built in combination safe too.
the bed is very comfy although the sheets and blanket combination on top wasn't. we would've preferred a duvet.
we didn't have a balcony as requested when booking but we had a lovely "piste" view from our window.
There is a flat screen TV connected to the wall - it has many channels , the only English speaking ones were BBC World News, CNN and Euro sport.
there's 2 chairs, a writing desk with built in cupboard, large wooden coat hooks and a full length mirror which I think was hung up by a vey small person as it was too low for me - I'm 5'9 and it reached my chest.
the coat hooks are too close to the mirror so every time we hung our snowboard jackets up the mirror would swing about -be careful with this!
the toilet is separate to the bathroom and can be a squeeze to get into and out of as the door "just fits" past the bowl.
the bathroom was tiled from floor to ceiling and there is a large vanity desk- sink with plenty of room for your toiletries, also there is a large wooden shelf above the bath. the bath had a shower attachment to it with a glass screen.
the bathroom mirror is massive and there is a hairdryer, electric shaving power point, and built in tissue dispenser.
we had bathrobes and pool slippers folded on our bed for us also.
Every room has a key card lock with a ski locker key attached to the card.
the ski locker room was very small but very secure at least.
we just about squeezed two snowboards into one locker. the boot drying racks are great too.
the back door to this room has a fire escape bar lock which can only be opened from inside .
there is a small seat next to this door for putting on your boots but I do not recommend using it as other people will barge past you and into you on their way out! it's a very small room! but it serves its purpose.
I would recommend either being early to boot up at 8am or wait until around 10am and use the bench seats in reception .
the reception desk is what it is and is usually manned until quite late although if no-one is around it does state to ring the bell.... however we never found a bell to ring in the first place!
the lift is next to reception as is the bar and lounging areas. down a few steps next to the lift is the restaurant. - it's very.......pink!!
the breakfast is a buffet from 07:15 - 09:15 it includes filter coffee, hot milk machine,
hot water machine, yoghurts, cereals, fruit salad, prunes, nuts and fresh fruit, fruit compotes, very fresh French sticks ham slices, emmental slices and half boiled eggs.
there is no Full English option ....because it's France ! we didn't care and were stuffed every morning on gorgeous fluffy warm bread.
we were half board so I can't comment on lunch, I'm not sure if they even serve lunch.
dinner is served between 19:15 - 21:00.
the dinner service is very professional and polite.The waiters are well trained from pouring wine to quenelling epoisses cheese and clearing and serving from the correct sides etc. the dress code is smart casual but there were people in shirts and trousers, whilst others had jeans and t-shirts. one guy came in his swimming shorts and surf t-shirt.. so i guess anything goes really!
the dinner is plentiful, very well presented and tasted amazing. although it can drag on for a couple of hours with a long wait between courses.
but the food is amazing like the other reviews say. there was only one night that we didn't like the food, and that was on the meat fondue night. But that's our personal preference, you might love it!
downstairs past the restaurant is the access to the swimming pool along with a few public access toilets, a laundry room and a pool table. there are 2 Jacuzzis a sauna, hammam a jet shower massage pod( requires tokens from reception for this )and of course a pool. the Jacuzzis are hot and in good working condition . the pool is a refreshing temperature and there's access to roll in snow outside too. the only gripe would be that everyone hangs their bathrobes in the same place so trying to find yours in between others searching everyone's robe pockets for your keys can be quite embarrassing so I'd recommend tying a slipper or flip flop to the waist rope !!
the hotel is probably ski in - ski out during big dumps of snow but we went spring time so all the roads were clear and dry and we had to walk to and from the slopes, it takes approx. 1 minute either way so we really didn't mind!!!
there are a few shops around the corner from the hotel, a gift shop, some pubs, a pancake house and a tobacconist .
the tignes ski area is great, and very vast. vald'isere is good too although it can be very expensive there. in Tignes we bought a cheese and ham Panini, bucket of chips, 2 sausages, a coke and a powerade all for 16 euros - from TOKO SNACK near to the hotel.
in Val d'isere we bought 2 x powerade for 15 euros.........erm.....
there are plenty of snobby Chelsea - Sloane Square brits in Val d'isere and I think that's why the prices there are so high!
anyway, ive digressed , its a great hotel to stay in , the staff are very friendly the food is amazing and the wellness centre is much appreciated after a day on the slopes. stay here if you can !!!!

Room Tip: ask for 214 for a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Based on the reviews and location we selected this hotel and were not disappointed. We travelled with Neilson who use Intersport for hire equipment. Asked for directions to get our skis the very informative receptionist showed that with our voucher we could use Twinner. He thought the Neilson reps get an Intersport commission so we used Twinner. The fitting and skis, we have our own boots, were excellent. The hotel has a ski room next to reception. Not large but provided a lockable space for skis and better still a ski shop commercial boot rack which came on during the night and heated your boots. I felt perfectly happy leaving my brand new expensive custom made boots. Regarding comments about locks and lack of space in this room we were there at half term and it was OK and I believe it hitting the slopes quite early.

Out of the hotel, turn right 50 yards downhill and onto the snow with the choice of a gondola or chair. We did not find any difficulty in the slight slope walking in ski boots. We did ski back to the rear entrance and use the spiral staircase, not recommended but if you are a boarder you would be all right, so it is technically a ski back hotel! Joy of joy, UK half term, French first half term and no queues, yes no queues until you got to the base of Val Claret, and then avoid by using the funicular and at the base of Val d’isere with huge queue at 1030 for the Solaise express. Really recommend Tignes and the area for the lack of queues. The skiing area is quite extensive and if you are competent and ski all day you will need the area pass. Towards the end of the day from 3pm onwards La Folie Duo over the Val d’Isere side for on piste live music and seriously expensive drink, €50 for a bottle wine, €120 bottle Moet and €6 for small beer. Ski down around 100 yards then chair back over to top of Tignes just before 5pm to ski home down the black or catch the gondola down – well worth visiting for the atmosphere although not quite up to tepee standards at Wengen. Food etc. on slopes expensive first class with many proper restaurants with booking! compared to Italy or even Switzerland but in line with other French resorts. Tignes is a quiet resort you would not go there for the après ski almost non-existent but that suits us.

The standard “Neilson” room we had was quite small and storage was at a premium and we had no view. It was clean, slightly dated, blankets not a duvet and on the first day I reported a light bulb out, not fixed during the week however I did not follow it up. Separate WC from bath and internal shower, no shortage of hot water, and clean towels. As always room to hot, turned radiator off opened window but cleaning staff closed window and turned radiator back on every day. Overall the general décor of this 3* hotel is a little dated back to the 80’s but it is clean, comfortable and really very acceptable. I liked the fact that the hotel was around 60% French families a good sign of its standard. The continental breakfast was a buffet style with all that you would want with boiled eggs. Food in the evening was really superb. Three courses each with two choices and a good cheese board available French style between main and dessert. Two fondue nights, again a must for the French when skiing, 1 meat (alternative for vegetarians) and 1 cheese with the choice of fondue, raclette or a baked Camembert style cheese. The sea food buffet on another night was really superb, half crabs, oysters, salmon, sea bass, sea urchin, mussels, prawns, lobster, whelks and on top of that there was a land buffet.

Without doubt we would go back, the only drawback with Neilson is using Grenoble, a 31/2 hour transfer and on the way home the airport infrastructure went into melt down unable to process the numbers and at one point the airport almost closed as they stacked planes waiting to unload on the perimeter track. I heard the same occurred at Champery on the same day due to fog.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Gentiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Gentiana

Address: Le Rosset, 73320 Tignes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tignes
#1 Spa Hotel in Tignes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Gentiana 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Gentiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gentiana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Gentiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.