We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery Tour Hotel Diva Tignes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diva Hotel to your Saves list
Diva Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mystery Tour Hotel Diva Tignes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A party of seven of us have just had New Year week in the hotel. It is in a great location very close to the lifts. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The restaurant was totally disorganised. If you could find what you wanted to eat then you had to go hunt for the plates, and cutlery which weren't in the same place on more than two consecutive days. It was buffet service every day despite the Crystal brochure saying that there was some table service. The food on the buffet wasn't labelled so it was hard to know some times what we were eating. Saying that the food was generally ok.

The bar was poorly staffed the staff trying to produce fancy cocktails but getting stressed as they were so busy, which resulted in them being rude. I heard one of the staff tell a fellow English man in a very abrupt manner to talk to him in English as he didn't understand his French - very rude! I understood perfectly well what he had asked for.

It was very busy and I think they hadn't staffed up accordingly to cope with the amount of people staying.

On our return three people from our party have gone down with sickness! If the hotel can address these issues then it would improve the experience overall

Overall we had a good week as the sun shone and the snow was awesome.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Diva Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
First we would like to thank you for the comment you posted on Tripadvisor. We do apologize for wrong information as there no table service in this hotel. I will transfer your comment about restaurant organisation so we could improve this. Concerning the bar, i can say that we have now one personn more for helping. As i told it before during New YEar week there was the pick of epidemic of the virus and lots of people all over the Alps were ill. We are very sorry for that, but we can not do anything. We hope that, despite this incovenience, you will go back to our Hotel Diva
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    91
    40
    20
    18
See reviews for
94
53
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas 2012 and really enjoyed ourselves - possibly the best ski hotel I've stayed at in many years skiing! Beds were comfortable - too often they are too soft for me - but the best was plenty of hot running water and great water pressure, no rushing back from the slopes to get a bath or shower before all the hot water was gone!
We found the food to be varied and plentiful. The Christmas Eve meal was superb - loved the 'porc savage'! We also liked the touch of having a childrens food selection and a height they could reach.
The hotel is situated minutes from several lifts although if going to ski school it is bit more of a trek - especially if the lift (elevator type) next to the hotel is not working!
We did find the bar prices a little high but there is a supermarket next door and bars nearby with happy hours for that apres ski experience. The other thing is the Savoyade restaurant experience I'm afraid is not too good - you are definitely better off staying with the main hotel restaurant - if you do go the pierrerade (sorry if I spelt it wrong!) seems the best bet.
To the nay sayers that I have seen - Christmas is not about Turkey and Crackers for everyone, if you want that try a Chalet or stay at home. Europe tends to celebrate Christmas Eve and serve meat with some flavour! The skiing is also better in Tignes than Blighty!!!
Thanks for a great Christmas - hopefully see you next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from spending a week at the Hotel Diva for the Christmas holiday except you would not have known it was Christmas in the Hotel Diva. Christmas Day evening meal was a choice of fish or pasta no turkey in sight. No Christmas crackers, no decorations in the restaurant, nothing. The 2 bar staff were rude. We asked to extend our check-out from 10:00am to 12:00am and was told this would be an extra 70 euro's. Rooms were okay for ski accomodation but bath had big chips in it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Diva Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear customer,
We thank you for your comment posted. As I said below, there was Christmas decoration in the hotel,but may be not as much as you were expected, and 2 special menus were proposed.
Concerning the check-out, we are very sorry but in many hotels check out time is around 10am, and there is a reason for that: this is the time we need to clean the bedroom before the next arrival at 2pm.
Despite everything, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for a week over Xmas although you may not have known it was actually Xmas. There was a couple of small trees in the hotel but no other decorations to speak of and disappointingly no Xmas meal provided in the restaurant. Although the hotel was well located for skiing and mostly clean, they seemed short staffed in all areas which meant the atmosphere was unfriendly and not welcoming in the least. The room was comfortable though - beds and pillows were excellent, but the bathroom was a heaven for mould and mildew. On a day of bad weather we thought we would use the sauna but there was no door on it!! The bar was more welcoming with a lovely open fire but the staff were again pushed with only 2 of them and again seemed unfriendly.

If only they could take more time and pay attention to detail it would be the perfect place to stay for a good value ski holiday in Tignes. What a shame the majority of comments are negative for this hotel when with little effort and more staff they could have great reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Diva Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We thank you for your comment posted. We do apologize to hear that your stay hasn’t been the one you have expected.
However, we are very surprised to read that there was no Christmas decoration and special menu. Indeed, reception, stairs and the buffet were decorated as two Christmas trees and Santa Claus came December the 24th and gave some little presents. . We did two special menus for Christmas: one December the 24th and the other December the 25th (especially for English people).
We do apologize for the sauna as it was not working this week but we mentioned it everywhere in the hotel.
Despite everything, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel because, as you said, it is the perfect place to stay for a good value ski holiday.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for a week over Xmas. The hotel is nicely located if you are skiing. Lift within 10 meters of ski room exit, and other runs across the road and end of the road, so no issues. Plus there is always the bar at the bottom of Fresse lift and happy hour Stella Artois was an ending to a few days. Booked with Thomson, who sub to Crystal, Thomson say 4T rating, Crystal welcome pack states 3 Star, which is far better a description. Our room had two singles and a set of bunks. They was just me and partner, and still felt small, wouldn't want to be four in there for a week! The room was dated/tired, but was cleaned daily and wasn't unpleasant. Shower had good power, and a bathtub, which warmed the bones after a cold day on the slopes.
Now my bugbear. The organisation or the lack of it in some instances, especially in the restaurant. On a daily basis, breakfast was just hit or miss, and more miss due to lack of food. There appears no effective management/process. Go for a bowel of cereal, which was in three different places around the restaurant over 7 days, once found/located, there may or not be the cereal you want in the dispensers, if there was the one you wanted, then there where no more bowls left to serve them in, if there was bowls then no spoons to eat it with.
Then there was the option of self made boiled eggs, well that is on the days they brought the eggs and machine out of the kitchen, then as for egg cups, I just assumed they had all been used by 7.30 am and never replaced. There is also the bacon and scrambled egg option, again asked on 4 days for the bacon to put out again as it had yet again run out. On three days the scrambled egg would be better compared in consistency to a mixture of jelly and flubber, seriously you could bounce it!
I would recommend that they look to provide a jug of water for each table in the morning, as only available from the machine in shot size glasses, I need more hydration than that! Also for the staff to be better organised, so that the various food offerings are regularly checked and stocked. That forks, spoons, bowels etc, are available, I find it a little tedious having to ask most days. Again at dinner, would need to wait 5 minutes just to get the wine menu, which is limited, also the range available was disappointing, especially at £25+ a bottle. Also it nice to have this served before we finish our starters. There is some repetition in the food, and it would be nice to have some of the food labelled, as in many occasions, its covered in sauce, and unaware what is what. Saying that the vast majority of what I ate in the evenings was good.
One other suggestion, it would be nice to have a part of the dining area which is separated from the families. Don't wish to sound a grump, but it is nice to have my food, without the rendition of screaming children, those running around tables, etc.
Saying that my partner booked this, when she told me the bill, then I don't think we had bad value for money. Just be nice for them to fix the basic in the restaurant, and then I would provide a higher rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Diva Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear customer,
We thank you for your comment posted. We do apologize to hear that your stay hasn’t been the one you have expected.
The room is 19m2/20m2 normal size for a mountain hotel room, and fully equipped, for a 3 stars hotels.
The period during you have stayed at the Hotel was a very busy period, school holiday periods, and unfortunately we can not be responsible for the screaming children.
We have transfer your comments to the manager and staff concerning breakfast in order to improve our services. However we hope to welcome you next time in hotel Le Diva.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week early season this month after being upgraded to the hotel after a problem with the original booking, we weren't disappointed.
We're a young couple and found the whole resort and hotel enjoyable and had a lovely time. Room was cleaned daily.
Having special dietary requirements sometimes I didn't get a lot of choice, (but I'm veggie and gluten intolerant!) did have afew very good nights though and you never went hungry. My partner loved it every night!
Snowboards and equipment were locked away at night in the ski room.
Overall a comfortable place, rooms are abit 'cosy' and the sauna didn't always work, but it was a nice place to come home too after a day on the slopes!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Been a week with my ski team in november 2012
The hotel is just a couple of minutes from the glacier funicular.
Apart from this, this hotel was really crap:
1. The food was horrible
2. The choice of food both for lunch and dinner was miserable
3. The 4-bed room was so small that we could not dress more than two a time
4. They never cleaned the room in the week we were there.
5. They never replaced the used towels, we had to ask 3 times to have 4 new towels
6. We had to pay 30€ for wi-fi connection for 5 days
7. We could use the hairdrier only for a couple of minutes, as it became immediately white-hot
Considering what we paid, this hotel is really a scandal.
I will never ever go there again, and I hope everybody reading this will avoid to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Diva Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at the Hôtel Diva.

However, we kindly remind you that you have booked your stay via a travel agency with which we have a contract stipulating services included in Club Diva Package.

We have developed “Club Diva “basis in order to meet Ski clubs demands in terms of rates. Club Diva Package is a service that meets the needs of our sportive clientele with minimum hotel services and adapted simple and rich food.

We’re going to contact your travel agent and hope to have the pleasure to be welcoming you some other time at the Hôtel Diva anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diva Hotel

Address: Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Diva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Diva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel Tignes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.