We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Curling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Curling

Hotel Le Curling
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Curling
Save
You added Hotel Le Curling to your Saves list
Rue Front de Neige, 73220 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Curling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed in the Hotel Curling and the location of the hotel is superb. I travelled with a group of school children and we were met by our rep (Jasmine) at Lyon and she escorted us to our coach to take the transfer to the hotel.
The team in the hotel are very young and they are lead by their manager Nicky who at times spoke appallingly to all of them which lead to the morale of the staff being very low. She did speak to the children like this as well which was very disturbing at times even swearing at them. The assistant manager was a lot more personable and a lot more helpful.
We were advised that the hotel had wifi and upon arrival we were told that it did not. When travelling with school children wifi is a must when we as staff need to be in constant contact with the parents back home.
We were given the 4th and 5th floor for our children and she did not want them to use the lift and tried to insist that they walk up and down the stairs every day to get to their rooms.
With regards to the food breakfast was totally fine and what you would expect, lunch was probably the best meal every day and the children really enjoyed it. Evening meal was fine most nights and the chef did the very best that he could with the budget that he was given.
The staff serving the children were very friendly and the children liked them.
The towels were not changed for the entire week that we were there which was not acceptable and a lot of the rooms had no light bulbs in the bathrooms. I did ask numerous times throughout the week for this to be fixed and the manager Nicky seemed to get quite irritated by this.
This could be an amazing hotel because of the location and all of my complaints are easily rectifiable with the right manager who treats her team with respect and then she will get the best out of them. Last years manager Andy was on the ball with everything and nothing was too much trouble for him. I would visit this hotel again providing the management changed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
8
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have been on numerous Snowbound Hotel trips and have always found that they were adequate and at times very good value for money.....this was no different in almost all respects and in some was exceptional in its quality; The young Hotel manager for example(Nikki) is a superb advert for doing her best and going beyond the call of duty, the rep on the other hand (Sam) the exact opposite....anything was to much trouble!!

In brief; good hotel, superb location, rooms were adequate and functional; staff were a bit self indulgent, paying more attention to their own needs than that of the guests, towel change occurred on the Thursday ,with only 2 days left of the break, room cleaned once on request,, lift was like visiting your local Latrine and needed cleaned on an hourly not weekly basis.

The food was woeful, however this was not the Chef's fault, the budget allocated to this area of the hotel was clearly limited and became apparent with every presentation. The same fault was obvious in relation to towels, as they were obviously at a premium and not freely available, much to the embarrassment of the young staff.

Skiing Matters were handled proficiently, the Ski Tech Steve was exceptionally helpful and skilled. The team,however, need more awareness re lift passes, and health Insurance procedures, and for two guests, beginners, this posed a significant problem re entry to slopes and areas and attending Ski lessons, reps info and attention to detail was poor and only got resolved two days into the holiday when Nikki stepped in.
Lastly, in the complaints department, (like our first trip to La Plagne, Resolved by Skibound for the second visit the following year) the walk to the hotel from the drop off point in the resort is excessive whist transporting cases, it is particularly difficult on the return leg, requiring uphill, upstairs carrying for a considerable distance, surely cases etc could be transported to the bus park leaving customers to walk free of burden, on very difficult icy roads and steps!

Finally, our group would on balance return to Tignes as the positives outweighed the negatives, all of our group ( 16 of us ) had a great time, the skiing was superb and with a few minor adjustments next year could be even better. One final point, the transfer at Chambery was a nightmare, no reps, no info and no guidance leaving the groups experience a little soured, this could be resolved so simply with a little communication between Skibound staff and arriving groups

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Right in the middle of val claret and right in the middle of all the noise and discos you won't sleep until after 2.30 am as its too noisy and then most mornings at 6am the deliveries start so don't go for a peaceful restful holiday staff are great but resort is crap would not send kids their as what they would learn from their bedroom windows late at night is x rated.
Adults only more like a 18 - 30 Ibitza of the alps would not recommend kids at this resort.
Resort is overpriced and overrated go and get ripped off by all the lovely shops most of them ARNT helpful and don't like the English.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

-Hotel is in a great location right in the middle of town, not far to walk to get to a point to ski down and next door to one of the nightclubs.

-Room was furnished as you would expect for the price, however the oven was filthy upon our arrival, the bathroom light was broken which wouldn't have been a problem had the hotels solution to this not been plugging a living room floor lamp into the shaver socket.

-The sofa bed was also broken upon arrival with two slats missing, however we did not realise this until later on in our holiday and assumed we had broken it, it wasn't until leaving that we noticed that the slats had not been there in the first place. This ended up costing us £290.40 of our damage deposit and probably the same as the guests before us who broke it and the ones after us if they didn't notice. (2 hours cleaning was not worth the £1.60 we got back as a group). We were unable to contest because we went through a tour company.

-Great holiday despite this negative experience.

Room Tip: Check room thoroughly to make sure you keep your deposit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiBound-Team, Owner at Hotel Le Curling, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review however I don't think its for our hotel. We don't have ovens in the room or take deposits. Our staff are on hand 24 hours a day to ensure your stay is comfortable and to do the cleaning with no extra charges. It may be that you were in apartments in the same block as our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your time in Tignes and we are sorry that the apartments you booked were not up to the standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were incredibly impressed at how helpful the staff at Le Curling were. From the moment we arrived we were met with a friendly, warm welcome... even though it was 3.30am!!
The staff couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable. The hotel is clean, friendly and vibrant and extremely well positioned for the town centre and the slopes.
A special mention for the managers Andy and Nicky who were superb, and a great asset to the skibound company. We couldn't speak more highly of them, who helped us with every aspect of the holiday. They were extremely efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Thanks again!

Arrived on 16th February 2014
Annie and Lucy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my partner at the hotel. We were a bit disappointed that we'd been allocated a room with two bunk beds, but we coped. The staff are friendly and helpful. The evening meal was nice wholesome home cooked food, but luckily we're not picky eaters and I'm not sure whether there would be another option if you don't like what's being served. The hotel is very close to the slopes so you can't really get a better location. I would agree with other reviewers, in that given it's location in the heart of the resort late night revellers can be noisy, but that's not a criticism of the hotel but something travellers should bear in mind when considering whether to choose the hotel. Overall a good option for those looking for a value holiday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just what you would expect for a value "CLUB HOTEL". Nothing fancy, clean, warm, gallons of hot water, large room & friendly helpful staff.
Very easy lift access & possible to "ski" to the door!!!!
Recomend the COULOIR bar (just around the corner)
There can be noise in the street early morning, but nothing too excessive
Would recommend, but I prefer "VAL" for better atmosphere/architecture.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Curling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Curling

Address: Rue Front de Neige, 73220 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 270
Also Known As:
Le Curling Hotel
Le Curling Tignes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Curling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.