We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow, ski and sybaritism” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Campanules

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Les Campanules to your Saves list
Hotel Les Campanules
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Rosset | BP 32 - Le Lac Est, 73322 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Saint-Paul de Vence
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Snow, ski and sybaritism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

If you look for snow you will always find it in Tignes thanks to an altitude of 2000 meters.

If you look for real ski you won't be disappointed in the Espace Killy which combines Tignes and Val d'Isère. You may even ski in summer at the glacier of Grande Motte (3450 meters).

If you look for a sensuous place to stay in Tignes do not hesitate to go to Hôtel Les Campanules. It is a lovely and comfortable hotel with a friendly, polite and efficient service. After you dropped your equipment in the ski-room (with heated rack for ski shoes) what can be possibly better than a swim in the outdoor heated pool, unless you prefer spa, sauna or jacuzzi. All this would justify a recommendation by itself but the best is to come with the food. The buffet breakfast includes everything you can dream of before a day on the slopes and whether you are the first or the last one the full choice is available. Diner is the masterpiece with a four-course meal changing every evening. It is simply superb and exquisite with an excellent and tempting wine list. In addition they do their utmost to accommodate your wishes should not you be fond of the fixed menu.

In short, just brilliant

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We have just had the most perfect week staying at this wonderful hotel. Les Campanules is brilliantly situated two minutes from the main lift.
The hotel is delightful and comfortable with excellent spa facilities (my husband enjoyed the after ski massages).
The staff are very friendly and helpful , our first room was a little small with a standard size double bed but the following day they moved us into a larger room with a king size bed which we really appreciated, my only criticism of the hotel is it was too hot we had to have our balcony door open most nights which proved noisy.
The highlight of this hotel was the food, meals were GREAT, breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, the evening meals were fantastic a four course gastronomic delight.
We would definitely recommend this hotel
During our week we decided to improve our skiing technique and hired a ski coach for two 3 hour sessions with TDC our ski coach was Ben who was excellent, definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

My son and I stayed here for a week's skiing in January 2011. We thought everything about this place was just brilliant. The food was exquisite, the service very friendly and efficient, the rooms spacious and comfortable, the spa a great place to relax after skiing (especially the hot pool in the open air). And of course Tignes is a great place to ski too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

My husband and I just returned from spending a week at Hotel Les Campanules in Tignes Le Lac. Everything about this hotel property was what we hoped for and more. The hotel itself is a lovely, cozy log cabin style but with world class hotel/restaurant amentities and service, the views from both the room and the public areas are breathtaking. To swim in the outdoor heated pool and look out over the mountains, how much better can it get after a day on the slopes? Well, perhaps the dinner later on, lovely food and service every night. Same with the generous breakfast buffee. We would love to come back, I hope our wish comes true. Thank you all at Hotel Les Campanules.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We booked Les Campanules through Inghams to stay from 27 December to 3 Jan. Traveling with our family of 5 (3 teenage boys), we needed two rooms, a double and triple. Upon entering the hotel, the owner greeted us. He was very friendly and helpful. When booking our rooms through Inghams, we had the option of paying slightly more for a room with a balcony which we are very happy we did. Our view from the balcony was of the town, Lake, and mountains. The hotel is very close to the main lifts in Tignes le Lac. The rooms although small, are clean and well equipped and worked just fine for us. The food was fantastic. Three course dinners with a cheese selection every night! Our son has a severe milk allergy. We provided a safe substitute for butter and the chef was able to provide wonderful meals for him. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. One of the best things about this hotel was the outdoor heated pool and spa area. The pool overlooks the town and on New Year's Eve, our boys watched from the pool the ski instructors and EMS in their torchlight run down the hill. The pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room well kept and much needed to relax after the wonderfully hard days of skiing. We would absolutely stay here again. I think it really is at the upper end of 3 scale especially with the spa and the food. Tignes le Lac was a great place to be. For New Year's Eve, there is a great party in the main area of town with DJ's playing music until 2pm. We had a great time watching the fireworks from our balcony. Great Time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The damp and wet UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

If your thinking of staying in Les Campanules in Tignes, I would highly recommend it. We are staying here at the moment 13/12 to 20/12 2010. The weather is fantastic, we have just had another huge dump of snow, not too windy, sunshine, no crowds what more could you want.

A little about the hotel -

We booked through Thomson ski, which is part of crystal. 2 adults and a 16 yr old so paid for 3 adults, booked a family room, so we were expecting 3 beds in one room, the family room we got was rm No 109 just above the reception so WIFI was excellent in the room. The room consisted of full size bunk beds with another pull aout bed beneath that, toilette room, a bath/shower room then a couple of steps up takes you into a seperate bedroom with a double bed. The view from the room was of a church and mainly the mountain (no bell ringing through the night) not a bad view really.

The hotel is typically French with fab french food, if your expecting chips and pizza you will be dissapointed. They put up the 3/4 course menu daily and if you dont like anything on the menu they will offer an alternative, we do notice that it's typically the stuck up English that grumble about the menu. Whilst we've been here they have caterered very well for the smaller children.

Trying a little French goes a long way to making the staff friendlier.

The spa and pool are great. The gym doesn't exist unless you count the one bike?

The hotel is up a slight hill but no big deal considering you are so close to the aeroski gondola , the beginnner's area and Kindergarden, all 3 minutes away.

Will be returning here again very soon!!!

Must mention they have a very good wine list too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2010, having previously stayed in a chalet in Tignes. This was so much better. Very well located near the slopes although I would echo previous comments that the short path down to the centre of Le Lac was a little steep in ski boots whilst carrying skis and poles etc but manageable. Ski locker had heated boot warmers and sufficient room. The room containing the lockers was a little small but it was never very busy so it didn't really matter. The room was small but perfectly adequate - neat and clean. The telly didn't have many English channels but we didn't really want to watch much anyway. There was wifi but it didn't work brilliantly for surfing but OK for sending emails. The bathroom was small, neat and clean with a small but adequate bath which was good for a soak after a day's skiing. Then the two best bits: the food and the spa. I would often go down to the spa after coming home from the slopes. It was never very busy: I think there was a child-free time but any children in the hotel were very well behaved anyway so it didn't really matter. There was a small but perfectly adequate sauna and also a steam room and jacuzzi. The best bit was the pool: it was outdoor but heated to a perfect temperature, not huge but adequate to do a few lengths but there was also one of those current machines which means you can swim quite hard without actually moving. It has a beautiful view - you can watch the sun setting over the mountains and then the pisteurs doing their work on the slopes. Lovely. Then the food - this was simply amazing. We had our own table every evening for dinner. The waiters and waitresses were very helpful and polite. The food was delicious, really five star - I've never had such lovely food. Four beautiful courses every night. Superb cheese and delicious dishes every evening. I can't praise it enough. The other guests were mostly French families and couples - everyone was very polite and civilised - no big groups of English guests taking over the place thank goodness! Really brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Campanules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Campanules

Address: Le Rosset | BP 32 - Le Lac Est, 73322 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tignes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
#3 Family Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Campanules 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Les Campanules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanules Hotel Tignes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Campanules, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.