We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Chalet Alpina

Save Saved
You added Residence Chalet Alpina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Chalet Alpina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de la Grande Motte | Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 38 hotels in Tignes
Solroed Strand, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value and nice service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early and found our family suite to be ready, granted it did smell of smoke, but it was facing South as requested and we did have balconies on a corner. The suite had a kitchen, a room for the kids and seperate bath(tub) and wc, in the master bedroom there was also a sofa. We were surpriced to find this much space in a french hotel.
We tried to sneek-park the car in the yard, no such luck ;( we had to move the car and pay the mandatory 'fine' from the parking lot in front of the hotel.
We had meals included and could always find something on the buffet to match both the kids and our taste. For New Years eve they had made a good effort to pep up the dinner and serving welcome drinks.
Suggestion for improvement? Do not charge for internet!
All in all a good place for this family to stay and enjoy a GREAT skiing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    3
    11
    8
See reviews for
15
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just arrived back and pleasantly surprised as I wasnt overly confident after walking into reception.
I travelled with my 2 sons and we were given a very spacious room, including a large double bedroom, kitchen and seperate room for my sons.
The Food was mixed to be honest, plenty of it, but not really to my taste and lacking a little in quality. Breakfast was fine.
Location was brilliant, ski hire shop next door and skiing to within 50 metres of the hotel. The nearest list was 150 metres away.
Despite the food overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Arrived at the chalet club late on on New Year's Eve 2011. Reception staff were okay on arrival and rushed us through. First impressions of the hotel were not the worst, but it should be noted that there is little lighting in the communal areas - so watch your step! The floors were also covered in a 'non-slip' surface which was actually very slippery when wet so watch out for that too. All in all the communal areas were quite dingy and smelly. Can't comment on the food or pool as we didn't get around to using them, but other people said the food was good.

When I first arrived at the room I was quite shocked at the size - I have been told skiing rooms are normally quite small, but it felt very cramped, especially as it was for four people sharing. I would recommend getting two rooms instead of just the one if you like comfort. The size wasn't too much of a problem in the end as we spent most of our time out anyway. The kitchenette was adequate for basic meals with two hobs, a microwave and small fridge/freezer. It was also fully stocked, as you'd expect, with pots and pans etc.

The hotel was in an excellent location to access anywhere in Val Claret and it's very close to the access lift to Val D'Isere resort - so lots of slopes! There is also a bus stop just outside which goes to Le Lac etc. All in all I had no complaints about the location and the views from the balcony were stunning as there are no hotels in front of it. Tignes is a brilliant ski resort with a wide variety of slopes for all different levels of ability.

If you are planning on using this room as base then this is a good choice, but if you plan to spend more time in the room I would recommend paying that bit extra for somewhere a little more comfortable!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed in this establishment in December 2011. Reception staff were excellent, didn't meet any other staff.

Generally common areas of the residence in a very poor state of repair with no lighting at all around the ski lockers, which is not great when one returns with skis and boots after a few beers in the dark! Staircases to 1st floor smell of a mixture of vomit and disinfectant, unfortunately with vomit being the dominant smell. The reception area has more in common with a hostel in a 3rd world country than a European hotel. The swimming pool was tiny and contained only a small amount of brownish water (and presumably a number of choice infections). I did not use the pool. Bed linen and towels are available at an additional charge!

Apartment was generally grubby and very odd smelling but could have been worse. One socket at low level hanging off wall with bare wires which could've been live. 1st floor flat suffers from extremely noisy soil stack from other WCs so when anyone in rooms above flushes their WC the noise is very, very loud and prevents a good nights sleep for even the heaviest sleeper. Walls between rooms are particularly thin or the copulating couple in the next room were particularly noisy.

Oddly the kitchen area in the apartment has no lighting so the light from the extractor fan was the only source of light. Kitchen was well stocked with crockery, cutlery and pans etc although none were properly cleaned. The fridge was completely useless and the outside window sill was used in preference.

The establishment is very well located for a number of lifts and a bar, cafe, car park and supermarket however the apres ski is almost non-existent and the nearby bar closes at 7pm! Beer is 6 euros per pint!

The Val Claret area of Tignes has good skiing but the village is a dismally dull place when compared with...almost anywhere.

This establishment is only barely acceptable because it was very cheap and well located.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Me and my friends booked this holiday in July 2010. And when i looked at the reviews they made me a little nervous. But we arrived at about 3:00 o’clock and we were met by one of the staff who was very friendly and spoke good English. We were half board and the food was really good and it was a buffet so there was plenty of it. We went to our room which was kind of small but it was ok. One bed and cupboard in the hall, and two singles in the main bedroom which were very nice. The bathroom was well fitted out. You were also given a ski locker which was very handy.
It is right next to a chair lift, about a minute walk. It was near the bars and clubs, but far enough away for it to be quite at night.
Very good hotel if you’re looking for great skiing and great night life.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Location is good. For a 2 star hotel the bedrooms are ok, the food was excellent and in abundance; both the breakfasts and evening meals (buffet) were superb. There is also a sauna and a small swimming pool (open 16.00 - 19.00).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

5* DUMP – DO NOT STAY HERE AT ANY COST. Yes it might be a two star but for the same money you can do much better. We have been skiing 1 or 2 times a year for the last 20 years so know a thing or two about ‘rustic’ chalets. This hotel is scruffy, a health and saftety nightmare and absolutely THE WORST STAFF imaginable – especially the hotel manager. Take a look at the pictures – what can’t speak can’t lie. We looked at 4 rooms which were all horrendous.

PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL if you have young children. We travelled with a baby and a 5 year old and the experience was truly traumatic. On arrival after a long transfer we were told that there was no reservation for us and that we would have to pay for our room taxes again!!! Despite our Neilson rep having confirmed all the rooms the day before and even making sure that we had a cot in our room. This is just an attempt to defraud guests and if you look at older reviews one that they have been operating for a long time.

It is a strange irony that a hotel with bunk beds in every room is completely unsuitable for children, let alone adults. The rooms are so small you can literally touch each wall by putting your arms out. My son on two occasions caught the side of his head on the protruding handle to the bathroom because space was so limited. Electric sockets were hanging off the wall; shelves in the bathroom sloped downwards so any items placed on them would end up in the toilet. All the cupboards were dropping to bits and the splash back around the sink was rotten to the core. The pillows and duvets were stained and well worn, the shower head hanging off and we dared not walk on the carpet in bare feet. It is hard to understand why tour operators risk their good reputation by allowing guests to stay in this level of squalor. Beware if you are 3 or 4 adults sharing a room as two will be on a bed settee in the ‘lounge’ and two will be in bunk beds in a hallway!

On booking the holiday we realised that it was ‘value’ hotel but surely this doesn’t mean that one should have to endure tiny, cramped, smelly, dirty, unsafe accommodation. On skiing trips we have often found 4* property’s to be ‘rustic’ by normal holiday standards lending themselves to a more laid back, casual type of atmosphere. The Chalet Hotel Alpina is none of those things and in my opinion is not even suitable for stag parties, you would have to be seriously drunk to find anything nice about this ‘hotel’. Fancy having to clean your own room, strip your own bed etc. before it is inspected so you can check-out and get your deposit back (they should be paying you to stay here).
The restaurant gave no consideration to children, our five year old was expected to eat whatever was on the menu, the only alternative being chips (that needed to be ordered at breakfast!). One night he ate a chicken drumstick before we realised that it was raw inside and on another occasion he was actually sick at the table trying to attempt to eat a traditional Savoyard dish. Luckily there were cooking facilities in the room and we were able to buy food from the supermarket for him.

The main reason we were ultimately booked this hotel was because of the pool facilities but it turned out that the pool was hardly ever opened or closed early. Similarly the sauna was completely unusable as there was a distinct smell of urine and it was closed altogether for the last two days.
As for the location it Tignes is so compact as a resort all the hotels are well placed and wherever you stay you will be close to one of the lifts.

DO YOURSELF A BIG FAVOUR AND BOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE – I would only wish this NIGHTMARE on my worst enemy!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Chalet Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Chalet Alpina

Address: Route de la Grande Motte | Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tignes
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Chalet Alpina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Chalet Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Chalet Alpina Tignes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Chalet Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.