We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes to your Saves list
Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de la Grande Motte, 73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“We liked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We are satisfied with the apartment. We lived in room for 2 persons on 5th floor. Our apartment is too small for us, but we were ready to it. Room is repaired, purely, all worked, lifts are located very close to hotel and very comfortable. A lack – in apartment there were no big pans and it is impossible to cook food for few days. It is very probable that we will stop here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    18
    23
    31
See reviews for
25
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

The rooms were unbelieveably small, the bed (when folded out) took up 80% of the floorspace and basically equated to a sofa and a camp bed - don't be fooled into thinking that this is a double - it ain't!

The room was supposed to be cleaned by us before we left or for EUR52 someone could do the dishes for us, but we had to clean the rest of the room anyway - no thanks!

I don't know who was supposed to have cleaned the room before us though - not impressed at all. We were finding long dark hairs all week and everywhere

There were also some unsavoury stains on the mattress and matress protector

We were led to believe this was a 3 to 4 star property which is nothing short of a joke.

The location was good - but the resort of Val Claret was tiny, you didn't need to be anywhere near as close as we were

Lack of real basics like salt/pepper washing up liquid/dishcloth which is just mean

Reception made us pay for towels, sheets, accomodation tax (0.9EUR pppn)and even EUR7 per day for the honour of watching French Television - this might be standard here or even in France but we weren't expecting it - and no-one told us. We asked our tour operator about this and we were refunded for the sheets, towels and tax as we were not meant to pay this (despite the persistant French receptionist telling us that we had to).

The building was in a poor state of repair, the front "security" door was broken (Glass cracked) for the entire time we were there.

There was an interesting ventilation and heating system - the bathroom occassionally smelt as though someone had smoked in it and the heating was either on - all the way on - or off.

A bit more further info on Tignes; 2 small supermarkets for shopping, one situated right next to this hotel. There is a free bus running between the 3 Tignes villages, running every 7 mins during the day, every 30mins during the evening. There are some amazing French restaurants in the resort (some very expensive, but the food is good!) definitely worth trying. Hotel Diva next door looked nice and apparantly had great food.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

The only good thing to say about this place is that it's well situated close to lifts. The room was so shabby and worn out, you could smell the thousands of people who have used and abused it. It's small but I expected that. I also expected a clean toilet and an oven or microwave for cooking. The sleeper sofa and beds were stained and unpleasant. The shower had to be used bent over and with very little water. I won't be going back no way.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

You really can't get a better location than this in Tignes- a few yards from the confluence of the lift system and the funiculaire in Val Claret. Despite being at the very bottom of the resort, there is a nearby lift which takes you up to the street which leads directly into the resort centre, so nothing is more than a five-minute walk away.

Now the downside- you get a tired room in a run-down block that looks charming from the outside (very Savoyard with fake painted shutters) but which is pretty shabby inside. Of the two lifts which lead to reception (actually a tiny converted flat) one was broken all week. A large deposit (200 Euros) is required, and you have to pay for bed linen and towels. Our room was really knocked-about- the carpet was stained, the paintwork was chipped and dirty and there were some interesting stains on the mattress of the pull-out bed- this looked like somebody had lain on it in wet ski-boots as all the nasty bits were confined to one end. That's how we reassured ourselves, anyway. The bathroom was also a bit tired but was clean. The cutlery and crockery were pretty disgusting, with bits of crusty dried food adhering to forks and plates. There was no TV, but on the wall there was a picture of some cheese which was marginally more interesting than most French telly anyway.

On the whole it was very quiet- there was a massive party of students on our floor who were larging it, but once the door was shut we couldn't hear them and weren't disturbed.

The hallways and lifts were also shabby, with graffiti on the lift doors. And what was the point of the coded entry pad on the ski-room door? No release button on the inside meant that some guests had to kick their way out, which given the state of the door was evidently something that had been going on a while.

I'd go to Tignes again anytime, but even with this place's superb location I would stay anywhere else rather than there. It really desperately needs a complete overhaul and redecoration and new furniture and equipment.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes

Address: Route de la Grande Motte, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes 2*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odalys Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes Hotel Tignes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.