We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a renovated one” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes

Save Saved
You added Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de la Grande Motte, 73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 38 hotels in Tignes
Mechelen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ask for a renovated one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I have stayed there several times over the past 10 years. Last time was in January 2011. You are never sure what you are going to get until you open up the door. Since last year almost half of the apartments have been renovated. Be sure to ask for a renovated one, I think they are located in the C building (the building closest to the Grand Motte glacier). The renovated ones are quite nice. If you get stuck with an old one but paid for a renovated one, go and complain. They have their own reception area in one of the new apartments. They tried to put me in something the size of a broom closet at first last year, 1 simple complaint and I immediately got a renovated one that was much nicer and with a super view.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    12
    17
    25
See reviews for
18
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

In the room we stayed in was a little small. There was a wardrobe, sofa-bed, table, bedroom with bunk bed, kitchen and of course bathroom (with bath, toilet and sink). As said earlier, space is limited and even more so with the sofa bed out. The bedroom is also quite small, the door can just about be opened with the bunk bed in the way. It has a balcony which birds sometimes sit on which is nice. It is comfortable and reasonable for the price. I enjoyed the stay and would recommend it to friends. I would go back and stay there. Oh and there are ski-lockers where you can safely store your ski equipment. Once again, space is limited but very reasonable for the price. Only criticisms are that there wasn't much room and no Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed here in March 2010 in a privately rented studio. The studio itself was very nicely done out and they'd made the best of the space, it had a washer dryer as well which was handy. The apartment was clean and well kept and quiet to sleep at night too, so that was fine. How anyone expects these studio apartments to sleep 4 adults is beyond me though, your average chain hotel (e.g. Mercure bathroom is bigger than the kitchen and living/sleeping area in these places!
As for the apartment block, yuck. I was so disappointed to get the keys to the studio only to walk up the stairs covered in grafitti, it was like walking into a public multi storey car park with the usual fragrance of a multi storey car park as well. Thank goodness the room, sorry, apartment was quite nice.
The best bit about this is the location as it's literally a stone's throw from the Bollin and Fresse chairlifts and has a nice view out of the window to the Tichot chairlift opposite too, but it's far better value in my opinion to book a catered chalet for what you get out of it re food and all that.

Room Tip: Book a private rented one I think they are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

If you’re looking for a crash pad and nothing else then the Le Rond Point is for you. Just be careful to note every single defect when you enter the room as they’ll try and sting you for it on departure. Something that we were not told was that you have to pay a 300 Euro deposit upon check in, so bare that in mind.
On a positive note the location is perfect, situated right next to 3 chairlifts & the meeting point for ski school.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We refused to check into this appalling tiny "bedsit" with non-existant kitchenette! The rooms are completely impractical and dangerous as the fold out camp beds block the exit to the room. Tiny and clostrophobic-What a rip off!!! Hidden reception and belligerant staff. The only possible positive is the proximity to the pistes and lifts. Our advise is spend a little more and get much more!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We are satisfied with the apartment. We lived in room for 2 persons on 5th floor. Our apartment is too small for us, but we were ready to it. Room is repaired, purely, all worked, lifts are located very close to hotel and very comfortable. A lack – in apartment there were no big pans and it is impossible to cook food for few days. It is very probable that we will stop here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

The rooms were unbelieveably small, the bed (when folded out) took up 80% of the floorspace and basically equated to a sofa and a camp bed - don't be fooled into thinking that this is a double - it ain't!

The room was supposed to be cleaned by us before we left or for EUR52 someone could do the dishes for us, but we had to clean the rest of the room anyway - no thanks!

I don't know who was supposed to have cleaned the room before us though - not impressed at all. We were finding long dark hairs all week and everywhere

There were also some unsavoury stains on the mattress and matress protector

We were led to believe this was a 3 to 4 star property which is nothing short of a joke.

The location was good - but the resort of Val Claret was tiny, you didn't need to be anywhere near as close as we were

Lack of real basics like salt/pepper washing up liquid/dishcloth which is just mean

Reception made us pay for towels, sheets, accomodation tax (0.9EUR pppn)and even EUR7 per day for the honour of watching French Television - this might be standard here or even in France but we weren't expecting it - and no-one told us. We asked our tour operator about this and we were refunded for the sheets, towels and tax as we were not meant to pay this (despite the persistant French receptionist telling us that we had to).

The building was in a poor state of repair, the front "security" door was broken (Glass cracked) for the entire time we were there.

There was an interesting ventilation and heating system - the bathroom occassionally smelt as though someone had smoked in it and the heating was either on - all the way on - or off.

A bit more further info on Tignes; 2 small supermarkets for shopping, one situated right next to this hotel. There is a free bus running between the 3 Tignes villages, running every 7 mins during the day, every 30mins during the evening. There are some amazing French restaurants in the resort (some very expensive, but the food is good!) definitely worth trying. Hotel Diva next door looked nice and apparantly had great food.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes

Address: Route de la Grande Motte, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#17 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odalys Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes Hotel Tignes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.