We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service - Great People to deal with” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tignes Spirit

Tignes Spirit
Hauts du Toviere, 73320 Tignes, France
+33 6 03 62 97 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Activities in Tignes
Type: Specialty Shops, Gear rentals
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tignes Spirit is the only independent, British-owned ski and snowboard shop in the Espace Killy. Based in Tignes, we stock independent brands of hardware and apparel, including Salomon, Head, Elan, Movement, Majesty, Dalbello, Nike, Burton, Endeavor, Signal, Airblaster, Ashbury, Stance, Butta, Dragon Alliance and many others. Our ski and snowboard rental service is the best in Tignes, offering a free delivery and collection service which saves you the time and hassle you would usually experience trekking to the rental shop. The quality of products and the low prices we offer, by far outshine all other rental shops, whilst our English and French speaking technicians have been hand-picked for their extensive technical knowledge and amazing customer service skills. Our entire crew live for the snow and were the best UK shop team at the British Championships in 2013 and 2014, winning the most medals across the board! The latest in touring skis, split-boards, snow shoes and cross-country equipment are all available for rent and purchase at Tignes Spirit. We offer daily rates so that you can rent different equipment for each day of your holiday... if you want to! We have the latest in children's ski and snowboard equipment, stocking skis as small as 70cm, along with 70cm snowboards used for the Burton Riglet programme. (All children receive a free helmet as part of their package.) Tignes Spirit is the only rental service to offer outerwear and protective clothing hire to chalets and apartments all over the Espace Killy area. Based in le lavachet, our shop doubled in size in early 2014, so we are now able to give a quality service to even more people at any given time! Our opening hours are 7am until very late, ensuring that all clients are catered for. You need not worry if you are delayed way beyond the closing time of most rental shops and need to be kitted out before the panic of ski school start times the next day. We will ensure that you and your entire party are kitted out and can enjoy maximum slope time. Our workshop is also based in Tignes le lavachet, just down the steps from our main shop. As well as servicing our large rental fleet, we provide repairs and servicing to anyone who wishes to give their plank(s) some tender loving care! Skis and snowboards previously thought to be damaged beyond repair, have been brought back to life by our well-trained and highly experienced technicians for amazingly competitive prices. Tignes Spirit is the go-to shop for all visitors to Tignes. With our great links and relationships with other businesses throughout the Espace Killy, we can organise holiday accommodation and transfers in all areas of Tignes and Val d'Isere, as well as an easy and affordable, quality equipment rental service.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service - Great People to deal with”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was the 3rd time we've used Tignes Spirit and it was a pleasure as always. The hassle of hiring ski's and boots is taken out of the equation as they deliver to your door whenever is convenient and collect at the end of your holiday. The equipment is of good quality and my wife is considering buying the boots she hired as they were so comfortable!! Great staff who are always eager to please and very knowledgeable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Service - #1 Ski Hire in Tignes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is the second time we have skiied in Tignes and used Tignes Spirit as their service is far superior to others we have used.

They work closely with Ski Bonjour, the chalet company we stay with and provide a great service direct to the chalet. This, in my opinion is the real advantage over using a normal rental shop, especially if have ever been waiting for hours on end with your kids on transfer day. You can just sit back in the chalet and enjoy the welcome reception and then the guys just call each family into the boot room one at a time to set up their equipment. This year we were a group of 41 in the chalet so arrived at different times throughout the day. This was no problem and they ended up making 4 trips to the chalet, even up until late in the evening to make sure everyone had their skis and boards ready for the first day.

As can be expected with such a large group there are some issues with a binding setting or boot size change that need addressing through the week, but again, Tignes Spirit were there within minutes of calling. Either coming to the chalet, meeting on the slopes or even driving people to the shop to try various boot options, nothing was too much trouble for them.

As the organiser of the holiday it made a real difference to have this level of service and keep everyone happy. I would like to personally thank Kieron, Lorraine and the rest of the team for their efforts during our stay. I would certainly recommend them to anyone staying in the Espace Killy region and will be using them again next year.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Takes the hassle out of rental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Knowledgeable staff, great kit and best of all, they come and sort you out in your chalet. No trudging to and from a packed shop where you're treated like a lemming here. Wish there were more places like this in ski resorts.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best ever service from a ski/snowboard rental company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have just returned from a week’s ski holiday in Tignes (which was fantastic). Before leaving we researched the web for equipment rental companies - Tignes Spirit had the best website by far! It was clear, easy to navigate and packed with comprehensive info on the kit and equipment they had in stock. We reserved on-line and opted to collect the kit in the shop in Tignes (although they could have delivered it as an option). Unfortunately, our travel plans changed and we were not able to collect the kit as we had previously arranged - this was not a problem for the Tignes Spirit team, they accommodated our revised plans without any fuss. All in the shop were great. They were friendly, polite, fantastic with the kids and very knowledgeable about the equipment they were supplying (top quality, brand new 'Endeavour' boards). We were seen promptly and given the sort of old fashioned attention that is so often missing from service providers these days. All the guys in the shop were clearly passionate about skiing and snowboarding and were really enthusiastic about all that Tignes as a resort had to offer. At the end of our stay they collected the kit at the allotted time directly from our front door – what could have been easier?! After a number of less-than-ideal experiences with other rental companies in the area, I can thoroughly recommend Tignes Spirit and would not hesitate to use them again next year.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tignes-Spirit Ski Rental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in Tignes with my son for Feb half-term 2013. We had pre-booked with Tignes-Spirit but due to flight delays did not arrive in resort until after midnight but we still wanted to ski first thing the next morning and the Tignes-Spirit staff could not have been more helpful. They arranged to collect us from our chalet just before 8.00, took us to the shop and kitted us out with skis that turned-out to be ideal for our abilities and requirements (including brands that are rarely seen in hire shops e.g. Movement) and dropped us back in time to have breakfast and still be on the first lift (OK, maybe the third or fourth lift but you know what I mean).

I was really impressed and will definitely use them again when in Tignes or Val D'Isere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tignes Spirit also viewed

 
 

Been to Tignes Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tignes Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.