We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Anne-Marie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Anne-Marie
Save
You added Chalet Anne-Marie to your Saves list
Lavachet, 73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Whilst it is true that the chalet is not 5 star in terms of space and decor it is warm clean and comfortable with loads of hot water.The position is good with only a very short walk to 2 lifts and if you are cunning and the snow good you can ski back almost to the door.We had a room on the same floor as the dining room and did hear some noise as breakfast was set up and might have struggled to have an early night some evenings but it was not a problem for us.What made the trip for us was the good mixed crowd of people in the chalet who all contributed to the relaxed and merry après ski but also the hard work and pleasant nature of all the staff .The food was great both in quality and quantity and the wine flowed freely.What more do you need?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    7
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed in the chalet in a party of three occupying room 11. The room itself was comfortable, clean, had plenty of storage and although near to the living room noise never kept me awake.
The chalet itself was fully catered and the staff were very friendly, helpful, good fun and the chef (Jack) was fantastic. The portion sizes were perfect and he asked for comments after every meal to check it was enjoyed and the portions were acceptable.
The location of the chalet was great and you could ski pretty much to the door and was only a three minute walk to the nearest lift.
The hot tub worked all week and was very much enjoyed.
My only criticism was that the towels were very thin as were the pillows. If this would bother you take your own to avoid any concern.
Highly recommended chalet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After a very ordinary week last March and a strong letter of complaint to Ski Total absolutely none of the issues we raised last year appear to have been dealt with this season.

Like some of the guests experienced, the hot tub broke down regularly. The food was served on tiny plates (small portions) and the bread was inedible. Maybe it was a blessing that it wasn't served at tea time.

We had a major issue with the bread as it didn't resemble anything french. We paid sky high prices for a very mediocre week. The response from Ski Total was almost insulting.

Don't stay here unless it is at a huge discount.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Anne-Marie, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
As indicated within the review, the issues raised were dealt with in March 2012 as a formal complaint via our Guest Relations team. It is disappointing that, if the reviewer was so dissatisfied, they did not get back in touch with us directly. We would urge readers to consider the positive reviews as well as the negative, to gain a balanced overview of the Chalet Anne-Marie and its operation during the 2012/13 season and with the new chalet and management team in Tignes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have just returned from this chalet as part of a group of 22. We had the whole chalet, and we had a wondeful time.
The staff were welcoming, friendly and more than happy to help and accomodate our needs. They were knowledgable of the area and helped with other activites in the area when we could not ski as there was TOOO much snow!!
I have been away on quite a few trips like this now, and would happily recommend this chalet to friends. The hot tub was a great way to relax after skiing, and the chalet has a lovely living rooms upstairs with views over the mountains. A lovely place to enjoy home cooked cakes and a cup of tea when you are done with the days skiing.
All the rooms are en suite, and are clean and well heated. Although the rooms are not huge and luxurious, I was there to ski and they were perfect come home too with a comfy bed and lovely mountain views.
All round I found this chalet was great for outr big party, and would a good place for familes and couples wanting to meet other people whilst enjoying skiing and good apres ski in the village. We had some non skiers in our group, who enjoyed reaidng books by the fire, free wifi access in the whole chalet and walks into town and good bus routes to neraby resorts.
Thanks go especially to the staff, a young team, but they knew what they were doing, were good fun and tried to make everyone's trip enjoyable. Thank you for a lovely holiday :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the middle floor are a little nosier due to the closer proximity to the dining room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We are a married couple who stayed for a week along with our 24 year-old daughter, from 13-20 Jan 2013. We are fortunate to have been able to take many, many chalet holidays over the years so feel we have a a lot of experience and an ability to be discerning when reviewing such a holiday.

This chalet is operated by Ski Total and is graded 4*Plus by their own definitions. My wife and a few friends booked with Ski Total last April and stayed at Chalet Aigle Royale which is 5 minutes' walk away from Anne-Marie. Aigle Royale is graded 5*. She had a wonderful week in a "fabulous" chalet, so we felt able to book Anne Marie with a degree of confidence as to the standard.

On this occasion, we required a room for three and booked early (and paid top price) as such rooms are not in great supply. We were allocated interconnecting rooms (Rooms 11/12) with one shower/toilet. One room was fine but the other, which had the bathroom, had restricted space round the bed such that the bathroom door only opened about 45 deg. Not a big deal in itself but a bit annoying when you get woken up in the middle of the night by someone going to the loo in the dark and bashing the bed frame. The wardrobe door opened similarly and was hinged on the wrong side making access difficult. Again, not a major thing but more an indication of poor standards and quality-more about this later.

Our serious gripe about the room was the fact that it was adjacent to the lounge (which incidentally, is very spacious and actually has enough comfy seats for the number of guests) and offers no seclusion whatsoever from the goings-on in the lounge. Having been up since the early hours on the day of arrival, we took a dim view of being kept awake by a large group who had the benefit of afternoon flights. Words were exchanged which firmly cast us as The Bad Guys for the rest of the week. A repeat performance two days later brought about the involvement of the chalet rep, a formal complaint and an exchange of rooms with two other guests (...thanks). Of course, we fully appreciate that everyone should be able to enjoy their holiday in whichever way they choose. The responsibility for the situation lies firmly with Ski Total and their non-disclosure of the inevitability of disturbance. If you are a guest who likes or needs your sleep, you must avoid this room at all costs.

One of the two rooms to which we relocated (Room 3) was historically a room with bunk beds which had been changed to one with two singles.There was insufficient space for even one bedside table and no bedside light-not life threatening but again poor standards evident. The other room (Room 1) was by the front door-I don't need to say more as you can use your imagination.

Interestingly, there are no photos of the bedrooms in the glossy brochure, and having stayed there it is obvious as to why this is so.

I wanted to see Aigle Royale for myself and asked for a viewing which was initially declined "for security reasons" (yes, really). Of course, I did get to see it and that viewing merely confimed my wife's very positive view of it and my view of Anne-Marie which I will summarise at the end.

Thre were several other matters which contributed to the overall feeling of lack of quality, such as:

*Problems with the front door (one guest had their skis stolen from inside the chalet during our week)
*The policy of baking/heating up bread on-site (if you are a fan of nice fresh French bread, you will have to buy your own)
*Absence of bread and jam in the afternoon (that's a first for us in any chalet)
*Paper-thin towels
*Dinner served on a dessert plate (a point raised in a review last year but evidently ignored)
*Intermittent availability of the hot-tub

In summary, you might think that a 4*plus chalet should or would be in a similar league to a 5* chalet. Well, this one isn't and the difference is huge. If you can get it at a substantial discount from the brochure price then it is fine. Otherwise, it is over-priced and over-rated and essentially a 3* chalet with a hot-tub. It is unfortunate that the staff, (who were all young), have to deal with the collateral damage caused by Ski Total's policy of taking your money and dealing with the consequences later. Let battle begin!

Room Tip: We stayed in four out of the twelve rooms in the chalet. Avoid rooms 11/12 unless you are one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Anne-Marie, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It is disappointing that the Chalet Anne-Marie did not live up to the reviewer’s expectations on this occasion, particularly since we have already been contacted by several of the other guests in residence in the chalet that same week, who have expressed their positive feedback and praise of the staff in the chalet.
This review is already the subject of a formal complaint from the guests and is being dealt with by our Guest Relations Department. We would urge readers to consider the other reviews for the property, to obtain a balanced view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had the most fantastic week in chalet Annemarie! The chalet was lovely, cosy and clean. Jack's food was amazing and even made us blondie's when we asked him too!
Jack, Andy, Sarah and Scarlett were amazing hosts and nothing was ever too much trouble. They made sure we had the nicest stay and knew a lot about the local area!
We genuinely couldn't have asked for a better holiday and our group are gagging to go back there already!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned home from a week with ski total at chalet anne-marie with friends.

Whilst this is not a premium chalet we couldn't help feeling a little let down by the whole experience for the price we paid.

The chalet itself is fine, it must have had a bit of a revamp since the poor reviews from last season. The boot room is a little small for such a large chalet and there seems to be very little in the way of sound proofing.

hot tub was working, but only half the jets seemed to want to play ball.

The food ranged from nice to inedible, all very basic recipes, portion sizes were small, and they ran out of basics on a couple of occasions, for example on one evening only half the guests got any mash with their meal. likewise bread and croissants were in short supply several mornings. The running joke of the week was what they would manage to burn today...

one of the staff was clearly very ill and shouldn't really have been at work.

most of the questions asked of the rep resulted in a look of utter confusion. Knowledge of the resort and the tour operator was poor.

No towel change was provided during the week, so we were using the same crusty towels for seven days.

I think the staff tried their hardest and I believe it was more of an issue with ski totals lack of training and guidance.

in addition, whilst strictly not ski total it was part of the package, flying with monarch is a bit of a joke, check in at Gatwick was a mess, check in at Geneva was horrific. I certainly wouldn't book any package with monarch as the airline.

positives, it was warm, dry, the resort is great, staff did try their hardest and work hard.

It's unlikely any of our group and most of the chalet guests would travel with ski total again.

Room Tip: There is only one double room in the chalet, all the rest are twins so not ideal for a couple. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Anne-Marie, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We have noted the points that the reviewer has raised following their experience with us in the Chalet Anne Marie, which we regret was disappointing in some respects, and have passed it on accordingly.
The hot tub is checked once weekly by an external firm who have since addressed the problem with one of the jets which unfortunately had not been notified to our staff by guests in residence in the chalet, or during the staff checks of the facility.
Our menu plans are designed by our team of executive chefs with our chalet hosts in mind, though we do not consider them to be by any means ‘basic’ and it is regrettable that the reviewer was perhaps expecting a perhaps slightly different culinary experience. Unfortunately no guests in the chalet that week made any adverse comment with regard to the catering, despite the host checking regularly, therefore they were unaware of any discontent that was required to be addressed.
We operate strict procedures where staff experience illness and ensure that, where necessary, staff are prevented from attending work for the necessary periods while they recover. This was seemingly no exception in the Anne Marie in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Anne-Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Anne-Marie

Address: Lavachet, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Anne-Marie was built for us three years ago in a delightfully traditional Savoyard style, using lots of wood and local stone to create undoubtedly one of Tignes’ most attractive chalets. The location is excellent, and in the mornings, you can walk to the piste just 50m away, and ski down to your choice of the Chaudannes and Paquis high-speed chairlifts, each heading up opposite sides of the valley - the Paquis in the direction of Val d’Isère, and the Chaudannes towards the Aiguille Percée. At the end of the day, you can then ski back to the same spot from the Chaudannes side of the ski area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Anne-Marie Hotel Tignes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Anne-Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.