We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb chalet and even better service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Aiglon

Chalet Aiglon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Aiglon
Save
You added Chalet Aiglon to your Saves list
Les Almes, 73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb chalet and even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here in March and the chalet was fantastic. The property itself is relatively modern but not ugly and has a prime postion overlooking the lake, frozen throughout the winter. Massive windows and a large balcony ensure the view can be enjoyed and the sun soaked up. The rooms are compact but the living areas make up for this with plenty of space for 8 guests. The only minor issues were the weak showers and WiFi. The distance to the slopes is a good 5/10 minute walk but the bus stop being so close makes it easier and also means Val Claret is another option to start the day. Ski Total is of course about more than just the building and the service was exceptional. Tommy the chalet host was incredibly efficient and skilled at cooking and serving breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner with a certain flair to the evening meals. From the beef stew that kicked off the week to the cakes and the duck with a cherry sauce everything was professional and tasty, testament to Tommy and Ski Total's clearly high standards.

Tignes too was great. Much more affordable than Val d'Isere and also a younger less stuffy feel to it. Tignes Cuisine, Loop Bar and Marmot Arms were good places to grab some lunch or an apres drink, The Aspen Cafe in Val Claret (across the lake) is a great mid ski lunch spot, cheaper than up the mountain and arguably better food.

All in all this is a great Ski Total option and an ideal chalet to explore the Espace Killy ski area as well as the resort itself. The whole package with flights and transfers included also meant it felt like a holiday, skiing can sometimes feel like a lot of work! Would definitely recommend Ski Total/Chalet Aiglon/Tignes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

8 of us stayed in this chalet in Feb 2013. The chalet was warm, comfortable, and excellent in every way, from the huge windows overlooking the lake, and mountains, to the very comfortable beds . Tommy our chalet host was tremendous in every way, cooking beautiful food every day, and looking after us admirably. The trip to the main area is a good 10 min walk in ski boots , whatever anyone says, but the free bus goes virtually past the door very frequently . This is our first visit to Tignes for skiing, and we loved it. Brilliant skiing, a decent size comfortable chalet, and superb facilities, and hosting . Good job ski total ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

As with the previous reviewer, we stayed at the Chalet Aiglon operated by Ski Total and had a wonderful time. There is another Chalet Aiglon in Tignes, however the one we stayed in was the second floor of the building known as Chalet Yosemeti if that helps anyone!

Had a really lovely week in Tignes. The Chalet was clean and nicely presented with plenty of room for 8 adults. The rooms are a little cozy and we had limited space for cases but there was a cupboard in each room and all had a nice little en-suite.

The sauna was a nice touch and we used it to help relax the muscules after an ice-bath!

Rooms are a good size, all furniture is nicely maintained. We made the most of the DVD player during our stay, playing the Top Gun drinking game as introduced by Rich our chalet host! I'd definitely recommend bringing DVDs with you.

The best part of the stay was without a doubt out Chalet host Rich. He was helpful, friendly, nothing was too much trouble and he was a fabulous cook. The view from the Chalet is lovely although we had SO much snow that it was somewhat obscured! Can't complain though as the snow was what we were there for!

Fantastic powder skiing in the resort once it had been made safe from avalanche risk and there was something for everyone. The only down side to the chalet was that the 10 / 15 min walk to the lifts seemed to get longer and longer as the week went on! Carrying skis can be hard work but I certainly wouldn't let that put me off. Really great week.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed with ski total at this chalet in Tignes for a week on a package deal. There appear to be two different chalets with the same name in Tignes, so this a reivew for the one run by Ski Total, not other companies.
The chalet is really fantastic. Big, floor to ceiling, windows with a view over the slopes and a truly huge balcony which catches the afternoon sun if you're not out on the slopes. You can nip up the back of the chalet onto a button lift to ski down into resort, or take a 10 minute walk to the main lift area. So, good location. It has its own small sauna which is ready in 20 minutes and great for 2 people to use after skiiing. The rooms are fairly small, but there is more than enough room in the hallway for your bags etc. although no draws in the room for smalls and stuff. All four ensuite bathrooms are clean and modern. The lounge/dining area is really lovely with three comfy sofas and a few tasteful decorative touches. There is a DVD player, but the flat screen TV only has a couple of French channels although you can plug in i-phones etc. to play your music through the TV. Bring some DVDs though if you want to watch something. There are a few board games in the flat too for guests to use.
This year's host was Mike who was a great cook, very efficient and helpful. He was a really great host and we had absolutely no complaints about the food, the cleanliness of the rooms/chalet or anything else.
I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone going to Tignes. Tignes itself is of course great for skiing, but that goes without saying!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Aiglon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Aiglon

Address: Les Almes, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 metres from our Chalets Atlas and Arktic, this delightful high quality chalet is a recent addition to our Tignes programme, with the Chamois on the first floor, and the Aiglon on the second floor. The attractive open-plan living/dining areas in each chalet are comfortably furnished in a chic, contemporary style with big picture windows and a sun-terrace opening off them, to make the most of the views across to the lake and the wonderful mountain skyline beyond. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Aiglon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.