We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Caroline

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Caroline
Save
You added Chalet Caroline to your Saves list
Mountain Road | 73320 Tignes, Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Tignes B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Family/friends holiday whole chalet booked. 8 adults 7 teenages/ kids. Lovely chalet good location. Food left a bitter taste as did not receive advertised menus or pre dinner drinks. In fact the staff at alpine elements went out of their way not to provide this even though repeatedly reminded. Prob 1 to two star service provided . Refused seconds and felt like on a budget all week - advice print off advertised menus and service and take it with you you to remind the uninterested end of season staff. We made our own fun and enjoyed the holiday despite our complaints being ignored by the company

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Chalet Caroline, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
First of all we are glad to hear that you too feel the Caroline to be a "lovely chalet with good location", we also agree! However service is important and we are very concerned and sorry to learn that you didn’t receive the correct menu and service and that you felt the staff were disinterested.

Our staff training is very detailed and comprehensive, and we spend a great deal of time and effort in planning our menus and running our catering programme. In isolated cases we do learn that some staff do not perform so well from time to time.

We generally have very tight controls via a strong management team, and we always urge guests to feed back to us (discreetly if they rather remain anonymous) because we like to react immediately to these issues which can be resolved.

Nevertheless we are genuinely sorry for the staff performance during your week. We do hope that you can see past this and consider us again in the future, guest loyalty is so important to a niche Operator such as our selves.


Best Regards
Clare Smith – Head of UK Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had a fabulous ski holiday at this wonderful chalet but was let down by the service and food on offer by Alpine Elements staff. The chef was very pleasant but we were given the impression he had been told to budget throughout the week. No seconds, repetative menu , shortage of certain items etc... Also no warning that the coach cannot get to the chalet and you have to walk 600m when transferring!

Room Tip: Ensure that you read beforehand what you are entitled to as you may not get it unless you ask!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Caroline, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Fran009,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food provided. We know that meals provided can be a strong contributory factor to the enjoyment of a holiday and we are sorry it was cause of disappointment on this occasion. Food is one of those aspects we read most conflicting views about, even from guests who have travelled to the same chalet on the same date, so we have to also take into consideration that often it’s a case of personal taste and that guests’ preferences vary enormously.

Naturally if complaints are made, we will immediately investigate, and employ every endeavour to ensure our guests are receiving meals of a standard they have come to expect. We can assure you that our menu has been tried and tested pre-season and has been proving rather successful amongst all resorts and chalets to date. However this is not to undermine your comments in any way and we have brought this to the attention of the product department and our overseas area manager in the strongest manner, as comments such as these are invaluable to us in maintaining and improving our programme.

We do try to make sure that any extra information about our chalets is mentioned in our brochure and in our general information we do mention that our coaches cannot always get to the front doors of the chalets. If any assistance is needed then our staff are always happy to help.

We are glad that you thought Chalet Caroline was great and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My party of two adults and two children stayed at this chalet from the 26th of March 2012 till the 1st of April. The chalet hosts Rob and Josh were outstanding and so was the resort representative - James (or was it Jamie!). Rob and Josh were very accommodating of the children in the chalet discussing the meal options with parents as well as offering an early dining option. They also responded well to emerging issues and attempted to resolve this.

However, we were in room 1 and it had a terrible smell. We had to keep the window open at all times. The tiny shower room had a leak (this had clearly been there for a long time), there was discolouration on the wall in the bedroom behind the shower and water constantly leaked out from the shower area to the tiny standing space in the room. Rob arranged for the maintenance guy to attend and he put sealant around the tiles to reduce the leak. this did slow down the water to an extent but did nothing about the smell. The water pressure was also low on many occasions. I must add that the bathroom in room 2 (where the children were staying) was better so I kept my makeup etc in that bathroom. the problem was the rooms were not linked.

The location was an absolute nightmare. When we booked we thought there was a range rover to transport guests, but when the confirmation arrived a letter enclosed stated that this was no longer the case as there was a lift. At this stage we had committed to lessons with Evolution in the Le Lac area which is only accessible from Les Breviere by Taxi before 9 am. The lift does not open till 9 am. Evolution offered to pick all 4 of us up each morning for our lesson, but we had to make our way back as follows - Catch a bus with a 4 year old and 7 year old with ski's a few minutes from the slopes. Get off and walk up hill (on slushy snow with a 4 year old) to the chair lift. Get off the chair lift in Les Breviere and walk across a car park, bridge, etc to the other lift to go up hill to Chalet Caroline. Walk up the hill to the chalet.
We quickly discovered that we could not possibly do this with ski's and young children and spoke to the rep who kindly offered to store the equipment in Alpine Elements Le Lac chalet ( a ten minute walk from the slope with children). Chalet Caroline location was a real nightmare as the chair lift shut at 5 pm and the second lift shut at 6 pm. Having to store a ski's in Le Lac so we could endure the trip home meant we were often late for lessons despite an 8.30 am pick-up by evolution.
We always stay in premium / luxury accommodation and would categorically state that our Chalet Caroline experience was not in the premium category. The staff however were outstanding doing what they could with the resources available.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1. If travelling with children stay somewhere else unless you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Chalet Caroline between 12th and 19th Feb 2012 via Alpine Elements, and overall had a fantastic time.

Upon arrival we were greeted by our hosts Rob and Webb (Chris). Both were very pleasant, and were very accommodating during our stay. Very friendly service and very helpful.

We stayed in Room 3, which has a balcony leading straight to the hot-tub, literally almost outside the room. If you want easy access to the hot-tub book this room.

Rooms were a bit of a tight squeeze but given the norm during ski holidays it was plentiful. Lots of storage space and comfy beds. The bathroom was fairly standard but absolutely fine. Only gripe was althought there was a shower head, there was no shower hook or curtain. This would have made the bathroom perfect as filling the bath was a pain or kneeling/sitting to take a shower was a bit frustrating.

Food during the stay was brilliant, couldn't fault one meal. We had the choice of Red,White and Rose wine and as much as we could handle. Second helpings to food were also available most of the time which came in very handy after a tough day on the slopes.

Living area was lovely and cosy, and the open fire is a great touch. The building as a whole is very warm, we didn't find ourselves cold once. Pool table is also a great idea to keep people entertained whilst dinner's cooking and drinks are flowing. Wi-fi worked fine while we were there.

Leaving was organised well by all staff involved.

I'd stay there again in a flash. Would recommend to anyone - couples, groups or families wanting a good value for money catered chalet.

Room Tip: Room 3 if you want good access to the hot-tub. It's also on the first floor so a bit further fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

In short they are a cheap ski trip company masquerading as a luxury company and they are simply not up to that level. If they marketed themselves as a cheap ski trip company then that would be fine, but they are way short of being mid level. The chalets are getting shabby and long overdue a refurbishment, (its called paint, and sandpaper and varnish..oh and cleaning) the staff training is not what it used to be, or maybe they are not looking for quality people...they generally don't seem to know the resort and spend way too long trying to up sell you stuff you don't want and don't seem to know any of the important stuff or information you'd be interested in. So do yourself a favor, and save yourself a real headache and avoid these guys, there are plenty of companies out there who provide great ski holidays at good prices, and with a good level of care. I say presume as they have refused to respond to any letter we have sent them asking about this. This speaks volumes about Alpine Elements in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Chalet Caroline, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
First and foremost we are sorry to learn of any discomfort you felt, but also very disappointed that you feel this way about the Company, and your view of Alpine Elements. We work very hard to put value back into the ski industry and our catered chalet product runs with the absolute best of intentions, and that is to offer skiers excellent value from quality properties with great food and wine.

The Caroline is a lovely chalet, very popular, and the private home of a very well known and respected "Mover and Shaker" in Tignes. She has done a fantastic job of the decor and it surprises me to learn your views on our chalet. Nevertheless I take these on board and I will personally visit the chalet myself for a full audit.

We have a strict and organised programme of chalet refreshment and decoration, a strong team of maintenance men whom are always on call and properties are improved and constantly updated where required.

In regard to your complaint letter, our customer services department will respond to all feedback or complaints we receive without fail and if this has not happened then we have not received your letter. Please, we urge you to contact us so we can investigate this further. Client satisfaction is an absolute priority of ours before, during and after the holiday

Best Regards
Clare Smith – Head of Operations UK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

The Chalet was a lovely Alpine Chalet in great condition. Rooms were very adequate with good facilities.
Service from the Chalet hosts was excellent, there was humour, adice and information as well as the willingness to show/advise the younger ones where to go have fun.
Unfortunately it is not exactly walking distance to the slopes while carrying equipment, but the shuttle service was very adequate and never having to wait more than 10 mins for the next available van. This actually dropped us at the foot of the cable car so there was no walking involved.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

16 of us had a great time in this Chalet with the hosts Hugh & Matt. Lovely cooked breakfast, cakes for the after tea were delicious and the evening meals were constistently good, we couldn't always finish dessert. I wasn't sure how they were going to cope feeding 16 of us with all our dietry requirements - one with no red meat, one with no nuts and one with no added salt but they did with ease! There were 4 different choices of wine, 2 white and 2 red, the red with the bronze award was the favourite!
The hosts were all very helpful with resort knowledge, check out La Folie Douce in Val after 2.30! Becky the rep was very helpful when the lessons with ESF fell apart.
The hot tub, although not all the jets were working, was lovely and hot and just what was needed at the end of the day! As long as you don't get soaked by cold water poured from the balcony above.The sauna was also good, how many can you fit in a sauna?
We got the WiFi working so those that needed to catch up with work could.
Make sure you get the last coach home after the pub crawl! The numbers for the taxi drivers weren't realiable.
Don't be put off by the walk back up to the Chalet, the shuttle was very reliable, and once when we missed it we got a lift in the back of a van by one of the restaurant owners!
All in all excellent value for money, I'll be hard pushed to find ALL the facilities available in this Chalet at another resort for the price.
P.S. bring your own pillow!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Caroline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Caroline

Address: Mountain Road | 73320 Tignes, Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Tignes
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroline is a really beautiful ski chalet in the high altitude resort of Tignes Les Brévières, offering immediate access to some of the best skiing in Tignes!The chalet is decorated with lots of wonderful ski-memorabilia, and features a sauna, hot tub, en suite bedrooms, heated boot-rack, pool table, DVD and internet access. Views of the ski slopes of Les Brévières and a roaring log fire positioned centrally in the living area make the atmosphere very special.The chalet is 100-150 metres from a small ski-elevator or carousel lift which connects skiers to the main slopes and town centre. To walk to the central areas it is approx 450 metres, or a 6½ minute walk downhill. Les Brévières is the original old town of Tignes and benefits from the superb skiing of Tignes without its architectural ‘excesses’. It is rare to have high altitude snow sure skiing in such pleasant surroundings as Les Brev! Of further benefit is the local skiing - the famous ‘La Sache’ slopes run straight into Les Brévières, thus making it one of Tignes very best ski areas for all levels - either on or off piste! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Caroline Hotel Tignes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Caroline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.