We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to be a guest here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Arc en Ciel

Save Saved
You added L'Arc en Ciel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Arc en Ciel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 place de Crete, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A pleasure to be a guest here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were made very welcome by the reception staff. The room was very attractively furnished with a super sized bed. The room was spacious with good storage and a balcony. The bathroom had a state of the art shower over the bath. Fantastic value for money.
The only minus point was the restaurant it was paired with " Les Marroniers". The cooking was rather in the style of the French workmanship menu hence the restaurant was full of manual workers most nights during our stay. There is the facility to separate tourists from workmen in the dining room and this should be done automatically. We had to insist on a table in the veranda part of the restaurant but French guests were always assigned a table there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    40
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
74
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked short term a hotel in Thonon-les-Bains, a city next to the better known Evian, where the famous water comes from. I booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children, and got an astonishingly affordable price per night (€ 96.--). The hotel is easy to find, and is located on a crossroad, not far away from the center, but not directly in the center. The town is somehow divided north/south by a rail track, and the hotel i south of it, while the center lays on it's north side. There's a passenger bridge leading directly to the center, you can walk there within about 10 minutes, or drive with the car, which I did.
Back to the hotel: The parking is right in front of the entrance, we never had problems to find a space, despite that the hotel was sold out on this weekend. We were greeted in a very friendly way by the manager of the hotel. She's obvioulsy a collector of small duck figurines, which are exhibited all over the reception area. We got room # 114 in the first floor, with wiew to the garden and pool. We were positively surprised by the size of the room: there is a large double bed in the lower floor, and via a stairway in the room you reach the mezzanine floor where there are 3 further beds, therefore space for at least 5 adult people. The kids wanted of course to sleep on the gallery, adventure style. All of the bed were very good, very clean, and we all slept very well. There's a lcd tv of a good size, with many different stations, not only french ones. There is also a kitchenette in the room, with fridge, ceramic hob, microwave, and a sink. Plus pans, tableware and cutlery, so basically everything what a family needs. There's furthermore a very large pleasant bathroom with a fullsize bathtub, and the toilet is in a separte room. The room also features a balcony with table and seats. So it's like a little appartment, and the noise insulation was perfect too. A word about the cleanliness: spotless, in the whole room! The hotel is far from being totally new, but everything is very well maintained, kept, working, and I bet that the lady at the reception (the manager) could lift a 1 star hotel instantly to 3 stars only by her shear presence! I have rarely seen someone as friendly and helpful as she was, in any hotel. This is truly how a hotel should be ran!

Room Tip: Room 114 was our's, it's a family room with a double bed and 3 further beds on the gallery
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is a real gem. We booked a family room and had an amazing duplex with a super king size bed downstairs and three singles on a mezzanine floor. The room was beautiful and had a super little balcony to sit out on in the sunshine. The bathroom was very large and the bath was a good size too. The breakfast buffet was very good indeed with a wide range of food and good service from the staff. Something for everyone. All in all a very impressive hotel and good value for money. Staff were all very friendly and helpful so we had a very pleasant stay and will return again.

Room Tip: We had a family room which was enormous which looked out over the gardens and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

In the middle of our skiing holiday my husband winded up in hospital. We managed to get a family room that suited our needs perfectly. Breakfast was plentiful, the cheese plate was a highlight for breakfast. Most impressive was dinner, menu du jour (3course) @ 13euro! - great value and fantastic country fair.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We were just passing through France and decided to sleep in Thonon-les-Bains for a night. We walked into the hotel and asked for availability. They were so friendly and it was the easiest check-in process I've ever encountered. Rooms were great, relaxing, the balcony was the best part. Also the ability to make tea in the room is always great. Breakfast was good, loved all the different types of honey. Parking directly outside the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A fabulous hotel with very friendly staff, lovely clean rooms and the food in the restautant next door excellent. Breakfast good with a good selection of cheeses and ham jams etc. Car parking good and good location for the town

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london,uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Can't say enough about this one- we arrived in a large group of London Welsh Rugby Club choir, and wives. They were so accomodating, and very pleasant. It is a nice hotel- and our room was really nice.. big and TV with loads of channels. Free inhouse WIFI. There is a nice pool, and attached is a super restaurant and bar- really inexpensive and the food is divine.
Anything we wanted, and the proprietor was happy to help. A lovely breakfast was included and there is a lift( necessary as some of our crew are not able to take stairs....)
Will definitely return - oh, if you go, check out the market on Thursday morning but there seemed to be markets in town on other mornings too. Oh and the lake side is beautiful, we had lunch one day at the yatch club, had lovely meal and the best local Rose wine/

Room Tip: try to stay in the new section- the hotel is really two hotels , attached by a walkway. The older ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Arc en Ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Arc en Ciel

Address: 18 place de Crete, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Thonon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Arc en Ciel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel near center of the town of Thonon Les Bains. Balcony, wifi, garden, outdoor swimming pool, parking and garage. For business or holidays, one night or a long stay, room, BB, half board or full board. On the way to the winter station(Morzine, Avoriaz, Chatel and Switzerland). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your L'Arc en Ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Arc En Ciel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Arc en Ciel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.