We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with a very good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Thonon - Evian

Save Saved
You added Ibis Thonon - Evian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Thonon - Evian
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Ter Avenue d'Evian, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    113
    60
    16
    6
See reviews for
49
101
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We booked this hotel in Thonon because we read a majority of good reviews but we were not satisfied. The position is fine and there is a cheap cover parking very close. The people at the reception were friendly and educated but not a lot helpful. But the good points stop here. The room was very small, without a real wardrobe and because of the climate of the area in few minutes it was full of humidity. In the description there was written that there was a third bed but in reality it was not more than a seat. The bathroom was bearing the sign of the time and the towels were showing dark spots from the loundry. There was just one towel each and we had to ask every time for a second one. The breakfast was really standard and many times we had to wait for things that were over. I think that this place is good for travelling people stopping here not more than one night and we won't be back here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Obviously these places are made for a purpose and if you're looking for a cost effective place to stay, very clean and modern then I'd recommend here. Staff were polite and check-in on took a couple of minutes. Great views over lake Geneva.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

When I booked this hotel I was looking for a hotel near to Lausanne, Switzerland. On your web site the distance between the center of Lausanne and the hotel was listed as being less than 20km! In fact it is nearly 90km! i booked a non refundable room because of the attractive price and the short distance I had to drive to the hotel at the end of the day, no where was it mentioned that the distance of 20km was by boat!! I think that this is very misleading! I am not amused and will think twice before booking a hotel with your company again. A very unhappy experience and nearly €50 poorer for nothing!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Fantastic location with the terrace overlooking Lake Geneva, very friendly and accomodating staff. Hotel was clean with good sized rooms useful for longer stays. No hurried atmosphere made this hotel a pleasure to stay in. Would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Was flummoxed by the truly poor reception staff (at weekend) - very rude and almost aggressive and unwelcoming. Booked the hotel for the internet connection but could not get access in the room; staff first almost unwilling to help but then could not help at all. Despite the ad displayed in the room, "15 minutes to sort out any problem, or you are our guest!"

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Thonon - Evian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Thonon - Evian

Address: 2, Ter Avenue d'Evian, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Thonon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Thonon - Evian 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Thonon les Bains hotel lies in the centre of a major touristic, cultural and sport crossroads. Close to lake Léman, it is located in the centre of Thonon, 10 min from the spa centre and just about 8 km from Evian. The hotel offers for booking 67 air-conditioned rooms, including 3 adapted for disabled persons. It puts at your disposal Wifi access, a restaurant, a terrace with a superb view over the lake, a bar open 24/24 and parking. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Thonon - Evian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Thonon - Evian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.