We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to Start your daily DownHill Riding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet l'Aero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet l'Aero
Save
You added Chalet l'Aero to your Saves list
Plateaux des Saix, 74340 Samoens, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Samoens B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location to Start your daily DownHill Riding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for 4/5 days in summer. Brilliant location for DH MTB with a brilliant local guide who was an amazing rider. Loads of chair lifts for your bike to get to some high altitudes easily. Accommodation and host great, welcoming and homely. Food was excellent - my first Tartiflette - all home made as you would want and accompanied by some good beer, wine and coffee to wash it down. All in all it was a good price for a good weeks riding with some good company.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

we have been going to L'Aero for the past 6 years at both New Year or Easter. It is a magical place high above the Giffre valley, the views are stunning. There are apartments as well as rooms to rent, also a bar and restaurant. So you can decide to self cater or have a meal in the restaurant. It is ski-in, ski-out. There are no roads or traffic so it is completely safe to let children play outside. There are a few other restaurants nearby but the food is so good at L'Aero you don't need to unless you fancy a change.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

For 6 years we return to this stunning location and fantastic place. With room for 42 persons we travel enmasse with other friends and family. Biggest party so far was 24 persons but that will be surpassed soon. Staff mainly French with perfect spoken English. Food, sublime 10/10. Plus they cater for gluten free diets and fussy English kids who won't eat gourmet French food. Rooms, warm, clean, stylish, eclectic and the views are 200 Degrees of unobstructed awe inspiring scenery. (providing their is no cloud, because you are so high up) It looks and feels exclusive but really it is warm and friendly. People use it as a hotel/self catering/lunch/dinner and purely a pit stop destination. Value for money and excellent for memories, you don't even need to hire a car! Couples/Family and Friends it ticks all the boxes!

Room Tip: Every room is the building has a stunning view so it's hard to choose. We prefer room 6 for x2 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

If you are looking for a place where you can jump on your board or your skis right away: this is it. This lively hotel is run by a very friendly staff, who can give you great tips on the best slopes. The apartments are nice and cosy and you can be very independant there..if you want. You can also take advantage of the dining room for the meals, where a "plat du jour" is served daily and standard or local specialities can be enjoyed. There also is a bar. The terrasse in front of the hotel is probably the nicest in Samoens and lounge chairs are available to relax between slopes.
If you want wild nightlife, it is either in the hotel (their New Year's party is famous I heard) or you will have to take your car and go down to the village of Samoens (10-15 minutes drive), because there is not much activity around the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Stayed here for a weeks ski-ing with 2 other families and had a great time. It's very relaxed and has a really welcoming atmosphere. The owners could not be more helpful. They provided meals to suit the kids, at times to suit us, took the kids to ski school by skidoo (for those that couldn't ski yet) and were waiting at the hospital door to bring back our friend after she'd injured herself. When we booked, they helped in arranging airport transfers (1 hour from Geneva), ski hire and lift passes. Nothing was too much trouble and it felt more like we'd stayed with friends than at a hotel.
We had breakfast and dinner every day. It was a set menu, but really excellent food. The village of Samoens 1600 is quite small so your choices are limited if you are not eating in. This suited us though, and we had an apartment where we could have self catered if we'd wanted to.
The chalet sits abot 100 metres away from the rest of the village and you can ski in and out. The views down into the valley are magnificent. This may not be the location (or resort) if you're looking for nightlife, but for a family holiday or with a big group it's ideal.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet l'Aero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet l'Aero

Address: Plateaux des Saix, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Samoens
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an altitude of 1607 metres, on the pistes and at the heart of the Grand Massif, The Aero overlooks the valley of Giffre. Located on a discreet sunny flank of the plateau of Saix, this vast chalet has been recently refurbished and offers a refreshing stay in the Alps. The restaurant and bar encompass a south facing terrace and we welcome guests all year round. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet l'Aero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.