We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Marie Stuart

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Marie Stuart
Save
You added Chalet Marie Stuart to your Saves list
Le Petit Saix, 74340 Samoens, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Samoens B&B and Inns
Wendover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Our second trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from another short ski break at Caroline's. Sadly the weather restricted our skiing somewhat, but that's about the only thing beyond Caroline's control. She deals with fussy eaters with grace and serves good quality, well cooked food at every meal. I was impressed by her turning out 12 large duck breasts all still nice and pink in the middle!

I'd say we had the best room this time (7) as it is a large suite with a bathtub (twin beds instead of double, but that's ok).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very pleased with a long weekend ski break. Lovely meals all home made by the very pleasant owner, and nothing seemed to be 'too much trouble'. She is a gem, works incredibly hard to make her guests stay feel very relaxed.
Already looking to return for a week next season. A car would be an advantage as things are spread around but that's because we enjoy exploring its not absolutely necessary.
A bit of local shopping is a must in a traditional French town where we were made to feel very welcome.
You get what you pay for and this was well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

There is a real warmth and friendly atmosphere to this Chalet , and this is because of the amazing service provided by Caroline and her colleague Alison. We stayed during the half term, and were thoroughly spoilt, nothing was too much trouble for Caroline or Alison, their hospitality , the food , the comfortable , clean accommodation could not be faulted.
The children in our party were extremely happy and well catered for with separate meals and eating times.
I would thoroughly recommend the chalet to anybody who wants to be able to enjoy a great skiing region and then go back to relax and be looked after to a high level, but be prepared that all the husbands and kids will want to trade you in and take Caroline home with them.
Thanks Caroline keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were a group of four families ranging from 6 to 60 and everyone had the most amazing time. Caroline is the most wonderful host, attentive, genuine and full of excellent tips, whether it be about the skiing or other local activities. Nothing is too much trouble and her culinary skills were as good as any London 5 star restaurant. The property is homely, cared for and brilliantly clean. Everyone we met knew Caroline and spoke of her with such fondness. Having met her, we can see why. The village of Samoen is beautiful, the area full of things to do, so you will not go wrong by choosing Chalet Marie Stuart.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a huge bathroom with a bath and loads of Character
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What can I say. This was our first time on this sort of holiday and we went with friends and family of all ages. It sounds a bit over the top to say it was perfect but it really was. The chalet felt like a family home, the resort could not have been better (some of us were not skiers but we found surrounding area so beautiful and worthy of many days out.) However the real star of the show was Caroline most certainly the hostess with the mostess!. Her food is quite stunning and her hosting skills unbeatable, there was nothing that was too much trouble, she was warm and friendly and loved by the children (all husbands wanted to take her home with them too!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

All is excellent! Caroline's a brilliant hostess, a marvellous cook, and so friendly and helpful - despite hosting such a rowdy crew as the 'Milton Keynes Brass Ski Formation Team'! My only worry with giving a truthful review - the truth being IT'S FAB! -is that Chalet Marie Stuart would become so popular that I might not get a chance to visit again - so I've already booked for next winter to be certain. Lizzie :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A group of friends stayed here to ski, Caroline is a lovely lady and prepared us amazing food & even catered for some of the more 'picky' members of our group. She made us feel welcome and part of the Chalet, we totally enjoyed staying there and look forward to doing it again. Unfortunately my wife broke her shoulder on the first day of skiing, Caroline, her staff & Ski Weekender (Katy) went out of their way to help us; we are very appreciative. It's about a 20min walk into town downhill & scenic, you'll thankfully burn off a few calories walking back to the Chalet uphill though :)

Room Tip: I believe the rooms upstairs are much larger than the room/s on the main floor (possibly room 2 but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Marie Stuart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Marie Stuart

Address: Le Petit Saix, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Samoens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Marie Stuart is a traditional Savoyard chalet on the outskirts of the charming village of Samoens, in the beautiful Giffre Valley and part of the Grand Massif ski area. It is owned and operated by Caroline Morgan, an experienced chalet operator and a qualified chef. You can be certain of high standards of hospitality and a warm welcome to help you to enjoy a fantastic holiday - summer or winter. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Marie Stuart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.