We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully complete...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet-Hotel Crychar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet-Hotel Crychar to your Saves list
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136, impasse de la Grange-Neuve, 74260 Les Gets, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Les Gets
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully complete...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have atayed at Crychar with Celine and Gregory twice and have always enjoyed the relaxed but efficient way this hotel is run. It is on a superb spot on the hill, ski-in and ski-out with a cosy terrace ready for you as you click your skis out and relax with a glass of wine or beer. Or have tea and cakes(homemade) with the last sun rays shining down on you...lovely place to spend a holiday.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good here....it is on a very quiet spot but just 10 mins from the maik street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was rated number 1 on Trip Advisor and we also got a great room rate as we were at the end of the Summer Season (85 euros per night, per double room not including breakfast). The hotel is modern with a stylish nod to Alpine decor. The rooms are very comfortable with a lovely balcony with unspoilt views of the mountains, lovely bed, stylish decor and the highest quality sheets etc, monsoon walk in shower. The staff are very professional and friendly. Celine, the lady who runs it, is very good. The hotel is ideally located right next to the chairlift, 2 mins walk from centre of village. Minor criticisms would be: the hotel is aimed only at the French, everything including menus, TV etc is French. The fitness room has a tiny Sauna and jacuzzi in a dark basement. The breakfast is 15 euros per person. A hot choice on the breakfast menu is a small portion. We ate breakfast sometimes and went to the bakery for croissan, on other days. The best bakery is by the church and very cheap. We didn't end up eating at the hotel in the evening but the menu did look excellent and if the wine (starting at 20 euros a bottle for a very good wine) is anything to go by, you're in for a treat.

Our criticisms are minor for this excellent hotel which deserves more than its 3 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Can't fault it, the host Celine is very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room we stayed in was excellent, overlooking the piste. It had recently been re-furbished to a high standard and the fixtures & fittings were top class. The children's room was above ours, accessed from some cute steps in the corner of our room - they found it quite an exciting area to be in.

The food standard was very high, and my wife and I loved it. However it was in fact a little too high for our two children (9 & 12) who weren't over keen on the likes of "avocado mousse on as bed of shredded salmon", so we ended up eating out most evenings in the town - where there is plenty of variety.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

What a great little hotel. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with true hospitality and thoughtfulness. Nothing seems to be a problem. The rooms have been recently renovated and are very comfortable with all of today's amenities while still keeping the charm of a mountain retreat. Food from a very well stocked breakfast buffet to the lovely dinners is excellent. The hotel really take great care of kids with a very nice play room and has arranged it so that even couples without small children feel at ease. The location is second to none with easy road access, ski in/out, central in the village yet very quiet at night. No wonder it is hard to find availabilty in this little gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabran, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We are a family of 5 and stayed for a week in 2 rooms. The service was superb and the staff reallly went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after. Nothing was ever a problem. The food was very good and were all extremely well fed - almost too well fed! The rooms a little small and the bathrooms are very tight but they were clean and comfortable. The location was good, you could easily ski to it and it was a little way up the hill from the village which meant that it felt tranquil with lovely views from your door but if you wanted to get to the village you could easily ski/walk down. The children were made very welcome but at no time did this lower the standard of service/care provided to the adults. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at the Crychar for a week in late August. We are a family of three with a 7 year old child. Les Gets is a pretty Alpine village - relatively small but with enough facilities (supermarket, bakery, launderette) to make it functional. It is pretty touristy, but pretty with Alpine Chalet style buildings lining the streets. There is great access to the mountains via three ski-chair lifts in the town and easy drive or bus ride to Avorez where there are even more things to do. Lots of activities for an adventurous family. They do a 1euro a day pass which allows you to use the ski chair lifts (one way!) and a little tourist train. There is a nice lake for a swim (man made) an adventure park (for the over 8s I think) and a luge run in Avorez.
The Crychar is well sited, pretty much in the centre of town, although up a bit of a hill which gets the leg muscles going! It is very quiet and attractive. There had been a bit of a mix up with our booking (not the hotel's fault, but the internet booking service we used) and so we ended up in a smaller room than we'd planned for. Our daughter had a bed up in a mezzanine above the main bedroom. It had very low ceiling height above her bed and although she liked it, it wasn't somewhere she could really play - just sleep. The bedroom below had a lovely view over the mountains and pool, and the bathroom was very well appointed and clean. The room felt very small though. There were too small built in wardrobes but that was it - not very much space when you are there for a week. My husband needed to do some computer based work while we were there so it wasn't ideal, but having said this it worked out fine for us.
We ate in the restaurant one night and it was very good - but they only offered a set, 4 course meal, which was far more than we wanted to eat every night, and also quite expensive (worth it for a one off but not something we'd like to pay every night). There were lots of nice little restaurants in the town though so it wasn't too much of a hardship to wander out each evening for a meal. Breakfast was also quite expensive - probably worth it if you eat a big breakfast but we really just have a croissant and a coffee, so we wandered down to a bakery for breakfast each day.
The best things about this place, though, are the pool, which is lovely and pretty warm considering the location, the lovely bar area (with newspapers etc) and the children's games room which was pretty and well stocked with toys and books.
This hotel would make a lovely escape for a weekend, and if you have the budget to eat in house, perhaps for longer. The staff were very friendly and the surroundings very comfortable. Just a little bit small rooms for a family and a little bit more choice on having cheaper and smaller meals would have made it great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spodling
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem, warmth of staff genuine and not over bearing. Really, just the perfect balance. Great breakfast and very tasty dinners (not homely mountain food, more fine dining).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet-Hotel Crychar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet-Hotel Crychar

Address: 136, impasse de la Grange-Neuve, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
#3 Family Hotel in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet-Hotel Crychar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet-Hotel Crychar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Crychar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet-Hotel Crychar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.