We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific for luxury ski break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferme De Montagne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferme De Montagne
Save
You added Ferme De Montagne to your Saves list
1020 Route de la Turche, 74260 Les Gets, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Les Gets
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Terrific for luxury ski break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for the second time earlier this month and enjoyed it every bit as much as last time.

If you are looking for a boutique hotel, with excellent service and fantastic food, but coupled with a laid-back atmosphere, I doubt you will do better. Being in Les Gets, just an hour from Geneva, makes this the perfect location for a short break.

Starting with the food, we thought it would be difficult to surpass the quality and inventiveness that we encountered on our previous visit. We were wrong! Over the years I have eaten in some of the most highly-rated restaurants around the world, but can honestly say that we had some of the best food we have ever eaten during our three night stay. With the one minor caveat mentioned below, service was tip-top - on the ball, unobstrusive. The wine list is good, but rather over-priced given the price of the package in the first place.

Our ski guide, Andy, was first rate. A really nice guy who set exactly the right tone (and pace!) for his guests. He even fell off a chair lift for us to provide some mid-morning chuckles (sorry to remind you of that again Andy!).

Indeed, almost all of the young staff are a credit to this first-rate chalet. Further, I am surprised to have read some negative comments about the owners in previous reviews. Each to their own, of course, but we have found them very pleasant and willing to interact with their guests as much or as little as individual groups wish.

For completeness, I should mention that there were two aspects which were less than perfect. The first was that the guy who picked us up at Geneva didn't bring a ski rack, so my wife had our skis stuck by her head for the journey to Les Gets. Not an impressive start, and somewhat unbelievable that he hadn't thought we might actually bring skis....for a ski break! The second was that one of the waitresses was a bit surly and didn't seem to want to be there. This was in such stark contrast to the rest of the team who were truly excellent that perhaps it stood out more than usual.

But don't let those comments put you off staying at FdeM. Yes, it's expensive, but it's worth every penny. We are voting with our feet and will return next year.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit cramped, so ask for the largest available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our second visit and really cannot express how great all the staff are,including behind the scenes in the kitchen ,office etc.

New team in the kitchen this year and the food is outstanding! cannot fault in any way,not going to go on but all the other positive reviews are true and realistic.
Big thanks to Billie,Mel, and Tom. The new masseuse, Slava was also fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What an exceptional bunch of young service staff. At first the very expensive package raised a lot of questions on my mind to choose this property. However if you can afford it, dont miss the opportunity to experience the following in this order:

- Exceptional Service by the young team of ski guides and service staff including the Chef
(Alex et Andrew - my sons favourite, I didnt get the name of the girl who served us at breakfast and sometimes at dinner - but she read my mind easily and that made a big difference)
- Skiing in Les Gets
- Pick up and drop facility
- Exceptional masseuse
- Some very unique creations on the dinner menu
- Cosy Chalet with beautiful night sky views of the stars
- Some very nice people as your neighbous during dinner and during the day

Cons

- Very Expensive (For some, maybe not)
- I had to (and so did some other guests I spoke to) had to ask for bathroom slippers:)
- Wi Fi was as good as non-functional. So be prepared for not being able to Skype or browse
easily

I will be back very simply to be amazed by the young team running this place. Its simply unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at this wonderful chalet. The team working here are amazing. Everyone happy and sincere and eager to help. Their suggestions for ski areas and restaurants really made our ski days full of great memories. The chalet is clean and comfortable and furnished to an excellent standard. Our room was a bit small but not too small. The food and wine however were fantastic, topped by the excellent service this really was the highlight. Thanks to Tom, Billy and the girls for making this a trip to remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My first visit to "Les Gets" and I must say I was surprised by both the size of the village and the extensive ammount of skiing available within reach of the village. The chalet is both compact and cosy albeit the rooms are a tad on the small (cramped) size, the facilities offered by Ferme de Montagne range from a private pick up from the airport/train station,an individual ski host/guide, Sauna, outside hot tub, beauty therapist, ang gourmet food. From my own personal view point the dinning experience, with such great food and service was the highlight of my stay, the talents of Scott, Ben and John in their cooking and presentation of lovely food was excellent and the the front of house team headed by Kate and Nickie (who has an extensive knowledge of the in house wine list) and ably supported by Beth, Mel, Sam, Michael, Billy, Tom, Alex and Andrew just made the whole dinning experience more memorable, well done guys!! I guess it would be fair to say that the owners have created something a tad unique in offering this silver service five star culinary event, situated within the beautiful scenery of the French Alps!

Lastly and just to reiterate comments made by others guests, the chalet is in a good location, offers good facilities, is clean and cosy, serves lovely food, and has a great team of guys and gals that make all the wheles turn smoothly and professionally.

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are the quietest!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our first time skiing anywhere, and wow we have been spoilt...

The very, very good!

- Every member of the team that you interact with. They really are super friendly, and although probably heard the same questions a million times - they still show interest! We chatted mostly to Beth because she was our guide, abut everyone was good fun!

- I am fussy eater, the menu pushes your boundaries and is fantastic. Also I don't eat fish so the substituted.

- Access to the ski resorts, super easy and if you want you can walk back or ski back (or guide will pick you up!)

- Other guests, met some lovely people - all encouraging us due to our lack of Skiing knowledge. The team + other couples make the place somewhere you want to come back to.

Good:

- Location, easy to get to and obviously transfers mean there really is no hassle for you.
- Rooms are good (not spectacular) and a bit noisy but after all it is a wooden chalet!

The not so good:

- The owners. If you are going to ask a question then at least listen to the answer? It really is rude to ask a question then be scanning the room for your "repeat guests" who are obviously more important (and perhaps rightly so).

It would have actually been better if you just left it to your team to do the chatting, that way all our interactions would have been 5 star. But because you are visible, and greeting some guests like long lost relatives and giving the others fake hellos - it becomes annoying. We are obviously not a repeat customer and not important to you.

And to be fair - it is your choice!

I would like to note, we didn't really talk to Henry but he did check us out, and that was all good.

Darren & Fliccy

P.S thanks again to the team and enjoy the rest of your season out there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I were lucky to stay just a couple of nights at this wonderful chalet in Les Gets. It is perfectly located for ski in and ski out.

The owners at the Ferme have got it so right! Everything from the food, drinks, atmosphere, attention to detail and friendly efficient service was amazing. The complimentary ski guiding is just fabulous and gave me confidence on the slopes. I didn't even have to look at the piste map once!

We really enjoyed the food especially the tasting menu which was modern, experimental but without being pretentious. The dining room is a beautiful space with a well stocked bar. The staff were happy to let us try drinks and create cocktails to our exact requests.

There is a spa downstairs where you can enjoy a lovely massage after a hard day on the slopes and it was great that a 30 minute massage was included in our package. We didn't get to try the jacuzzi.

I would say that the bedrooms are on the small side, however they are full of charm and character. We were childfree for these couple of days so this didn't bother us. The lounge area was also on the small side but lovely and cosy. We feel it would not be appropriate to bring our children as our youngest is still a toddler but we are happy to have discovered a real gem of a place for us grown ups to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferme De Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferme De Montagne

Address: 1020 Route de la Turche, 74260 Les Gets, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Gets
#1 Spa Hotel in Les Gets
#1 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
#5 Family Hotel in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ferme De Montagne Hotel Les Gets
Ferme De Montagne Les Gets

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferme De Montagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.