We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Smart Chalet with Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Alouette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Alouette
Save
You added Chalet Alouette to your Saves list
Rte du front de Neige, 74260 Les Gets, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Smart Chalet with Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have stayed in 3 hotels in Les Gets in the past and decided to spend 3 days staying here for a short ski break with my 2 grown up daughters. Very comfortable, nice decor and great service. We were well looked after by our chalet hostess, Frankie who is a good cook and flexible on food if you give her notice. As others have described, the chalet is warm, clean and comfortable. Location is a 10 min walk from the centre and uphill a little into town but we were offered a lift every day and walking back was not an issue. There is even a chair lift a few minutes walk away as well as ski hire shop next door so if you are prepared to ski down a red run then not being bang in the centre is even less of an issue. Was impressed that one of the owners took the time and trouble to come and check that we were happy. Nice easy skiing around Les Gets which is itself a nice village which is why I like to come back here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

we spent a great week in this super chalet. it is deceptive as looks very plain from the outside but inside it was warm and comfortable. We were 2 families with 2 teenage boys each so the accommodation was perfect. Frankie was a superb host and a great cook and we enjoyed gourmet 3 course meals every night and lovely cake on returning from the slopes. The outdoor hot tub was perfect for easing aching muscles. The ski area is immense and suits all standards. a 10 minute walk to the town was perfect for our evening out. The ski hire shop was next door and staff were friendly and efficient. A short walk out of the back of the hire shop to the Perriere lift was fine. the only slight comment was that internet access was erratic so workaholic husbands got frustrated and double beds for adults would have been nice.

Room Tip: all rooms are en suite and have comfy beds and lovely pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a fabulous week at Chalet Alouette. Food is fantastic and at better than most restaurants, can't be faulted. Very warm and cosy with excellent access to slopes and village too. Nothing was too much trouble for Frankie, our host, and she was great (and v patient) with our children!! Would love to return next season :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A superb chalet that is in a great location for the slopes and Les Gets town centre. Situated about 10-15 minutes walk upto centre and main lifts but there is the Perrieres lift across the road. This was my favourite run in the resort. Lauren was available every morning to run you up to centre if required.


Frankie was our host and she done a great job keeping us all fed and watered. She also provided good advice on local restaurants for lunch and for dinner on her night off.

Chalet is very child friendly and has excellent facilities - sauna, hot tub, wifi and free view TV and most importantly an honesty bar!!!


Would definitely recommend Chalet Aloutte and more importantly Reach4theAlps as they do have excellent customer service at the heart of their ethos.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have been skiing with Reach4thealps more than ten times now and have never been disappointed. We stayed at Chalet Alouette in Les Gets last year and loved it so much that we returned this year. Les Gets is a very traditional French village (a 10-15 minute walk away or 5 minutes on a free bus), with plenty to do, including an ice rink which was a big hit with the kids in our group. The chalet itself is very warm and comfortable; the bedrooms are spacious and the outdoor hot tub is just what you need after a hard day's skiing. It's great to be able to ski to and from the chalet (Perriere lift) too. We had friends staying in Chalet Martinet next door and had a brilliant time. Frankie and Lauren, our chalet hosts were brilliant - friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was excellent, as always and the kids eat before the adults which is very civilised. We would highly recommend Chalet Alouette and Reach4thealps to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This December was our second visit to Alouette. We had been with friends and decided to go with family this year. We love this chalet: fully catered with yummy food, the sauna and Jacuzzi, the perfectly-timed cake you find daily when you come back in in the afternoon, the receptiveness and adaptability of the staff, the attention to details, ... As a guest, you also benefit from discounts on rentals in a suite of shops in town. And you can even schedule a massage in the chalet!
- Overall: A very cozy chalet while being super modern and comfortable (with each room having its own bathroom, etc.). The chimney is something else!
- Food: We remember the food fondly. This year even topped what we recalled. The hostess is a particularly passionate cook so we had wonderful meals.
- Skiing experience: The slopes are super close to the chalet so for avid skiers it is a treat. For less experienced skiers, the chalet offers the service of transport to the ski school meeting point in town.
- Location: Although it is not in the heart of Les Gets, but the chalet is strategically located next to a bus stop and the hustle and bustle of town are merely a 10-minute walk away.
- Cleanliness: The chalet is always kept tidy. Nothing to complain.
- The management is always present - albeit subtly.

The service is a 5 star for a great great price. So you can't beat the quality to price value. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

An excellent chalet superbly located when snow is good with the lift right in front of the chalet. A short 10 minute walk from the main village. Hot tub and sauna great for after a days skiing. Food was excellent and Frankie runs the chalet exceptionally efficiently and is very accommodating and helpful. A great chalet to stay in! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Alouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Alouette

Address: Rte du front de Neige, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Alouette has 4 ensuite rooms sleeping upto 10. The open plan dining/sitting room is an exceptionally spacious room with the kitchen and dining area at one end and then lots of comfy sofas surrounding the open log fire at the other end. Floor to ceiling French doors lead out onto the large wooden terrace which overlooks the pistes of Les Perrieres and La Turche, which are floodlit at night.There is a shared outdoor hot tub & sauna in the garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Alouette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.