We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality from the L'Ours Blanc Team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ours Blanc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added L'Ours Blanc to your Saves list
L'Ours Blanc
Les Bourneaux, 74260 Les Gets, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Les Gets
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality from the L'Ours Blanc Team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have just returned home from a weeks stay at L'Ours Blanc and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. From the clean, large room with a beautfiul view of the town and slopes to the plentiful 4 course dinner in the evening - starter, main, cheeses, dessert! Very good quality all washed down with a good quality wine. David and Audrey along with their staff make sure that you are completely comfortable and are kitted out for the slopes inlcuding your ski pass, skis and poles. They also organised our transfer from the airport too! The hotel is a two minute walk to the main street in the town. We slept a straight 10 hours most nights as the area is very quiet. We will be back next year. Thank you all - Joanne and Jamie.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks and had a lovely family holiday. The staff in the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful, especially Vicky and Troy. The hotel has a cosy ambience and must be particularly lovely in the winter as there is a very Christmassy feel to the decor. The food was plentiful and of a good standard, especially the puddings.

Our room (20) was very comfortable and spacious with a double sized balcony. More than two chairs would have been useful though for a quad room. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room had the added bonus of a small fridge which was really useful. It could be a bit noisy at night though especially when window was open as there is a fairly busy road right outside.

The hotel has a nice pool which is a bit chilly so mainly used by the kids whilst we chilled in the jacuzzi or sauna.

We booked this hotel through Alpine Elements and generally found the company to be ok. Our rep James was very helpful and did his best to answer any queries. The white water rafting was a great hit with all of our family, especially the kids aged 12 and 10. The bikes were good quality and there are plenty of cycle paths in the area although many are pretty scary! We had really wanted to do the summer luge but unfortunately we didn't realise that this finished after the first week of our holiday so were very disappointed to turn up and find out that it had closed for the season. The season does end very early in Les Gets with many activities closing at the end of August. We had also wanted wanted to do devil karts and the mud bikes which were advertised in the Alpine Elements brochure, but were nbot actually available. The prices stated in the brochure also tended to be lower than the actual prices charged in the resort. We went to the Les Gets Adventure Park, which was good fun.

Les Gets is a lovely resort and the mountain scenery is just stunning - we'd all love to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 which is largest room and has a double room and interconnecting twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here with Alpine Elements for a week during the Summer. It was clean, cosy and well run. We had breakfast and a 3 course meal in the evening. The breakfast was basic but fine. There is no chef at the hotel for breakfast so although the L'ours Blanc website stated you could have a cooked breakfast another guest asked twice and was told this was not possible. The food at the evening meals was a high standard and nice. The only issues we encountered were if you asked for something specific e.g. well done steak, as the chef did not seem to understand so the requests would not be carried out correctly.

The hotel was clean, friendly and a nice place to stay. The pool area was really good with a sauna and jacuzzi although the pool was really really cold. The rooms were a good size, each with a little balcony where you could sit outside. All the staff were extremely friendly but Vicky in particular who managers all areas of the hotel is fantastic and cannot do enough to help you. There was free wi fi throughout the hotel which worked great the whole time.

The only other points are the L'ours Blanc website mentions dvd players in the bedrooms and this is not the case. Also if you are deciding where to go in Les Gets an are looking at the nearby Hotel Christiania, I would definitely recommend you choose L'Ours Blanc. We went to the Christiania for a pub quiz one night and it looked very poor in comparison. Les Gets is an absolutely lovely place to stay and is nicer and more picturesque than the nearby Morzine (which is good for more shops etc if you want to grab a 10 minute bus there).

So overall a great place, a great stay and a great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hotel was really nice and the rooms where very clean and a good size. The staff where very friendly and although we booked independently the Alpine Elements Rep was very helpful to us and gave us lots of useful information.
The pool was great but the downside was that it was freezing and the sauna and steam room were never turned on so, even though we could switch them on they never got hot enough to use.
Although the breakfast was not cooked there was ample choice and lots of it.
Les Get is the prettiest place I have stayed at in years, the flower displays are spectacular. Every shop bar and restaurant have hanging baskets.
K2 which is a cafe and has inside eating which was lovely at night. The burgers were the best I have had, they even ask how you would like them cooked. The tartifette was also amazing.
I would go back and stay another time, the winter would be lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This family run Chalet Hotel is excellent. Very large comfortable rooms (ours had a decent size balcony and a modern bathroom) The spa is very nice after a long day skiing and included a very nice swimming pool that would not look out of place in a five star hotel. The chalet also boasts a lovely lounge area where you can sit in front of the fire and read a book/watch tv or play pool. Breakfast was very fresh everyday and enjoyable. David the owner is very accomodating and couldnt of been more helpful-nothing was a problem. He was always around to give advice either in the hotel or at the Ski Shop 2000.

I will definately return to L'Ours Blanc as we found David and his staff to be extremely friendly, the hotel was clean and had good facilities.

I would possibly go slightly earlier next year as the snow did tend to get a little slushy towards the afternoon (end of March). Apparently it has been quite warm for March though.

Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

A fabulous family run hotel, with large, clean, quiet rooms, a pool and sauna. The food was good, atmosphere excellent. However, it was the excellent attitude from all the staff that made our holiday so enjoyable. Fantastic value for money, in a spot with good views in a wonderful village.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Highly recommend this wonderful family run chalet hotel. Large comfortable rooms, great spa, excellent friendly service and lovely food. David the owner is clearly dedicated to achieving high standards.

Would definately return for ski season too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Ours Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ours Blanc

Address: Les Bourneaux, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Les Gets
#3 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your L'Ours Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ours Blanc Hotel Les Gets

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ours Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.