We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serre Palas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Deux-Alpes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serre Palas Hotel
Save
You added Serre Palas Hotel to your Saves list
13 place de Venosc, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked a cheap january ski trip and so we weren't expecting luxury however, Hotel Serre Palas is a real gem!!It is close to the Diable lift and to bus stops for skiers - its well within board boots walking distance to the main gondola. The hotel is small, family run and very friendly. The decor is homely and very clean and the showers are fab - strong with loads of hot water. Breakfasts were more than enough and good restaurants were nearby. We had a double en-suite room but family rooms are available and we would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Good central location and perfect for short overnight stay. Great value for money. Facilities and rooms are basic but if you are out skiing or hiking all day, eat in the many bars and restaurants which are within walking distance, all you need is a good bed, warm clean room & hot shower to come home too... And that's exactly what this hotel offers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Stanton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked this hotel as a package through a Neilson ski holiday. On arrival the place looked okay and had everything you needed including a ski room with lockers.
The breakfast was fairly basic and was half served, half buffet style, limited fruit available!
The reception staff were a little abrupt at first but warmed up as the week went on, they were happy to meet all our requests and were pleasant.
The bedroom had a nice big bed, unfortunately with no duvet just sheets and blankets which I don't really like. It had a bath with a shower over, the windows had shutters which meant well for a blackout sleep to get ready for the next day on the slopes.
The room had a safe and plenty of storage.
The hotel bar seemed to be closed when we came in and out and was very small but there is lots in the town so it didn't matter.
A negative was that the ways were very thin and the noise traveled.Positive was that it was very close to the lifts and centre of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is located close to the diable lift which can take you up to mid point of the mountain and from there you can access the gondola all the way to the top. There are also may shops and restaurants surrounding the hotel. I would highly recommend the restaurant directly opposite the hotel which does the best fondue in resort!!

The hotel itself has all the essential elements that you would want in a hotel. The room are spacious and very very clean, plenty of wardrobe space and the bathrooms have baths and showers. The room we were in had 2 windows both of which had beautiful view of both sides of the valley. There is a ski hold room where you have a locker to store you equipment and only you have the key so its very secure.

The lady who runs the hotel is such a lovely woman, nothing is too much trouble. the breakfast at the hotel is typical continental, if you wish for more food there is plenty on offer. Each morning there was a variety of fresh fruit, there are also a range of teas, hot chocolate and coffee.

I would highly recommend this hotel to couples or families. If you are a group of young friends looking for a bit of a party i would not recommend staying here as the bar was not always open and there is a bit of a quiet atmosphere in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 33 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed in Serre Palas for a week and are very pleased with our choice.
The staff is incredibly polite and helpful. The lady even made an effort and somehow found a sledge for our little one!
The hotel itself is kept in an immaculate condition and the breakfast is yummy. Location is great, too. Would definitely recommend this place for a quality stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas and couldn't have asked for more. The owner was very helpful and breakfast was good start to the day.

The location is a 5 minute walk to the nearest lift passing a couple of sandwich shops along the way. The nearest lift is the new Diable chairlift but the lift was not open on time at 9.15am a couple of times because of technical faults so hopefully they can get that solved.

Loads of restaurants and bars locally but none too close to keep you awake.

Would recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed only one night in Les Deux Alpes and needed a good value place to sleep. In this town of excessive prices it was reasonable priced at €80 pn for a double room. At the far end of town, we parked directly outside and then drove back to the main square for skiing, leaving the car by the tourist office by the gondola.
The room was rather 1980s, plain and simple, with a small roof mounted TV. The owner appeared to be an old lady who was quiet, but pleasant enough. This would not be the place to come for a party! The B&B was very clean and we had a good night’s sleep. No evening food or bar. The continental breakfast was included and pretty standard.

Not a salubrious location, but it was clean and served its purpose.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serre Palas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serre Palas Hotel

Address: 13 place de Venosc, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serre Palas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.