We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French family hotel with amazing food and service - not for those seeking bland, characterless experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chalet Mounier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chalet Mounier to your Saves list
Hotel Chalet Mounier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue de la Chapelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“French family hotel with amazing food and service - not for those seeking bland, characterless experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We discovered Chalet Mounier about 15 years ago when we were camping in Venosc and took the cable car up to Les Deux Alpes. The following 2 summers we spent 10 days there with our 3 boys who at the time were aged between 16 and 7 and we have also returned 4 or 5 times during the winter for skiing as a family and more recently as a couple.
The breakfast buffet is always well-supplied with a good selection of cereals, hams, cheeses, eggs and bacon, breads and pastries to set you up for a day of skiing or hiking. For us, a highlight is perusing the dinner menu before heading out for the day and spending the day anticipating exactly what some of the descriptions would turn out to be!
The four course dinner always holds some surprise or another and our boys enjoyed eating a wide range of unfamiliar foods, I do remember chilled melon soup not being a favourite but there was never a problem if we asked for a course to be left out. The waiting staff are all so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. However, if you have children who only eat chips and pizza this is not the hotel for you.
This year my husband and I enjoyed an amazing dinner in their Michelin star restaurant le P'tit Polyte but I would say that the food served in the hotel restaurant is of an equally high and imaginative standard.
I have read in other reviews complaints about the walk to the nearest ski lift which could be about 10 minutes but if you're that unfit - should you be skiing? I've walked similar distances across enormous car parks in other ski resorts.
Also there seem to be complaints about lack of tea-making facilities in the rooms and proximity to children in the restaurant - what is wrong with some people? It's a French family hotel which is comfortable, pretty and in a wonderful location so don't go there if you want the bland experience offered in so many hotels all over the world.
From the cosy bar area to the comfy and charmingly decorated rooms and the fantastic food Chalet Mounier has never failed to delight us. We will definitely be going back in the next couple of years.

Room Tip: Definitely one to the south with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    31
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
62
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The only reason that I would return to Les 2 Alpes would be to stay back at Chalet Mounier. The service from the staff and the quality of food is outstanding. I was there 10 years ago when my children were very young and they bent over backward to make them happy. They sent dinner to the room every night at 6pm for the children. I asked the bartender if it was possible to get a VCR player hooked up to the TV in the conference room next to the bar and the next night it was done. By the time my wife and I sat down, the kids would have dessert and then off to watch a movie while we enjoyed a wonderful dinner. Much like an Austrian hotel experience....the staff is there for you. Pool is great, location is quiet but only 5 minute walk to gondola. Little tough getting to ski school early. For people that have small children, I will say the kindergarden near the ski school is the worst I have ever experienced. My 2 year old daughter was crying so they put her in her ski cloths and left her outside by herself and had zero remorse for doing it. Ski school on the other hand was awesome . My son loved his female instructor, she was so nice and caring.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is a typical chalet style hotel embellished with carved hearts and flowers. It is beautifully appointed and completely comfortable with lovely views of the mountains (on the back side of the hotel). What sets it apart is its extraordianry service--literally every person in the hotel went way above and beyond in making our stay fantastic--from the front desk, to the man who drove us to the slopes every day, to the housekeeping staff and breakfast waiters. I highly recommend this hotel if you are skiing in Les Deux alpes.

Room Tip: back of the hotel for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel conforms to the chocolate box image of what a ski hotel should look like and it has remarkably high standards, particularly the dinner they serve. The dinners are excellent and at times truly unique. All wine recommendations were a perfect match to the food. It was bliss having the swimming pool, steam room and jacuzzi at the end of the day. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The slight negatives are the size of the standard rooms - very small but we looked into the suites and they are very comfortable. I think the standard of the breakfast food could be raised a bit.

Room Tip: Go for the larger suites, much more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Booked the ski holiday through Crystal and treated ourselves to a bit of luxury as we were celebrating an anniversary.
Transfer:
Crystal managed to screw up the short transfer from Grenoble airport to the hotel; how can it possibly take THREE coaches for what should be a 1 & 1/2 hour transfer? Rude and aggressive Crystal staff along with unnecessary delays made for a poor start....until we checked in to the Hotel Chalet Mounier.
The Welcome:
A warm and genuine welcome from the manageress (we think) who quickly escorted us to the room. Our luggage was delivered shorty after.
First Impressions:
Quality. All the fixtures,fittings, furniture and decorations of the hotel are of top quality and well presented. Service very professional.
The Room:
A first floor room overlooking the forest and mountains beyond. Very warm even without the radiator turned on; a little too warm at night so we slept with the balcony door open. A large comfortable bed with a choice of pillows. Bathroom was small but finished to a high standard with good quality taps/shower etc. I notice things like the quality of the tiles, grouting and waterproof seals. Many chain hotels look like a monkey was let loose with a tin of putty in the bathroom but this hotel is finished with care. Typical shower-over-bath. The bath was quite small and narrow but me and Mrs both squeezed in. Others have mentioned that there is a coffee machine but no tea facility in the room. There was no milk with the coffee so we did not bother with it. The room was a bit noisy in the morning with heavy shoes on the floor above otherwise peaceful.
Buffet Breakfast:
Cooked food was limited to smoked bacon and scrambled or boiled egg every day. A great choice of fruit salads, cold meats, cheeses, bread, cake, jams etc etc. All well presented and topped up. Tea was achieved by asking for hot water, adding a tea bag and pouring milk into a glass to add to the tea. 1 day old English newspaper was available. A table 'bin' would have helped keep things tidy.
The Ski Lockers:
Accessed through the hotel. Plenty of room and a secure locker per room. Chairs and benches to facilitate the chore of putting ski boots on. Thankfully not too hot in full ski gear.
Location to Lifts:
Nearest lifts were about a 5 minute walk; which does not sound much when sitting reading TripAdvisor from the comfort of your chair but in ski boots with the ski binding digging in your shoulder it's just a little more than we would have liked every morning and afternoon. Yes we have walked much further in the past and caught buses to the slopes but as we get older; convenience is taking a higher priority.
Dinner:
We were located a table next to the main thoroughfare of the hotel restaurant. This meant that there was a 'busy' feeling of staff and guests passing through; it never felt cosy or romantic. We asked to be moved and were told we could not. It was not bad; just not ideal so we did not kick up a fuss. Unfortunately for us; it was the French school holidays. This meant there was a high proportion of French families with children. Most were impeccably behaved; some were not. Small noisy children running through the restaurant 'playing' with table lamps, chairs etc did not create the intimate atmosphere we were hoping for. We recommended on check-out that the hotel considers separating families from couples. If you are looking for a child/family friendly hotel then this is it. The staff were extremely accommodating for families. They even brought (noisy) pot lids from the kitchen for the babies to play with and we witnessed one lazy mother asking the restaurant serving staff to take their badly behaved boy to the toilet.
Service was excellent. As others have reported the fixed menu (half board) 4 courses appears like a conveyor belt unless you ask the staff to give you a break in between. Each course is explained as it is presented to you although to be honest we did not always understand what was being said.
The Food & Drink:
As reported, the food comes from the same kitchen as the Michelin 1 star rated Le P'tit Polyte next door. If you like French food then you will be in gastronomic heaven. All the food was fresh and cooked to perfection. French food is not our favourite so it would not be fair to comment on the flavours but we could certainly appreciate the care and skill that went into each course. Stand-out dishes included the smoked salmon starter and the crispy rabbit. Desserts were again of a very high standard.
We drank tap water most nights which is provided in a carafe without a hint of water-snobbery experienced in other high class restaurants. The wine 'list' is carried to your table by a waiter bucking under it's weight. We had never seen such a huge choice of wines and we scanned the telephone directory sized tome for any that we recognised. During this scanning we marvelled at the price range that started from about 50Euro up to 1500 Euro! We settled for the recommend dry white which was excellent. Considering the price of wine at the local Spa we found the hotel prices a little expensive.
The Bar:
We had a couple of drinks in the bar before dinner and we were served by very friendly, professionally staff. Drinks are presented with bread sticks, olives and mini 'party' sausages. One night there was musical entertainment from a singer/guitar player. This pleasant background music drifted into the restaurant only to be upstaged by the baby playing with a musical toy on the next table.
The Pool and Spa:
Usually these spa areas can be a 'tack-on' to give the hotel an extra star. Not so at this hotel. Everything about the hydro-pool, steam-room, Jacuzzi and sauna was top class. The pool has water jets to swim against or massage. The Jacuzzi has massaging jets. The sauna is located in its own cabin just outside the pool area and again was of excellent quality. All were better and cleaner than we have experienced at many other specialist spa hotels and leisure facilities. There was also a small gym with top of the range CV equipment, Power Plate and a multi gym machine.
Would we go back?
No; but you should. If the hotel was in a better ski resort it would be a regular destination for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Chalet Mounier is a fabulous Hotel at the quieter end of Les Deux Alpes. When we arrived we only had a shower in the bathroom and wanted a room with a bath, We asked at reception but the hotel was full and they didn't have any bedrooms with baths left. However, the next day, the hotel staff moved all of our belongings to a room with a bath in the bathroom, and a balcony at no extra cost. The staff are extremely helpful and polite and nothing is too much trouble. A courtesy bus is available on request to the various runs in the middle of town. The food is fantastic but the one comment I would make is that the 4 courses at dinner come too quickly. We had to ask each evening if we could wait for 10 minutes between courses, otherwise the whole meal, as it was rich food, became a bit too much.
The only other critisism I would make is that, as the hotel is run by french people, and predominantly used by french people, the only drinks available in the bedrooms were espresso coffee, without milk to be drunk in small espresso cups. If you don't like espresso coffee (for which there is a charge of 1.10 euros per coffee pod!!), then its hard luck as there are no other facilities to make a hot drink.in your bedroom. I would have liked a kettle, tea bags/instant codffee/hot chocolate so that we could have made a drink when we came off the slopes. Bearing in mind that there are also a number of english people staying at the hotel, I think this addition to the service would be greatly appreciated by the english guests.
If you visit this hotel, walk around the back and get on the cable car which travels down (as opposed to up the mountain) into the village. A great journey with some fascinating and breathtaking scenery.
Chalet Mounier is a truly great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

A first class hotel with great service and food. I fully recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chalet Mounier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Mounier

Address: 2 Rue de la Chapelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chalet Mounier 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surplombant l'Alpe de Venosc, à 150 mètres du téléphérique du Diable, le Chalet Mounier dispose d'une piscine couverte et d'un Spa.Chaque chambre dispose d'une télévision satellite à écran plat, d'une salle de bains avec toilettes séparées, peignoir et pantoufles.Une grande variété de cocktails vous seront servis au bar et le restaurant vous propose une cuisine gastronomique et 800 vins. L'hôtel possède également un salon avec cheminée, un jardin et une terrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chalet Mounier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chalet Mounier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.