We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-think half-board for children” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M to your Saves list
Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Promenade des Ecrins | Le Village, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    126
    55
    23
    10
See reviews for
135
67
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We drove from Lyon airport and spent 6 nights here in Feb 2013 in a (spacious) Superior room with a fab view.

Location - Really good as only a 3 min walk to the nearest ski lift. Definitely ski in but not ski out.

Reception - Very helpful and polite and all spoke very good english. They were keen to resolve issues (and we had a couple) ...

Our room - We were initially put in a room on a low floor (not a great view) but after a quick visit to reception we were moved to a room on a higher floor.

The room itself is massive with 4 single beds, a large bathroom (big fluffy bath towels) with a shower over the bath although the water pressure isnt that good.

We had a couple of issues with this room the first being that the shower didn't work properly which was eventually fixed after speaking with reception 3 times and the second was that there was a horrible smell in the bathroom that in spite of many requests for service was still not resolved by the time we left the hotel.

As a result of these issues, they sent us a bottle of wine to our room to apologise - an unexpected but appreciated gesture.

Bar - Loads of comfortable seating space with extensive range of drinks and great staff to serve them. The drinks prices are not cheap though.

Food - Dinner is served as an extensive buffet and includes a kids meal section, a soup station, a salad, seafood and dried meats bar, raclette, about 3/4 entrees plus 2/3 vegetable dishes and then if thats not enough there is a massive dessert bar plus a cheese board and fresh fruits to finish. The breakfast buffet is no less an amazing fare with an extensive array of hot and cold goodies.

Possibly whats sets this hotel sets itself apart is its very accommodating and friendly head chef, Marius. As vegetarians, Marius went out of his way to suggest and make us the most amazing food. One word of caution is that Marius doesn't 'do' small portions but does make an amazing fondue and gnocchi !

Facilities - Free wifi with great all over hotel coverage as well as a free covered car park.

Would I stay here again & recommend this hotel - YES.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor for a better view of the mountain and village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest, Good Morning,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in the Mercure hotel Les Deux Alpes 1800.

Be ensured that your comments will be pass on all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better. In fact, we try to ensure about the guest satisfaction.

We would like to thank you for the congratulations regarding the buffet.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!

Kind regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I booked this hotel on the internet and entered that I wanted accomodation for 2 adults and 3 children and was given a price for the superior suite which sleeps 5. I booked and paid for this but was sent an e-mail 2 days later to say that the children would be additional charge of approx £300 as they were not included on the original quote (despite it being a room for 5 and I had originally stated it was for 3 children as well). We had no choice but to go ahead as we had already paid for the room and it was on a non-refundable deal.
Otherwise it was reasonable accomodation although right at one end of the town and uphill with only 1 ski lift nearby. All the others and most restaurants etc were a bit of a walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our hotel.

We inform you that the price on Internet does not include the extra fees for the children, beacuse the price depends of the age of the chidren. It is That why, we remind you by e-mail the child policy where you can finf it direclty one our website.

Otherwise, We were pleased, you really enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Mercure les Deux Alpes 1800.

Best regards,

Hotel Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Location of hotel is great, very close to ski lift and possible to ski back to hotel at end of day. Hotel itself is somewhat outdated, Price of drinks in bar / restaurant is high. Breakfast is ok, but during our 6 day stay the offer in last days was less than in first days (eg fruit salad dissapeared). Free WiFi in whole hotel is great.
Overall it scores average for us.
Invoice was first set up incorrect, about 70 eurois higher than agreed upfront. Be sure to check this.

Room Tip: Ensure no room next to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Google Translation
Cher voyageur,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de commenter votre séjour à l'Hôtel MERCURE Les Deux Alpes 1800.

Nous sommes ravis de constater que vous avez été satisfaits par de nombreux aspects de votre séjour.

Nous avons également pris connaissance de vos remarques qui ont retenues toute notre attention et nous les avons transmis à tous les services concernés, nottament concernant le rapport qualité/prix.

Dans l'attente de vous accueillir très prochainement dans notre établissement.

Recevez nos sincères salutations.


Hôtel Mercure Les Deux Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Mercure Les Deux Alpes is a comfortable hotel. While the furnishings and fittings are a little dated, the hotel itself is clean, the rooms relatively spacious and staff very friendly. The hotel is conveniently located close to a ski-hire shop and the Village Ski-lift. Free Wifi in the rooms is a bonus.

Hotel does not have a shuttle transport service, and it is located up on the hill about a 10 minute walk from the village. Take this into account if you arrive late in the evening after the free town shuttle service is no longer operational.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Google Translation
Cher voyageur, Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part vos commentaires concernant votre séjour à l'Hôtel MERCURE Les Deux Alpes 1800.

Nous sommes ravis de constater que vous avez été satisfaits par de nombreux aspects de votre séjour.

Malheureusement, nous ne sommes pas responsable des horaires de la navette gratuite mise en place par la station.

Soyez certain que votre commentaire est une source de motivation pour notre personnel afin de mieux répondre à vos attentes.

Dans l'attente de vous accueillir très prochainement dans notre établissement.

Recevez nos sincères salutations.

Hotel Mercure les Deux Alpes 1800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Staff was friendly.
Location is perfect (near a ski lift).
Rooms need renovation especially the bathroom (bathtub was horrible !).
Quality of the matress is comparable to a budget hotel.
The Bar is excellent and features an open cheminee. It's was our faforite relaxing place with great staff.

We did not appreciate that one front desk member tried to push us to rent skis with the hotel partner. they claim it's cheaper and we benefit the hotel discount. But after a quick comparison we organised the rental ourself and saved 20%.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment, regarding your stay at the Mercure hotel Les Deux Alpes 1800.

We are very pleased to read that you spend a wonderful stay. We try to improve the service day by day and you comment is a motivation source.

We hope to welcome you next season and that you will have the same pleasure.

Yours Sincerely,

HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M

Address: 1 Promenade des Ecrins | Le Village, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 is set at the top of the Deux Alpes resort and offers views over the Venosc valley, near the commercial area with bars, restaurants and shops. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout. Rooms feature a private bathroom with bathtub or shower and hairdryer. A satellite TV, free Wi-Fi and a safe are also provided. Superior rooms also have a balcony. A wide-range of cuisine, including themed buffets, is available at the hotel's restaurant, Les Ecrins. Picnic baskets can be arranged at reception. Guests can enjoy crepes and mulled wine in the bar, Le K2, while admiring the view from the terrace. In the summer, you can relax on the deck chairs provided. The resort's exceptionally high glacier allows guests to ski even in the summer. Other activities offered includes tobogganing, paragliding and quad biking. The swimming pool below our hotel can welcome you after an activity day. This is a partnership with Carilis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3m Hotel Les Deux-Alpes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3M, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.