We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The luxury of simplicity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chalet Alpage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Clusaz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Chalet Alpage
Save
You added Hotel Chalet Alpage to your Saves list
1872, route du Col de la Croix-Fry | Les Prises, 74220 La Clusaz, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in La Clusaz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“The luxury of simplicity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I have spent one week in Chalet Alpage this summer.
This is one of the most enjoyable hotels I have seen, and I have already seen many !
The location, 5 minutes driving from La Clusaz, is fantastic : the views from the room are not obstructed by skilifts - as it happens too often in the Alps - and beautiful.
Cosy rooms in "chalet style", decorated with excellent taste; small but well fitted bathroom.
The owner-manager, Thierry, is always available for information or kind assistance.
There are only 9 rooms plus one small chalet; this makes the atmosphere of the place like your home.
Excellent simple food in half board, and good breakfast.
There is a farm just on the opposite side where you can buy reblochon or tomme cheese; you hear the music of the cows' bells in the morning and in the evening : a delightful concert.
The place is incredibly quiet, and close to the start of many great walks; by the way these are generally well signposted, this is a great change from the Megeve surroundings.
The town of La Clusaz is nothing special, but who needs a town when you have such a great place to stay ?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    14
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
65
67
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed here in February this year and were not disappointed. It felt like we got two holidays for the price of one - a great skiing trip as well as a really relaxing getaway. Chalet Alpage is a cosy Alpine lodge, with every possible convenience, but is completely unpretentious and relaxed at the same time. Our room was small but really cosy and tastefully decorated. The rustic atmosphere wasn't tainted by incongruous modern conveniences and yet every modern convenience was on offer, but in a nice subtle way. For example the bedrooms - new shower room and toilet, wash-hand basin perched on a stand, modern shower, flat screen tv (which I could have done without) hung unobtrusively on a wall, bathrobes, excellently glazed double doors onto a balcony without a hint of a draft and modern recessed lighting that had a variety of settings. We started out on a room only basis but changed to half-board after discovering a) the cost of a taxi from the village is Eur18 b) the food in the restaurant is great. The breakfast each morning is generous, healthy and filling. The evening meal is usually five courses and tastes like home cooking, again it's unfussy and unpretentious in keeping with the general ambience in the hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed the meals each evening, really nutritious, not high cuisine, but nice and local - as if you have a local Savoyarde food enthusiast friend cooking for you. We preceded each meal with an aperitif at the small bar.
Location-wise this hotel is a bit out of town which didn't bother us, you could ski straight from the hotel and if not you need to either drive or catch one of the infrequent and meandering buses into La Clusaz.
The hot tub and sauna were great for weary bodies after a day of skiing! There's also a pool which we didn't try out.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, my only problem is that I know that no matter where I go on a ski holiday after this, I would have to be very lucky to find somewhere that ticks all the boxes as well as Chalet Alpage/La Clusaz does - food, accommodation, ambience, ski ...
My only criticism would be that the beds are slightly dated, but they are by no means uncomfortable, and are happily a world away from previous French accommodation experiences. Party animals might find it a bit quiet though. Like the rest of La Clusaz, Alpage is frequented mainly by French people which added to the authenticity. If your French is limited to "ou est le Centre de George Pompidou?" don't worry, the convivial owner willingly speaks good English (and when necessary corrects your French grammar). All in all a really perfect retreat, go for it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

We had a fantastic week at Alpage, thanks to owner Thierry and rest of the team. It's a lovely small chalet right under a t-bar lift providing easy access to blue and green slopes on the Etale part of La Clusaz resort.

The hotel's ski room, sauna, covered pool and jacuzzi, as well as reliably delicious and abundant breakfast and 3-course dinner (plus great fresh snow) made for a picture perfect Settimana Bianca!

The week we were there (Jan 4) definitely started off a bit family-friendly - lots of kids at dinner, in sauna, etc. But seemed to shift more towards couples as schools started up again after winter holidays.

Our room (9) had a great balcony with view toward Clusaz town and the mountains, but being top floor, had slanted ceilings so we couldn't stand in shower. Rooms 4,5,6 have the same view, but on first floor with same view from balcony.

Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We spent our second Christmas year with our two young children and my parents.This hotel continues to improve with newly upgraded rooms added this time.We loved it last year and were not disappointed this year either. The location allows us to ski directly into the village from the hotel and back home down home via the beauregard lift. There is a free bus service from the hotel entrance to the village.Along with the outdoor jacuzzi ,enclosed swimming pool and sauna there is plenty of areas to relax when finished with the days skiing.Food is excellent and having been to Zermatt,Val d'Isere and many others resorts this is a wonderful resort and a super hotel

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Each year we go to Ischgl, St Anton or somewhere similiar for a week of apres ski chaos. But we also try pick a smaller venue for a two-day-off-work-four-days-boarding warm-up, less focus on the apres ski and more on the slopes and good food.
Chalet Alpage was perfect, so perfect we have already booked in for 2010. We arrived late due to the arrival time in Geneva but Thierry kept some food for us. In the morning we picked up lift passes across the road and headed off exploring. La Clusaz isn't a large resort but big enough and with the ability to head down a near private mountain to the Chalet Alpage backdoor it fit the bill perfectly.

The rooms are clean and neat, the living space is perfect for sitting back for a chat in front of a full fire and the hot tub is perfectly placed for a view over the mountains. The evening meals were stunning from way to go, not too rich and far more varied than I expected.

La Clusaz is a perfect location for a short break, and the Chalet Alpage is the ideal location for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Our family stayed with Thierry again this year in Alpage and we experienced the same excellent quality of food and hospitality this year. The rooms we stayed in had been tastefully refurburbished and very comfortable. The pool was also warmer. Great trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, London, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Hotel Chalet Alpage was everything we'd hoped it would be - plus some more.

After reading reviews here we booked to stay directly with the owner and resident manager, Thierry. Helpful and simple booking.

A lovely small ski lodge type hotel, postioned very nicely just outside La Clusaz - lots of parking, right by the ski busstop and in a great location with a nice view. We were welcomed even though we arrived late for dinner and food and tables laid out for us even though it would have been easy to say 'too late to eat'. A good start.

The hotel is decorated with an amazing array of ski antiques from Thierry's time as a dealer. Really interesting stuff and much better than the usual fake hotel decoration.

Rooms were small but nicely done; warm, great views (room 4) and just fine for a 2 + 1 family. The hotel itself was nicely laid out and was small enough to make you feel special but large enough that people had enough space to not be on top of each other. Specifc things that are worth pointing out :

> TV/DVD area for kids to watch a movie on the 50" widescreen without disturbing other guests - Thierry would often be seen offering the latest movies to the children - nice touch
> Bar / den - for a good card game in front of roaring fire
> Boot room with warmers - but security an issue here and due to no room numbering of ski racks and boot warmers and the use by most guests of the same ski rental shop - we had situations where people accidentally took the wrong ski's / boots / poles and this caused problems. Be sure to lock up or label your stuff carefully if you rent.
> Hot-Tub - lovely but a bit dirty; this is probably beacuse it was last week in the season - and don't forget to put the cover back on
> Sauna - brand new, very nice - just be sure not to leave any towels on the floor - again, the great man is watching.
> TV in room - no proper cable channels - but Thierry says they are planning to do this, this year.
> Pool - fantastic, heated and large - a real plus.
> Internet - could be much better - slow (no charge) wifi - but needs improving.
> Restaurant - we had lovely food varied every night - true chalet style - all managed and served by the wonderful and charismatic (and pretty) Tara who was the embodiment of professional at all times. She was right on top of everything, for example kids (and even us adults) were made to say 'Please' and 'Thank-you' when they should - its like having a school teacher on hand - and to behave they way they should. Fantastic - hope she's there when we return next year.

It worth mentioning the wonderful character that Thierry brings to the place; ist not without its issues - but overall he's a great addition. Would we go back - for sure. Its a great place and Thierry's reinvests a lot of time, money and himself in his place and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chalet Alpage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Alpage

Address: 1872, route du Col de la Croix-Fry | Les Prises, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Clusaz
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Clusaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect haven for enjoying the outdoors! Winter or summer, this home from home boutique-style hotel offers a perfect haven for all outdoor mountain activities. A traditional yet modern décor combined with fantastic food, friendly service and a touch of luxury will make your stay here unforgettable.The chalet, a modernised Savoyard farmhouse, is ideally situated so that you can take advantage of the magnificent Alpine views over the surrounding Aravis mountains, as well as immediate access to the pistes and trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Alpage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chalet Alpage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.