We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive two star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beaulieu Hotel

Beaulieu Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beaulieu Hotel to your Saves list
Beaulieu Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 ou 88 chemin des Eboulis, 74220 La Clusaz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in La Clusaz
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive two star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Clean, comforatable but some way out of the village and the walk back up the hill from the ski lift at the end of a day is a bit strenuous. Quite expensive for what it offers - decent breakfast but decidedly average restaurant. Most staff friendly, but the older receptionist very offhand, and reception doesn't open up until 8.30 am so don't try to pay your bill early in the morning. Also rooms weren't cleaned until late afternoon after our return from the slopes, and the towels weren't changed all week. Good bathrooms and nice warm room when it was cold outside. Parking outside a nightmare, or as the receptionist said, une guerre! Big advantage is the opportunity to use the swimmimng pool in the next door, sister hotel. If you can afford it, stay there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, and the front facing rooms are worth the bit of extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Out of the main village so nice and quiet. 2 star but we rated it as 3 as the accommodation was very good. Staff were very helpful and the madame was interested to hear our view on the breakfasts. They were good. Plenty of meats, cereals, eggs, fruit and fruit salad, jams etc. the bread was particularly good. The bar area was very pleasant and the prices not silly. Roomy foyer. Our room was a family room for two of us at the back recently updated I think. Very nice bathroom, small but modern. Good walk in shower. Separate loo. Bunk beds for 2 (unused) and 2 comfortable single beds. Pine clad walls. Didn't eat here in the evening but the menu looked fine. Could have tried the swimming pool next door at the Carlina but didn't get there. Very well placed for most restaurants. We found some steps nearly opposite the end of the road which take you down to the main street (Route des Grandes Alpes). Very easy.
Very important - don't bring your skis up here. Lodge them at La Schuss or Ski 3000 ski shops which are both down at the bottom near the gondola lifts. We hired our skis from La Schuss (suggested by a fellow hotel guest) and we were very happy. Friendly. English spoken if you need it. No extra charge for storage and it was inside the shop so there were no cold boots in the morning. It was easy to walk up to the hotel when you had your apres ski boots on but I wouldn't have liked to do the trip in my ski boots.

Room Tip: Even the rooms at the back are fine. If you want the view go for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Just enjoyed four days at the Beaulieu. It was clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent. Plenty of choice. The staff were helpful and drinks in the bar were reasonably priced. Although it is a few minutes walk uphill from the slopes, it is centrally located for meals out, and as it is higher up has views of the mountain. We were able to leave luggage in a secure room on our last day. We were able to leave skis and boots at Le Schuss right on the piste. Our room was north facing, no view, but not overlooked by other buildings and very quiet. Not a problem. Worth more than two stars. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the south side if a view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here with a large group of colleagues and everybody was quite happy. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. The food was great and we had lunch at the hotel on several occasions. The breakfasts were really good as well with bolied eggs, hams, several kinds of tea etc. I loved the smaller versions of croissants and pain au chocolat. Delicious!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and spoke great English.
The hotel is just a 5 min walk away from the city centre which is convenient.
The only negative thing I noticed is that the walls between the rooms seem rather thin so you might want to bring earplugs if you're easily disturbed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at Beaulieu for a week on our skiing vacation. The location is perfect, and I can recomment to pay a little extra for having your room heading to the south. The view is great and you can enjoy some sun if your lucky on the balcony. The rooms are quite small, but enough and the service is helpful. If you are here for skiing I can recommend you to hire the gears in one of the shops next to the lifts. They will store the skis and boots overnight, and you can comfortably walk in your own shoes. What a relief!

Room Tip: Add some extra for a room on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just home from another great stay at this hotel. Within 5 mins waling distance from the village, and arrangement with a shop in the village to leave the skis there means saving a painful walk in ski shoes.
Rooms are very clean, and great attention to detail always when we were out meant we always came home to a fully refreshed room.
Breakfast was great, boiled eggs, who could ask for more?? As it was self service, we set ourselves up for the day, energy-wise.
Bar, ok, we had to ring the bell at reception sometimes, but the staff were always prompt, polite, and happy to serve us.
Parking, with a rental, we were a little scared to park in the carpark, but, in fact, it was no problem at all.
Finally, the staff, everyone was wonderful, from check in, to check out. I might also add that, even in the face of one "out of control" customer, they still managed to keep a cool head, and explain things. i don't exactly know what happened to said customer, but I will say, understanding French and English, with all respect, i have no idea what the man's problem was, as we had none, but the staff did all they could to explain to the man his possibilities, and he seemed to choose otherwise.
apart from that, in the restaurant, bar, reception, All the staff we encountered were nothing less than wonderful.

Will definitely be back this time next year.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I booked this on the spare of the moment and with minimal research for a skiing weekend with friends. We stayed for three nights and found it a good choice. It is situated about a 10/15 minute walk uphill from the village centre and the main lifts which would be a problem if carrying skis but fortunately we were able to leave our gear at the ski shop in town and saunter back in snow boots. There is a free ski bus stop about 30 metres away if you prefer not to walk.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the rooms warm and comfortable. We chose the less expensive rear facing rooms which were fine unless staring out of the window a lot is important to you. The beds were great and the showers hot and powerful. We did experience some noise from late night revellers but it wasn't a major problem and the receptionist apologised for it without prompting.

The breakfast (we were on B&B) was first class. A great selection and excellent coffee. We didn't regret not taking half board as there was a great choice of Savoyard restaurants within a five minute walk. We found three crackers for our evening meals.

I would happily recommend the Beaulieu and indeed La Clusaz for a short break and incidentally it is a good choice for non-skiers too with a swimming pool, ice rink, cinema, good shops and top notch dining all nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaulieu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaulieu Hotel

Address: 138 ou 88 chemin des Eboulis, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Clusaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaulieu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beaulieu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaulieu Hotel La Clusaz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaulieu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.