We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esprit Montagne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Esprit Montagne to your Saves list
Hotel Esprit Montagne
La Panthiaz, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I never before wrote a review, but this place is so terrible, that I feel badly the urge this time. We stayed here with a group. The owner does'nt know anything about hospitality or hotelerie. Most of our groupmembers had a reasonable room, but ours was awful. We had no balcony, the bathroom had never been renovated since 1960. It leaked and he bathroomdoor could not open completely because the washbasin stood in the way. Therefore they just cut a piece out of the door. And it was too narrow to walk around the bed.

Very bad food (all the food seemed mashed!). We were reluctant to go for diner. There is a very bad accoustic in the dining room. Which resulted in being dead-tired after diner because of the noise. You could hardly hear the people at the same table. Thank god that the embiance in our group was fine, because in the hotel there was a total lack of embiance.

We sat at tables for eight. Back to back, There was no space to serve properly. So we had to pass everything; even reasonably heavy pots. It was more a youthhostal than a hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night whilst trekking through the area on a long distant route.Very good value small hotel and welcoming and helpful. The dinner was superb and very superior. Rooms were clean and comfortable and for active guests ideal. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel especially when the dinner is such a good standard.
The staff had excellent command of European languages which made life easy!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a very warm welcome and a full tour of the hotel. I guess it can be described as a budget hotel but the food was super and the staff friendly. Twin rooms are compact but clean and great views. Great spaces to relax in and staff very accommodating.

The food is very 'master chef' which we enjoy but interestingly the French didn't appreciate. Ski lift is a few minutes walk away and chatel resorts ten minutes by car but buses are regular.

Room Tip: Go for the evening meal. There are other hotel restaurants and a friendly pizza joint in the centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Our 3 night stay in the mountains was made even more enjoyable thanks to Alke and his team. From the warm welcome on arrival, comfortable rooms to the fantastic food (their three course dinner with extras is a must). Would definatley recommend to fellow Brits and all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bormes-Les-Mimosas, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This hotel was taken over by a young Dutch couple, Anneke and Alke, who have done a great job in bringing it back to life. The bedrooms have been tastefully refurbished with very comfortable bedding. There is a good sized dining room and lounge area. In the basement there is a large games room with a pool table.
Anneke and Alke have a lot of hotel management experience between them and are great hosts. As you would expect they speak fluent English, French, German and of course Dutch.
The food was excellent, try the cheese fondue!!!
We were there in September so we were unable to rate the hotel as a ski destination but it is located close to lifts and access to parking looks easy even with snow on the ground.
Alke is a mountaineer and can arrange alpine activities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in York, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for two nights during the Tour de France, to watch the stage finishing at Morzine. The owners, Alke & Anneke, were superb - very helpful with all our requests, and so friendly. The rooms are lovely, cosy duvets, wooden floors, and incredible views. The best part was probably the dinner - 3 courses for 20euro, and worth much more - probably the best meal we've ever had in France!

Will hopefully stay here again very soon - it is fantastic

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esprit Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esprit Montagne

Address: La Panthiaz, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a perfect base for winter sports enthusiasts. Whether you’re into skiing, snowboarding, hiking or cross country skiing in the world famous ski area Les Portes du Soleil. IN summer about 650 km of hiking trails await here for you. High peaks, lovely valleys and breathtaking meadows where the Abondance cows stroll with large bells around their necks. Everything is possible here. For the `less sportive´ guests, Esprit Montagne hotel is also a great place to stay. In the Vallée d'Abondance, "the Valley of Abundance", you can enjoy the French gastronomy, AOC cheeses and the pearls of the Alps: its wines. Ancient abbeys, churches and museums in the Valley reveal their secrets, and then the medieval castles and villages on Lake Geneva allow you a very different view of the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Esprit Montagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esprit Montagne France/Haute-Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esprit Montagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.