We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Club Med L'Alpe d'Huez” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne to your Saves list
Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Club Med L'Alpe d'Huez”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Superb location with excellent access to lifts. The hotel is very good with excellent activities for kids and adults. Everyday there was a different performance on show which was fun to watch. The service is very good however, there has been a bit of confusion upon our arrival as we were give empty envelopes without ski passes and when we tried to ask about them an assistant manager insisted that we must have them and that we may not be very honest about it! I thought that was quite rude. However, most of the staff are great and are very friendly.
The hotel needs modernisation but I have to say that our room was small but cosy and I did not mind that I had to climb over my suitcase from time to time.
The food selection was very good with different "themes" every night.
Overall, its a great place that has easy access to piste and relaxing atmosphere. I can recommend this hotel and most certainly will go back there sometime in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    170
    64
    38
    12
See reviews for
194
54
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, Esse
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just arrived back today from club med, la sarenne, and what a brilliant time we had there.

Firstly the greeting was very lively, and we got to our rooms swiftly, they are on the small side, with a tiny little shower room that looks like it belongs in a caravan, but who wants to stay in their room any way!

The restaurant was brilliant very clean and efficient, lots and lots of choices to eat, wine at the table and beer available. Every night was a different theme and if you didn't want that then you have salads, burgers, pizza, pasta etc, this week I've had paella, lamb, chicken, fondue, fish, beef all superbly cooked with lots of fresh vegetables and a wide variety of potatoes and rice. We even had oysters one evening!

Desserts! WOW! No more needs to be said.

Ski school was very good ranging for all capabilities. My only criticism is that beginners have to get on a bus to the nursery slope and we had chose the hotel for being ski to door. Also the boot room was well organised but maybe if the groups were staggered by maybe 10-15 mins it would have been less chaotic with everyone trying to get ready for 9.30.

Excellent mini club for the kids in our party and they loved the ski lessons and both were very good by the end of the week.

The entertainment at night was a bit hit and miss, sometimes it was laughably bad others it was ok.

Drinks at the bar were ok, smallish but not too bad, the cola was a bit funny tasting or maybe it was the vodka!

Hot chocolate and vin chaud ready when you came back from skiing lunchtime and then cocktails in the afternoon which helped wash down the delicious cakes and hor dorves for 4.30 pm.

Would recommend this hotel and club med holiday for families, couples, groups and even singles as every one was catered for. It has a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

A bit dated but clean and no problems, parking is free, sauna, pool, and gym are also there and free. Rooms are decent size. Food is 1 star below the 4 star ClubMeds that we've been to, but still great. Some things were undercooked and others were overcooked.....I was worried that 3 star would be much worse then 4, but in reality slight change in food is the only difference here. We were told that 3 star Les2Alpes resort is not as good though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

this is the very first time I have submitted a review after one day with 6 days to go.
The hotel is advertised as no smoking and yet there is an ash tray in every room. After complaining about the smelly room we were offered a room even smellier.They offered to send a maid up to spray it and open the window.
I did speak to the manager who fobbed me off to the deputy.
Finally I took down the stinking curtains tonight as they were the main offender.
I was told that the ashtrays are there because otherwise clients stub the cigarettes out on the furniture! Lovely food which is why it got one star but I now dread to go back to my room!
Club Med ? never again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Short 4 day stay for us which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Hotel was basic and in need of refurbishment, but this did not detract from the fact that the staff were wonderful, and the food quite superb.
Transfer from Grenoble airport was straight forward with meet and great at the airport and a 1 1/2 hour trip by mini cab to resort.
Check-in very straight forward, with room being small & comfortable, if basic. Mattress was good.

The staff made the place, brilliant!

We didn't book our skis through hotel (but we should have for the convenience).
Ski school (inclusive for the whole day) was certainly worth it. Christian B (our instructor who was more of a guide than an instructor, which we preferred) was brilliant. You know the snow is good when the instructor is cheering the loudest on the powder runs.

Overall, excellent place to stay, combined with the brilliant service & food, fantastic pistes, snow and guides, we only wish we'd booked for longer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a wonderful family ski vacation at this hotel. One of its biggest pluses is the mini-club - they keep your kids busy and entertained (with both ski lessons and other activities) from 8:30 to 5, and if the kids are interested - in the evening as well, keeping the kids extremely happy and allowing the parents to enjoy full days of skiing themselves. The staff at the kids' club is amazing - very friendly and child-oriented, and enthusiastic to keep the kids busy. The service at the hotel is excellent in most parts, with the exception of the ski school (but this problem exists in most ski schools in France - most ski instructors speak very little English, and many of them prefer to do skiing than to teach).
Some of the downsides of the hotel: (1) Rooms are extremely small, and the bathroom and shower are tiny. (2) While there's a huge variety of food, and in most meals there were some delicious dishes - there were a few meals during the week when food was average or less. (3) the nightly shows were quite a disappointment.
Overall however, if the goal of your trip is skiing - you will have a great time at this Club Med.

Room Tip: For a good room go elsewhere - all rooms here are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great place, the kids have a lot of activities all day untill 17:00.
Very comfortable. Very nice stuff.
There is a bus station near by.
well placed on its sunny slope.
Very nice area.
Very good service.
Big rooms for a family.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne

Address: Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the meeting point of the six valleys of the Oisans, the resort of Alpe-d'Huez stretches out surrounded by the former alpine pastures of a mountain village. Dominating this suntrap spot and well placed on its sunny slope, this Club Med Village invites guests to launch out and revel in the thrill of the longest black run in Europe, while those who prefer to take it easy enjoy the panoramic view. Parents and children share the joy of new sensations as they zigzag around the skating rink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med l `Alpe d`Huez La Sarenne Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
L'alpe-D'huez Club Med
Club Med L 'Alpe D'Huez La Sarenne France/Rhone-Alpes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.