We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With "club med" it's always better then you thought it would be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne to your Saves list
Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“With "club med" it's always better then you thought it would be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

What can I say... We had a wonderful snowboard vacation. With "club med" its always better then you thought it would be.
Although it's a 3 trident club and wasn’t renewed lately it is in good condition. The room is not big but well designed with a lot of storage solutions. The atmosphere in the common areas is great (though furniture in the lobby can use a "refresh"). Food was great especially the desserts. Service is great in the front desk, in the bar, in the dining room etc.
Overall, we had a great time thanks to the club med team but I will note a few disadvantages:
The Wi-Fi is not free. It cost 20€ for the all week which is kind of reasonable price but the network is weak in the room and very slow. So it should be either free or upgraded (Generally, I think that Wi-Fi should be free in hotels. It's like electricity; we don’t pay extra cost for electricity in hotels, and the infrastructure is not expensive as it was in the past).
There is a photographer in the hotel but 12€ per photo is "greedy".

Room Tip: Staying in the first floor is great because you don't have to use the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    124
    50
    31
    7
See reviews for
134
35
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We chose this relatively late date because of school vacation and expected the Club to be full and were aware that snow might not be in best conditions. We were pleasantly surpised by the Club. It was our second time in Club Med, before we have been to Villars-sur-Olon, a 4 trident. I must say that I enjoyed our stay in Alpe d'Huez more than Villars. This club is smaller and more intimate, did not really feel the difference between the 4 and 3 trident (besides the ski room). Staff was phantastic, especially Ron at the bar and Jonathan at the Mini Club, also the waiters and the service staff at the dining room were exceptionally nice and helpful. Ski in ski out is sooo good, I will never ever go to ski again without it. The ski room, though, is a big mess and thought should be invested to create more space and order. We had two rooms, one with three in a room, the other with two, however, for the boots there was only space for 2 and 1 respectively. So where should I put my boots? When asking the ski personell, they just said something like - find your own solution. My nephews (rented) ski boots simply disappeared after the first day! Snow conditions changed from day to day, but all in all it was ok, the teachers were from the local ski school and made an effort to speak English as well. The rooms were good (we stayed at the Marmottes family rooms which were simple, large and more expensive). The regular rooms are on the smallish side, the toilet and bathroom more similar to same on a boat (they even have round windows...). The whole resort is in a breathtaking landscape and beautiful views can be seen from everywhere, from your room window and especially when you ski from up the mountains. All in all the atmosphere was great, evening entertainment was wonderful, especially the musical entertainment between 7-8pm, great songs, making every effort to make the guests happy. We had a wonderful time, all the ages, our 10 year old who found friends immideately (and we do not speak French!), our teenage boys as well as us the grown ups. I would definitely come again and recommend to all.

Room Tip: Marmottes rooms are large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

At our first time ever to club med, my 13 year old and i, chose "la Sarenne" for ski vecation as his birthday present.
From the beginning, immediately after landing and right until the ride back to the air port, we were impressed by the perfect efficiency of the club staff, friendly, professional and allways extreamly helpfull.
Club is very clean, nicelly designed and very comfortable, club room and shower a bit small and a bit smelly from cigarets smoke, but also very clean and well kept. fresh mineral water replaced every day, comfortable beds, lots of storage space, and thats all you realy need from your room in a ski vacation...
Food is greate!!! Tasty and very diverse, we were suprised for the best day by day.
Bar is perfect!!! Bartenders are quick,friendly and crative, suprising us before and apre ski with treats and cocktails, kept as smiling the whole week. ski room has no lockers, best to insure your equipment (18 Eur per person) but ski in - ski out is a big advantage. all ski instructors are from ESF, we would especially like to recommend and praise Erik, our group guide, a true teacher and a top professional with all-around knowledge, from life saving ski tips and triks to home made liquer recepies, allways challenging us to our best abuilities and allways in a good mood and a pack full of patiance,
We truelly owe him big time as a major factor in our vecation enjoinments and our much improved ski abilities.
Thank you Erik!!!!
Allso recomend the streaching exorcises apre ski, led by a beautiful young Trainer to the sound of relaxing music, After witch we used to spend time in the swimming pool, overlooking the mountains view as we kept in shape for yet another day of ski, fun and food...
Finaly, The resort is perfect for all skiers levels, The view is amazing !!! Truely inspiring, snow was good, Several nice pastoralic bars on the slopes, queue at lifts reasonable all week long and overall an elegante and civilized sportive atmosphere.
only an hour and a half by bus from the Grenoble air port.

For us, as far as we can tell, this is a perfect place for ski vecation,can't wait for next year to return, this is a defenet bingo in our book, a true love story...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

A Club Med holiday has always been my idea of hell, but given that their all inclusive package price beat hands down organizing our own trip we signed up and decided we'd grin and bare it. Grin we did, the entire week! The hotel rooms were correct, the staff incredibly welcoming, helpful, and friendly, the food excellent, and the ski-in / ski-out location perfect. The whole holiday (1 week) was so easy and relaxing we came away planning next years ski trip back to Club Med, and probably back to La Sarenne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have been on 9 Club Med ski trips. On 22 Jan 2012 I returned to Alpe d'Huez for the second time. I really enjoyed the resort and the snow conditions were excellent. However, I was not content with the way the ski groups were organised. I am in class 3B, there were 8 classes the week that I went. There were plenty to sort by language first and then by ability, however that did not happen. Consequently there were only 4 English speakers in our group, 2 of whom did not come after the first day. Luckily I had a friend of the same ability so there remained 2 of us, so I had someone to talk to on ski lifts etc. But the 'moniteur' spoke mainly in French and there was very little translated, the group chatted to each other and we missed out on the camaraderie that we have enjoyed on other trips. This happened also when I first went to Alpe d'Huez in 2007 and I was the only English speaker in my class and I felt very lonely. I do appreciate that I am in France and that my failure to speak French is the main problem, however on my other 7 Club Med trips ski classes have been split by language first. I have just returned from Les Arcs Extreme and the much smaller group (I think 5 moniteurs) did put 2 |English groups together, we had a fantastic time with lots of fun and laughter on the slopes. I raised this issue with the 'chef du village' of Alpe d'Huez, leaving my email, however he failed to respond.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Great Member,

Thank you for the time you took to write this review about your holiday at l'Alpe d'Huez. We were glad to see that you enjoyed the Resort and the snow conditions.
On another note, we were very sorry to note of your dissatisfaction with the ski tuition during your stay and we would like to comment as follows.
We have noted your comments regarding the ski instructor for your group and that you found the tuition provided not to your requirements. Please note that the ski instructors are provided by the ESF French ski school not Club Med.
Unfortunately, the ski groups are organized during the first day by the ESF ski instructor locally, it's a process which we have no involvement with. The groups are firstly done in order of the skiing ability, which is the ski instructor’s main priority this is to ensure that the GM’s are placed in suitable ski ability groups.

We understand that despite your continued dissatisfaction with the ski instruction you decided to stay in your ski group, and did not address your dissatisfaction with the head of ski school or our staff on site to enable them to find a solution and rectify your ongoing issues.
Whilst we are very sorry for the disappointment caused to you on this occasion unfortunately, matters such as this need to be addressed at the time of your stay as matters such as this cannot be rectified once back in the UK.
All feedback we receive from our clients is sent to the ski school in order to improve the service provided for the next winter season.

We hope to see you soon in one of our Resorts for the new ski season
Best wishes,

Your Club Med UK Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This was our first experience of Club Med and we were'nt disappointed. The Ski in ski out was
really appreciated as it cut out the daily walk of death. The rooms were compact, clean and warm with plenty of storage space. The food at the hotel was awesome and we looked forward to different culinary surprises each night....the oysters were a welcome treat. Although the clientèle of the hotel were mainly French...the entertainment team made a real effort to include our party and Chris had us in tears daily with his comic timing. Thanks to the whole club med team for making the week one of the most enjoyable ski weeks we have had.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this great review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our L’Alpe d’Huez la Sarenne Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you had a good time and that you enjoyed the quality and diversity of the food, having fun with our friendly G.Os, and being able to ski from the door!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

It was our first time at Club Med.
We enjoyed from skiing despite two days of the six was a snowstorm
Excellent team managed by Bruno, though we do not speak French, we got a good attitude. Food was excellent, wine was simple but reasonable. Rooms are basic and small but clean and warm. The bathroom and toilet are really small
Club left a good impression on us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne

Address: Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the meeting point of the six valleys of the Oisans, the resort of Alpe-d'Huez stretches out surrounded by the former alpine pastures of a mountain village. Dominating this suntrap spot and well placed on its sunny slope, this Club Med Village invites guests to launch out and revel in the thrill of the longest black run in Europe, while those who prefer to take it easy enjoy the panoramic view. Parents and children share the joy of new sensations as they zigzag around the skating rink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med l `Alpe d`Huez La Sarenne Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
L'alpe-D'huez Club Med
Club Med L 'Alpe D'Huez La Sarenne France/Rhone-Alpes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.