We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional French family hotel, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Castillan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Castillan to your Saves list
Le Castillan
268, Route de la poste | bp08, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Traditional French family hotel, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

A very friendly family run hotel on what used to be the front line in alpe d'Huez. The service from all the staff is impeccable and welcoming, the hotel is very tidy although the rooms are dated. I would go for a room with a view , use the ski hire shop downstairs ( really helpful guy) you can get ski passes from the tourist office 2 minutes away and either get the lift opposite to the slopes or drive 2 minutes away . Food in the hotel is good alternatively there is the edelweiss restaurant on the same street , smithies tex Mex round the corner or pinochios pizza opposite the ice rink all a few minutes walkaway . For a short skiing break I recommend this traditional French family hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands england
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have just stayed at this Hotel for One night only, and will most certainly be going back.
We only stayed for the night, because we were the back up team for cyclists, riding for pleasure the last four stages of The Tour De France.
The room we stayed in had a fantastic look over the mountains, the room was very clean, tidy and very comfortable, only downside was the bed, it was a little on the small side.
We were only B & B, The breakfast was extremely good, with a great range, including bacon and eggs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Booked this hotel for megavalanche weekend. It served a purpose but would prefer to have been closer to lift station. Everything was quite shabby and tired. Restaurant was closed. Breakfast was included in the price but poor quality too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed there for a night in summer as I had to be in AD the following day. Very nice terrace out front with views over the mountains to the south. Many of the bedrooms have that view too. Rooms are basic and a bit tired but communal areas are pleasant and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Excellent value. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly. The staff were charming.The breakfast was a treat my only regret was not eating the restaurant for the evening meal as I'm confident it would have reflected the high standard elsewhere in this charming place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

The owners were most helpful to deal with any issues. they went out of their way to help with something they did not have to do. very good service, even better food. I had a great experience staying here. it definitely exceeded my expectations, 2 star rating is an underestatement. i would stay here again or if can't get a room, would come here for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We arrived by bus from Grenoble on Friday afternoon and were given a room on the second floor. It had a double bed, a separate toilet, and a bathroom with a shower, and a balcony facing the mountains and other hotels. I don't normally like the carpets but didn't mind it here because the hotel seemed very clean. We thought the hotel could gain points / upgrade its image rather easily: e.g. the curtains and the bed cover were sort of tacky, and were they changed, the rooms would look much nicer and modern.

We payed 126E/night for the room (during the last weekend of the French school holidays) and 12E/person/day for the b/fast, so the total for 1 nigth came to 150E. We had been considering about 1/2 pension, but were happy in the end that we had not chosen it (there are plenty of restaurants nearby; however think of reserving early!).
The hotel seemed very quiet, and there was hardly anyone at the dinner. Even the bar area (which has nice arm chairs, big windowns facing the mountains and a fire place) seemed always nearly emtpy.

The breakfast had everythind we needed: cereal, eggs, ham, cheece, fruits, etc. Nothing fancy, but all basic and ok... A good selection of jams, honey, tea etc. The only thing we didn't like was coffee!

We used the sauna once. It was also empty! You do not need to reserve it, and there is a sauna and a steam room. It is free.

There is also free wifi.

In general, we felt the hotel was a good choice. We had researched for many hotels in the Alpe d'Huez, and this was one of the least expensive ones, and the reviews has been rather good. We still think 150E/night is expensive for what it is, but it is all relative: all hotels are expensive in the Alps... We visited some other hotels out of the curiosity, and remained convinced that we had made a good choice.

The service was always very friendly, and the ski rental recommended by the hotel and located in the same building was very nice too (helmets offered). The access to the ski lifts is also easy: you have two choices: Garde de Sure and Telecentre.

Would we go back? Yes, probably, unless someone tells about another hotel that we still have not discovered!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Castillan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castillan

Address: 268, Route de la poste | bp08, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1955, the Castillan family have been your hosts, featuring the same quality service... In the pure tradition of this hotel passed on from father to son, Julien and his wife Stéphanie have taken up the torch... Simplicity, quality and authenticity, summer and winter alike, with resort's slopes and other activities (particularly summer ones) just nearby : tennis, swimming pool, golf, skating rink, horseback riding, mountain biking, hiking, aeromodelling... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Castillan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Castillan Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Le Castillan France/Rhone-Alpes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Castillan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.