We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Pic Blanc

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Pic Blanc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   rue du Rif Briant, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mountain Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel Le Pic Blanc is our favorite get away place in all of France. The setting is awe-inspiring, and the staff, from the front desk to the restaurant to the maid service, is stellar. We have never been disappointed in anything during our stays there. The cook in the restaurant even catered to my vegetarian needs with gusto!

Room Tip: We like facing the rushing stream, but some find it too noisy. It is like restful "white noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed as part of a trip for the Alpe D'Huez triathlon.
The hotel is convenient, with a standard 3 stars facilities.
The bedrooms are big and newly refurbished (toilets) although it still keeps the floor carpet. They are also clean and some of them with wonderful views.
The decoration is standard, without anything special...
It has a small swimming pool with a decent jacuzzi and sauna.
The best of the hotel is the friendly staff. I arrived pretty late and they searched around to get me food!
In the other hand, there are small details they need to improve such as out of date products in the mini bar, or the wi fi not working outside the main bar...
The breakfast is a normal 3 stars one, with only cold food, small offer of salty/meaty products but with a nice selection of patiseries.
The location was ok as Alpe D'huez is not big, but I'm not that sure for winter season as i didn't see many lifts around and the closest I saw won't be easy to walk to with a pair of skis on your shoulders... But I'd need to go on winter to confirm...
In general a convenient hotel, good price but not sure about location...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Pic Blanc in July 2013, We were a group of seven, 4 cyclists and three back up drivers, The cyclists were on stage 1 of six stages, Doing the last six stages of the Tour de France.

The Hotel had a room for the cyclists to keep there cycles in over night, which is a big plus when some of the bikes are worth over 3000 £.

The rooms were very comfortable, clean,and tidy. Only downside was, You could not get a meal at the Hotel, according to one of the staff, they do not pay them enough, Eventually found a place to eat, But everywhere else was shut,
The location of the Hotel was brilliant, with fantastic views,
.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in February 2013 via a ski package and found this a nice, comfortable hotel which was near to the slopes.

I'd seen one review here on TripAdvisor that complained about the walk to the chairlift. It's depends what you are used to, but for me this was a short and easy walk across a car-park; in the past I've stayed at places where I've had to trek across town with my ski's, jump on buses etc so for me this was really quite convenient. Although there are bars and restaurants nearby it's a bit away from the Apres Ski centre; but only a ten minute walk or so. However its probably not the hotel for you if you want to spend the week clubbing on the Apres Ski; it just wasn't that kind of place which was fine by me.

The food in the restaurant was really nice and of a good quality and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet. The fitness centre looked a tad dated; but sitting in the Jacuzzi relaxing the muscles after skiing was still a delight.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are a family of five and had two rooms at the Pic Blanc. Brilliant location with free public car park opposite. The hotel had reserved us two rooms very close to each other even though we hadn't specifically requested it, so a good start. We arrived very early and wanted to ski for the afternoon, it was very easy to change at the hotel and leave our bags until the rooms were ready. The hotel even called us mid afternoon on the slopes to say the rooms were ready- nice touch. Rooms were good, a bit warm, but with amazing views across to Auris ski area. Lots of hot water, very clean, huge TV. The pool area was very nice but we forgot our swimmers :( so didn't use it. Can't comment on breakfast as we found a cheap cafe near the slopes for a good breakfast at only €7. GREAT WEEKEND!!!!

Room Tip: 510-Quietest hotel room I've ever stayed in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice location - the ski bus stop is just in front of the hotel (anyway haven't used the bus at all), and 300 meters from Marmotes 1 ski lift, which takes you all the way up to Pic Blanc mountain through Marmotes 2 and some other ski lifts.

Reception and all the staff are helpful. Breakfast is tasty)) Ski room is quite convenient.

Now the cons: hotel seems to be smoking friendly which is a big minus for me. Regardless unti smoking signs you can feel the smell even in the lifts and in the room. We'd booked a non-smoking room, but there're was an ashtray inside, and there're was light but consistent smell of cigarettes.

The rooms was clean, but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpe D'huez
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Only 100m from the slopes, great view from the balcony, large room and spa downstair. The breakfast could be a little more fancy for the price, but for the rest I think it worth the value. And staff is really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Pic Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Pic Blanc

Address: rue du Rif Briant, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Pic Blanc 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Pic Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pic Blanc Hotel
Hotel Le Pic Blanc France/Rhone-Alpes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Pic Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.