We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ski Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpe d'Huez Grand Domaine Ski

Alpe d'Huez Grand Domaine Ski
Rue du Pic Blanc, L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
+33 (0)4 76 11 44 44
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoor Activities, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Awesome Ski Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A huge area for beginnners as well as for professionals.
Long slopes (up to 16km!) and a nice panorama.
I especially can recommend the slope "Le tunnel". You ski through a tunnel (ca. 100m long) and at the end of it you first cannot see the slope as it is so steep. Crazy! (Only for professionals).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    77
    24
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Skiing For All Levels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good variety of runs especially for beginners as there were some long green runs. The beginner area was conveniently located at the bottom of the main lifts.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Cons: The infrastructure is quite old, with just a few new lifts. Most slopes are badly groomed, some not groomed at all. The area is smallish - OK for a beginner, but not for expert skiiers. The Sarenne piste, which was the reason we went there in the first place, was a disappointement - there was a huge queue to get into the gondole, and while most of the slope was nice, the last couple of km was flat and horribly boring. And, according to my GPS, it's only 9 km, and not 16!!!
Pros: the food in the mountain restaurants is delicious. The views are beautiful. The village has good shops. Close to Grenoble. No need to use ski bus to get to the slopes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Place Feels Massive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Loads and loads of off piste that doesn't get tracked out by 10am. Loved the place and will be back in the future. The piste were all pretty mellow most of the blacks were closer to reds in other resorts but who likes to ride piste anyway.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ideal for beginners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is only our second season and it is great for our level of skiing. As we went at the end of the season it was quiet with no waits at any of the lifts. A large number of green and blue slopes. We have always used the ESF instructors and have found them excellent. We restaurants on the bottom are reasonable and the quality of the food is good. Very happy and will be returning.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpe d'Huez Grand Domaine Ski also viewed

Les Deux-Alpes, Isere
L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
 
L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Alpe d'Huez Grand Domaine Ski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpe d'Huez Grand Domaine Ski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.