We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maeva Residence Les Melezes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maeva Residence Les Melezes to your Saves list
Maeva Residence Les Melezes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   236 route de l'Altiport, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France (Formerly Résidence Maeva Les Mélèzes)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

just returned from les melezes,we arrived at 1 pm with the rep expecting to find our room key in the safe, no such look ,we had to leave our cases etc in a insecure room until 5pm,so one of our party missed a afternoon skiing. not a good start. its one big plus is its position near the main lifts. other than this and the fact its warm with hot water it has few other plusses. the rooms are small, beds old and uncomfortable. all you get are your sheets, no towels ,no cleaning fluids or cloths , not even a toilet roll. during the stay the kettle broke but we were unable to get a replacement as reception was closed all day,as is often the case. the hotel is a good 10 mins walk from the busy part of the town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Maeva Residence Les Melezes, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Many thanks for you response following your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the central location. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble accessing your accommodation and apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are also sorry that you were disappointed with the furnishings and size of your apartment. Our website and brochures outline room dimension, sizes, furnishings and equipment available. We do encourage that bigger groups upgrade to bigger rooms to ensure they have enough space to be comfortable. Our website and brochures also list the additional costs for "bolt on" extras such as towels, cleaning kits, parking etc. This allows customers to work out a total budget prior to booking. Again, thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review. We are committed to improving our standard of accommodation whenever we can therefore your comments are very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
37
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

These apartments are the worst I have ever stayed in in my entire life bar a hostel in Istanbul that cost £8/night when I was a student. Crystal Ski have them as a 3 rating in their brochure and price them accordingly yet when we arrived we found P&V's own brochure rated them as a 1 grade; so buyer beware. Our apartment was dirty to the extent of being a health hazard. My son and husband both got tummy bugs. The public toilets were filthy; the locker rooms were like a rat warren and smelt like one too; bring plenty of anti bacterial wipes if you are brave enough to stay in the unrefurbished part of the block which we ended up in and despite pleas to be upgraded at our expense we couldn't escape as everything else was fully booked. The location is good for families because you are away from the busy part of town so it was quiet at night, there are a few restaurants nearby but bear in mind that anything else is a bus journey away and these are very infrequent at night. Unless you pay £35 per head for the comfort plus you have to bring your own towels and make up your own beds and clean the apartment yourself on departure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Maeva Residence Les Melezes, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Many thanks for posting your review. We sincerely apologise for the incorrect listing in the Crystal Brochure and we will investigate this further with immediate effect. We are so sorry that the level of cleanliness at the resort during your stay was unacceptable. Please accept our sincere apologies and know that you review has been logged and has been passed onto our head office for immediate review. We do endeavour to rehouse any customers that are not satisfied with their room but this is subject to peak times. We're so sorry this was not possible during your stay. The exact location from facilities is listed on our website but we appreciate this may have been difficult for your family. Our website and brochure does also listed the prices for additional packages to have beds made on arrival, towels provided and additional cleaning. We do apoligise if this information was not made clear to you priort to arriving at the property. We strive to improve our level of serviuce at every oppotunity and will pass this onto head office for further consideration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

where do i start with the melezes. first impressions were not the best if im honest we arrived at 1pm in the afternoon to find that the reception was closed and would not be openeing until 5pm. This was apparently the daily routine, already looking forward to the rest of the week! the rooms were satisfactory to an extent apart from the fact you were given your bed sheets in a bag when you arrived, nice.

the best was saved until i got home though, a nice £180 charge courtesy of the hotel great i thought! i was given no warning of the charge or reason for it. i have been investigating the charge for the past 3 weeks only to get the reply ' the manager said that the room was left in an unsatisfactory condition' i can assure you the room was not left in an ' unsatifactory conditon' it was cleaned and hoovered twice before we left. the only thing that was unsatifactory is the weak, ambiguos and probably routine explanation given to us by the hotel manager, i cant help but feel that they are just trying it on to get a lttle extra cash, just a hunch. needles to say i am not on here to reccomend this hotel to anyone, i am not bitter due to this the money is not important its the manner in which it was taken and the lack of communication during my time trying to get to the bottom of it. i just want to warn you that the deposit you give when you arrive might not be returned to you and you may never find out why. it really did spoil a really good holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Maeva Residence Les Melezes, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Whilst we do apologise for any inconvenience caused by your early arrival, both our brochure, website and booking information does state the check in time for the residence. We urge our customers to plan their arrival around this to prevent any disruption. Our website does also state that we can offer a bed making service for an additional charge but linen is provided on arrival. We do apologise for the cleaning charge that was placed on your card. This is applicable to anyone who leaves a room in an unsatisfactory condition and without any booking reference information ion your review we cannot investigate these allegations further. If it is still not resolved we urge you to get in touch with our UK customer services department, the number is listed on our website but unfortunately we cannot post contact details in our responses. We are sorry that the level of response so far has not been to our usual high levels of service. We hope to hear from you soon, apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Stayed in these apartments beggining of feb this year and it started off pretty poor. We arrived at the apartments at about midday and after travelling most of the night we wanted to just get to our rooms and chill for a bit however this was not possible as the reception didn't open till 5pm. We had the dump our cases in a non locked room and head on out to burn some time. Got back to the rooms at 5 and checked in. Like most hotels these days they took card details to charge us if anything was wrong with the room after we left. Had a lovely holiday, room was very basic and you have to clean urself. arrived back in wales a week later and they charged us with £180 bearing in mind we left the room spotless with nothing broken! Scammed by the frogs!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Maeva Residence Les Melezes, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Many thanks for posting your review. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused by the early arrival to our resort. Check-in times are listed on both the website and within your booking documentation. We do apologise however for the charge you received even after cleaning your room prior to departure. Without having any booking details in the review we cannot verify whether the room was subjected to our cleaning charge or not. We urge you to get in touch with our customer services department if you feel this has not been resolved to allow them to investigate this further for you. We apologise again for any inconvenience caused. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

Overall this was an ok place to stay. We were a group of 5 and it got a bit tight as they werent huge rooms. Reasonably clean and very basic but everything you need for a cheap place to stay. Lovely view and great access to the slopes.
Ski lockers downstairs in the basement which was great, however you are not permitted to walk around in your ski boots - they must be put on and taken off in the basement. This got a bit annoying; seemed to cause a little unnecessary faffing whilst getting ready to go out and when you got back later on.
The only other issue I had was with the reception opening times and the key issue. As I said, we were a group of 5 and we often split up throughout the day meaning that some of the group got back to the apartment before others. We were only issued with one key and the reception closed between lunch and 5 o'clock meaning if you wanted to leave the apartment there was no place to leave the key for those still to return.
How and ever this was only a minor issue and we worked around it.
You definitely get what you pay for with this apartment, but it served our needs and we had a great holiday :-)

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Site Manager of Les Melezes at Maeva Residence Les Melezes, responded to this review, March 26, 2009
Dear Kezzpop,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for registering your review about the property. I am glad on the whole, the rooms accommodated your stay at the resort well.

We take great care to specify the size of each apartment from our two-person studios to larger residences and how each guest will be accommodated. We do provide full details of bed allocation and room size in metres squared for all of our apartments both on the website and in our brochures.

In order to avoid disappointment, we generally recommend that you only occupy apartments to the maximum number possible if you are on a very limited budget. It’s best to ensure you have enough bedrooms for your party rather than using the sofa beds in the living area.

Regarding your frustrations with boots within the resort, we care about the tranquility for all customers and, that is why it is forbidden to walk, in the residence, with its ski boots, which are too noisy.

Lastly, I would like to apologise for the troubles you had when accessing your room. On your arrival, the receptionist should have given to you 2 keys to ensure ease of access and we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We very much hope you will consider staying at one of our residences in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

This is a case of you pay for what you get.

This place a in a good location and is cheap and has great views and is reasonably well equipped.

However the apartments are not that clean and are small / tiny.

Some friends of ours stayed in a private apartment that was a little cheaper - similar cleanliness and size but away from the slopes.

If you are fussy suggest you don't stay here - pay a bit more and go for a hotel / chalet.

Not sure I will be able to persuade my wife that the cost savings is worth while next time.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The Cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PV_Customer_Liason, PV Customer Liason Team at Maeva Residence Les Melezes, responded to this review, September 12, 2008
Dear kpbn2,
We apologise for the delay in responding to this post, we are interested in all customers feedback but we have only recently been in a position to monitor, investigate and respond.
The team at PV-Holidays.com is looking into your experiences at PV-Holidays Residence Maeva Les Melezes, and is disappointed that your holiday/stay was not up to a standard that you felt happy with.

We’d be happy to investigate thoroughly and reply to you personally. If you booked with us directly please could you email the specific details of your problem to relations.client@pierre-vacances.fr
and include your booking reference and the dates of your stay.

If you booked via a Tour Operator or Travel Agent then please contact them directly, as we have to include them in any correspondence.

Meanwhile we will respond here as soon as we can with our feedback.

With warm regards,

Customer liaison team
PV-Holidiays.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

I stayed at Les Melezes in Feb 2007, with my children. The apartment was tiny. In the double bedroom two sides of the bed were touching the walls, and there was little room to move around the other two sides. No room for bedside table, etc. Blood on the bedroom wall was reported twice, but not cleaned off by the staff. Seen by reps, but no action taken. Hardly any cooking facilities. No oven, toaster or kettle. We'd booked for 4 people, but only had crockery for 2. We were given one blanket per bed, and these blankets were old and stained. Poorly equipped. The hotel games room was closed most of the time. Staff were polite, but didn't seem able to improve things.

  • Liked — Reasonable location
  • Disliked — Very poorly equipped
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Surf PR- Replying on behalf of PV-Holidays. at Maeva Residence Les Melezes, responded to this review, December 4, 2008
We are sorry to learn that your stay at the PV-Holidays residence Maeva Les Melezes did not meet with your expectations. We take great care to specify the size of each apartment from our two-person studios to larger residences and how each guest will be accommodated. We do provide full details of bed allocation and room size in metres squared for all of our apartments both on the website and in our brochures.

High standards of cleanliness are one of our priorities. We have a strict procedure to ensure that all of our apartments are cleaned thoroughly and appliances checked before new guests arrive. In this instance, we are very sorry the condition did not meet your or our expectations and apologise for the inconvenience caused. We have contacted the manager of this residence to investigate, and can confirm that they do monitor the cleaning and maintenance standards very closely, and will be particularly vigilant from now on to ensure there is no further reoccurrence. This is a very rare in any case, and is one of our most popular locations.

We are happy to report that we now have a member of staff ‘on call’at all times who can deal with technical difficulties and customer queries swiftly. We hope that you will choose to visit one of our residences again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maeva Residence Les Melezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maeva Residence Les Melezes

Address: 236 route de l'Altiport, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France (Formerly Résidence Maeva Les Mélèzes)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maeva Residence Les Melezes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of “The Grandes Rousses” ski area. Direct access on skis. .A residence with south-eastern exposure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Pierre & Vacances, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maeva Residence Les Melezes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Les Melezes Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Maeva Residence Les Melezes France/Rhone-Alpes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maeva Residence Les Melezes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.