We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok. Avoid room 401” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Belrose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Belrose Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Belrose Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard des Cretes | Boulevard des Cretes, 83580 Gassin, Saint-Tropez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gassin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just ok. Avoid room 401”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here in 2007 and came back for a return visit for a long weekend in August. We are also accustomed to staying in 5 star properties around the world including Four Seasons, One and Only etc. so feel we can benchmark this hotel.
Positives: This hotel is perched on a hill,overlooking the bay with stunning views, has pleasant gardens, is peaceful. The pool is big and there is a nice terrace where one can laze in the sun and have a casual lunch. Concierge generally good and recommended nice restaurants
Negatives: Our room was 401, was quirky to say the least and this was apparently a 'renovated' room. THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE SLEEP I HAVE EVER HAD! In all my years of travel, I have never complained about the beds - but here I woke with backache. After two nights they changed the mattress (Made NO difference) and I proceeded to use the lounger mattress and a blanket to sleep on the bed.!!!!!!!! FIve star - not. Plugs did not work if you switched off the light (problem overcome by an extension in a plug BEHIND the desk - and this is a disabled room). WiFi weak and intermittent. Water - Evian bottle with top opened and used for 4 days -we went to Carrefour and bought our own! Had a tasting menu at the Michelin restaurant - rabbit arrived COLD. Breakfast was hit and miss, staff poorly trained and we were never offered a cooked breakfast - always had to LOOK for staff and ASK for things. Ran out of English Breakfast tea! (so go OUT and BUY some, don't tell me the next delivery is only on Tuesday or Wednesday).
Overall really disappointed about our visit and the bed was unpleasant. This hotel does not offer good value even for St Tropez. We will try our luck elsewhere if we came to St Tropez again..pity really...

Room Tip: Avoid room 401. !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
46
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The outlook from the restaurant/bar deck captures the azure waters, the floating gin palaces and the rooflines of St Tropez. Our room was large and immensely comfortable, tastefully decorated and had a useful outside area. It's quality is assured, being a Relais & Chateaux property. We took advantage of the massage facility and, for my wife, the pedicure. The staff are constantly willing, good natured and attentive. Laundry service was excellent as was the restaurant for its fine dining dinner as well as the breakfast. Bar staff are knowledgeable but discreet. Porterage was excellent also

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

fantastic hotel with great facilities and restaurant. Situated just outside St.Tropez - far enough out to be quiet and relaxing but close enough to get the shuttle in to town at short notice. The concierge are extremely knowledgeable and second to none - the hotel and rooms are quiet and laid back yet still have a nice homely feel about them

Room Tip: ea view rooms all have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding with the whole property blocked out for the weeding party.

This place was AMAZING!! Service from the staff was first class to the extent after the second day they seemed to know most people by name. They couldn't do enough for you. They seemed to work around the clock to ensure the wedding was planned to perfection, yet discreet as not to disturb the guests.

The setting over the bay was fabulous, the Villa being on a few levels just adds to the feeling of intimacy and luxury, discreetly tucked up in the hills. Every corner of the property was clean, streamlined and manicured to perfection. Rooms, again AMAZING. Large, plush carpet and furnishings, airy all mod-cons, fabulous bathroom, lots of wardrobe space, turndown service the works.

Can't rate this property high enough, I've popped a lot of reviews on here before but hands down this is the best property I've stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the Villa Belrose for a wedding and it was out of this world. The hotel staff are lovely, quietly attentive; the breakfasts were beautiful; and our room (one of the least epxensive) was gorgeous. It is stylish, chic, cool, everything you could ask for.

They worked with the wedding party & organisers to deliver the most magical wedding and weekend imaginable.

I would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel with my boyfrined.
1st of all as i wrote above - service and personel are just exceptional! Speak english, german, even russian, and of course french =)) (other languages we didn't use, so maybe there are more)))
They have great view from the hill on the sea.
Room was very nice a well, we were upgraded to better room with better view. But if to be honest, I think it's a little bit too high price for it. It was not that big, I excpected begger room for this price plus upgrade. But room size is problem of St.tropez, so in this case it was good. But broken toilet was a big surprise for me in this place. And bed was two connected beds, which surprised me as well.
Spa was very nice.
I have to tell about restaurant! That was just great!!! I remember it on every vacation now! Food was that delicious!! And special topic there is Cheese tables! I think I didn't see so many kinds even in big special shops))))
So, i would recomend it with pleasure, the only thing, as I mentioned before price is too high. (But it's Sr.Tropez and it gives influence =))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stay in this hotel for 2 nights. Its very nice hotel with wonderful view to the sea and Saint Tropez. Personal is very nice. Ready to help every time, whatever you need. Hotel Manager is very warm and nice person. Always meet you in good mood and make you feel that you are the most important guest in the hotel. Pool area very nice and they have good spa. We didn't like our dinner very much.... It looked nice, but was not so good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Belrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belrose Hotel

Address: Boulevard des Cretes | Boulevard des Cretes, 83580 Gassin, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez > Gassin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gassin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Belrose Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the French Riviera, in Gassin, near Saint Tropez, lies the Villa Belrose. The location of the villa is unique - and thrills even those who are familiar with the Cote d'Azur. With the picturesque harbour of St. Tropez to the right and St. Maxime to the left, the luxury hotel offers a most spectacular panoramic view over the bay. In addition to its unique location, the Villa Belrose, managed by Robert van Straaten and a member of Relais & Chateaux, knows to impress with its star-rated cuisine in the exclusive gourmet restaurant, its luxurious spa facilities and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Belrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Belrose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.