We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au vieux Gassin

Au vieux Gassin
Place dei Barri, 83580 Gassin, Saint-Tropez, France
+33 4 94 56 14 26
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 15 restaurants in Gassin
Price range: $21 - $42
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have eaten here this year and it is always very consistent. Friendly staff. In the winter it is very cosy if you are inside. highly recommend

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    37
    45
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Huge Dissapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The name's pretty much the highlight. It's honestly all I can say. We arrived for probably the 100th time, as we had been in passed years and this gave us high expectations and standards. We as normal ordered and within ten minuetes our food had already arrived. Rather suspicious, we thought, though it only got more and more dissapointing as the evening hastened on. One of the ladies serving us was rather rude and hastened the meal so fast that the meal wasn't even close to enjoyable. Finally with dissapointing and rather perculiar starters and mains we splashed the cash for desert. It was okay but no where near as good as past years. Quite glad to get out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having used this resturant for 22 years, I feel sad to say I will not return. I have been twice in the last fortnight and have been disappointed both times. There appears to be a new chef and most of the staff are rude and rush you constantly, probably to get the next siting. The combination of food used for the dishes did not work and, for the amount paid, the whole experience was extremely disappointing. "Vieux" is certainly accurate; this restaurant's peak is in the past.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food in a hurry...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We booked this restaurant for tea, after deciding it had the best menu on offer out of the five restaurants side by side in Gassin. We were told that the latest we could book was 7:15/ 7:30pm, however at the end of our meal (around 9:15pm) we were told there was going to be a second service starting...?
The starters were hearty portions and delicious, the mains were excellent and the puddings ok too. The staff were cheery and friendly, however we did feel the whole night we were being rushed in order to be cleared out so they could use our table for a second sitting. We were given our pudding menus to read whilst our son was still finishing his main course, and after having ordered puddings they came suspiciously quickly, the chocolate fondant was pretty cold. Fantastic food just spoiled a little by the atmosphere, but it didn't stop us having an enjoyable evening.
We booked this restaurant two nights in a row as the others were busy, so we will see how it goes tonight, and will update after...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Not much to choose between the three (?) restaurants lined up together along the terrace overlooking the drop towards the sea. However, this one stands out on this occasion for the dazzling (and startling) efficiency of its service and natural friendliness of its staff. Good choice of dishes and wines. For better food experience, probably wiser to stick to the simpler dishes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au vieux Gassin also viewed

Gassin, Saint-Tropez
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
 
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
 

Been to Au vieux Gassin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au vieux Gassin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.