We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Au vieux Gassin

Au vieux Gassin
Place dei Barri, 83580 Gassin, Saint-Tropez, France
+33 4 94 56 14 26
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Gassin
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having used this resturant for 22 years, I feel sad to say I will not return. I have been twice in the last fortnight and have been disappointed both times. There appears to be a new chef and most of the staff are rude and rush you constantly, probably to get the next siting. The combination of food used for the dishes did not work and, for the amount paid, the whole experience was extremely disappointing. "Vieux" is certainly accurate; this restaurant's peak is in the past.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    198
    96
    23
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food in a hurry...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We booked this restaurant for tea, after deciding it had the best menu on offer out of the five restaurants side by side in Gassin. We were told that the latest we could book was 7:15/ 7:30pm, however at the end of our meal (around 9:15pm) we were told there was going to be a second service starting...?
The starters were hearty portions and delicious, the mains were excellent and the puddings ok too. The staff were cheery and friendly, however we did feel the whole night we were being rushed in order to be cleared out so they could use our table for a second sitting. We were given our pudding menus to read whilst our son was still finishing his main course, and after having ordered puddings they came suspiciously quickly, the chocolate fondant was pretty cold. Fantastic food just spoiled a little by the atmosphere, but it didn't stop us having an enjoyable evening.
We booked this restaurant two nights in a row as the others were busy, so we will see how it goes tonight, and will update after...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Not much to choose between the three (?) restaurants lined up together along the terrace overlooking the drop towards the sea. However, this one stands out on this occasion for the dazzling (and startling) efficiency of its service and natural friendliness of its staff. Good choice of dishes and wines. For better food experience, probably wiser to stick to the simpler dishes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A good place to eat in Gassin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Took our order quite quickly. Starter arrived soon. Main course came quickly too. Staff very attentive. Keen to please.

Quality of food - good.

Staff were rushing around a lot but then there's a tight window when everyone arrives all at once.

The lady manager appeared to run a tight ship!

Altogether no dramas.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy-le-Vieux, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

the worst restaurant in Gassin. Tourist trap, service is poor. Typically what I hate in France (and I'm french).

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au vieux Gassin also viewed

Gassin, Saint-Tropez
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Au vieux Gassin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au vieux Gassin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;