We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal and wonderful hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Verdoyante

La Verdoyante
route de Coste Brigade, 83580 Gassin, Saint-Tropez, France
0494561623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Gassin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and wonderful hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We made a reservation here months in advance to secure a table with a view of the beautiful vineyards and wildlife. We loved our traditional Provencal meal in this gorgeous setting. The views of Saint Maxime across the bay are lovely - we were lucky enough to catch some fireworks! The host came to check in on us several times during the evening and answered our many questions about the property. It was wonderful to learn the history behind the menus - one includes homestyle recipes from the original owners of La Verdoyante which we were eager to try. It is definitely worth visiting La Verdoyante for a transporting experience and delicious meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This restaurant has an undeniably lovely outlook from its terrace but the tables are quite spread out & we found the service rather poor. I think we were unlucky but initially we sat for a long time after being asked whether we would like an aperitif - as we had asked for wine this seemed to confuse them so were left alone for a considerable time - annoyingly whilst one of the front of house staff chatted for at least 15 minutes with a couple on a nearby table. When our order was taken it was obviously lost along the way & we waited over 1 hour before receiving the starter. Although there were apologies we were not offered a drink on the house which was in my opinion a reason not to return. However they are busy so obviously not too bothered about losing a few clients along the way. The food was very good but portions were on the mean side i.e. 2 tiny (delicious) pieces of toast served with the foie gras no hope of getting anymore as service was difficult enough on this large terrace. A request for saute potatoes resulted in being served 1 small potato fanned out on a small plate - just looked ridiculous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Condamine, Monaco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's back. French cuisine at its best with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

French cuisine has taken a downturn generally. Thus refreshing to find this little auberge with a stunning view of the sea and the hills with exceptionally good menu choices. I had the avacado and scallop crumble to start, followed by the gambas both of which were exceedingly good. My partner had both the foie gras choices. Lovely setting, dress casual chic, enjoy the sunset, the smiling staff, and the excellent food. Yep, thanks to one or two restos like this, one's faith in the good traditional french cuisine is restored.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tourmaline42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a magical place, and used to be a magical restaurant. When we revisited last year, the transformation was deeply disappointing. The welcome was cool, terrace furniture in poor condition and the food - what happened to the food? Tasteless (in both senses) and unimaginative, it was also presented crudely. The place seems to trade on its name, and the prices are unrelated to the poor quality. What a shame.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit like the curate's egg perhaps.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

As consistently observed by the reviews here a beautiful setting and an effusive welcome. The meal itself was another story on the two occasions we have visited. As others have mentioned the portions of fish and meat are really parsimonious. We have seen this problem elsewhere in the locality and it appears that the chef is often on a tight budget and so cuts corners with the more expensive ingredients. However, that should not be the case here as the restaurant is family owned. There is simply a lack of professionalism I think. For example last time we ordered kirs with mur (blackberry). The mur was brown in the glass and tasted of burnt sherry. In short it came from an aged bottle and was, in effect, off. The macaroons we had enjoyed on our first visit were served soft on the second..Attention to detail is required I think. I could go on but instead will make the positive recommendation that the family consider employing a professional chef. At present, and no doubt nouvelle cuisine has much to answer for, the restaurant is cheapskating its customers with unacceptably small portions not always well cooked. For the record we think that the 28 euro menu is better value than the 44 euro one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Verdoyante also viewed

Gassin, Saint-Tropez
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
 
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
 

Been to La Verdoyante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing