We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location but on-site team needs to focus on details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve to your Saves list
Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, rue des Jardins, 74240 Gaillard, Annemasse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gaillard
Washington DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value and location but on-site team needs to focus on details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel has undergone a fresh-up with the Mercure "business suite" upgrade. These rooms are tasteful and eye appealing, and happily we received a free upgrade to a pair of these rooms. There is a debate within the family as to whether these rooms are air conditioned or just ventilated with the fan unit. One web page says only public areas are airconditioned and another says the room are airconditioned. It was 32 degrees late afternoon in the room with the fan running high circulating the 32 degree air. Our room was not AC; another family member in adjacent room says her's was cooled. Opening the window made temperature bearable but the traffic sounds of the nearby autoroute made sleep quality poor. Toilet seat was partially detatched from WC; toilet paper dispenser was hanging limply so roll slid off; and higher level shelving above minibar you could write you name in the dust. Items reported to front desk upon check out were written down by duty manager with some surprise. Property has potential with some fine tuning of daily management. Location is great for visiting Geneva-only 15 minutes to the lakefront by auto. A great alternative to the SFr300+ per nite rooms that dominate the market. We will give them a second chance when back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    88
    81
    29
    13
See reviews for
51
84
27
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It is a very nice comfortable hotel
People are very sweet and nice aswell with little children
Breakfast very nice, as much you want.Dinner à la carte also very good
People working overthere also very attentfull and pleasant, nothing is too much for them when you asked them something
Nice swimmingpool
Rooms are comfortable and very clean
To recommend to go aswell for business as family trip

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The staff are good but need a little more of English for a hotel of this international standard . Generally satisfactory

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was my second visit to Gaillard, a small and pleasant French city quite close to Geneva. Last time, I stayed in a rather utlilitarian property: the Mercure was a pleasant upgrade. The Rhone river races behind the hotel: the walking trail is a few minutes away providing a tranquil and scenic escape from whatever business brings you to town.

While this is not a top luxery hotel, the friendly and helpful staff from check-in to the dining room, make one feel welcome. There is a nice assortment of newspapers in the lobby in several languages and a daily news sheet in four languages is printed as well. Free internet is available but with limited bandwith - internet telephony was not possible. You can pay for faster internet but I found this to be sufficient. The room and bathrooms were acceptable, the bed reasonably comfortable. The window opened - a plus not found in many of the better hotels.

The hotel grounds are nicely landscaped; eating outdoors with the local Savoie wines and views of the mountains was very pleasant. The company that brought me provided all meals at the Mercure, so I got to know the kitchen quite well and was impressed by the variety of the menu and the excellent preparation and freshness of the offerings. There was a pool as well which would have tempted me had I brought swimming trunks.

I could understand an overnight guest or someone stayng for two nights thinking this to be an average or worse hotel but staying for nearly a week, I found it to be relaxed, accomodating, and quite comfortable. Add the friendly and helpful staff and I have to move this up to very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Worst experience I never had.. I had the chance to book this special hotel and, I've paid for a check-in that I never did.. instead of myself, the neccessary check-in to can charge cost of room has been made by a clever hotel reception staff..

Recomandation to you.. avoid similar experiences therefore, if you can, avoid booking this hotel.

Thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve

Address: 9, rue des Jardins, 74240 Gaillard, Annemasse, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annemasse > Gaillard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gaillard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the lakes and mountains and just a few minutes from the centre of Geneva, the Geneva Palexpo Exhibition Centre and Geneva International Airport. 78 rooms including 21 renovated comfort rooms, restaurant with terrace, bar, outdoor swimming pool and meeting rooms. Free outdoor parking. An ideal stop over en route to the ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Annemasse Porte De Geneve Hotel Gaillard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.