We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad it was just one night!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Median Geneve Aeroport

Save Saved
You added Median Geneve Aeroport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Median Geneve Aeroport
Chemin de Colovrex, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Kailua-Kona, HI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Glad it was just one night!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Getting the cab from/to the airport was easy. Expensive, but easy. Paid CHF20 one way, CHF40 return for the 5-7 minute drive. Hotel was dumpy, smelly, original and un-cleaned carpet. No food available when we arrived at 9 PM. Walked 10 minutes to a Texas-style restaurant. Room tiny, clean sheets, toilet and shower room. The man at reception was friendly. Sure would not want to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    12
    15
    46
See reviews for
2
20
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The description on eurobooking.com did not match the hotel. Nor did the *** rating. The carpets in the hallways had holes through to the concrete - and it was advertised as recently improved. Also along the corridors dust piles near door jambs. What animal was eating the wood and leaving these? The exchange rate advertised at Reception - if you can call it that - was 1Sfr = 0.56€. Apparently as long as you warn people, you can get away with it.
The three men behind a shabby counter at Reception ignored us for a long time while one clicked away in his computer. We think because we are old he was finding us the worst room possible. We had paid ahead Frs. 194.00 because of room shortage in Geneva on that day. The room was tiny and opened onto the Geneva Airport runway. We went for a walk. Happily the nearest hotel had one room free. We collected our bags and fled. Our compliant to eurobooking has been ignored. Our complaint to the hotel was replied to with mocking, derision and self-justification. Yes, we could have asked them for another room, but the hotel was disgusting, we had absolutely no confidence in them and truly wanted to flee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here in December 2012. Originally booked at the Stars Geneve but it was closed. It has excellent location close to the airport and shops (lidl is literally next to it while one of the big supermarkets a 5-10 min walk). room was clean and simple but that's what we really needed. the corridor carpet was dirty and worn but who cares. The only thing that disappointed me was the bed. It was old and very a mean very soft. In the end i preferred this hotel to Formule 1.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

First of all you're greeted by the unhelpful French guy who refuses to speak a word of English even though he is stood next to a sign claiming all the languages spoken by the hotel-which was about 10, and he sees my French is poor to say the least. Then I want some information and he tells me to use my iPhone to find it out and rudely dismisses me. No wifi- "use Swisscom, but you need you're carte bleu for that Monsieur". A horror story.

Then I go upstairs to find my room is in a state of disrepair, the toilet refilling up all night long, people screaming in the corridor waking you up through the paper-thin door, the worst bed I've ever slept in and a TV from the 80s mounted on top of a 1.8m high wardrobe less than a meter away from the bed! Unreal.

Something tells me they're not taking things very seriously here at all.

Seriously, DON'T even think about booking yourself in at this dump.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Arrival:
I got to Hotel Stars Geneva which I had booked and learned through a sign on the door that I was to walk to the Median around the corner to check in. I was checked in to the Median because the Stars was under repair. The receptionist checked me in quickly and spoke good English, he was friendly but only the most basic of friendly.

Location:
The airport could be walked to along a service road and through a carpark in about 25 minutes [it is much easier to cut through the airport's French and Swiss sectors than you may think] and driven in <5 minutes. Regular busses (F) to Ferney and to Geveva Cornavin / UNOG and (Y) to CERN. To bus to the airport requires a change. There's a carrefour (supermarket) 3 mins away and a lidl <1 minutes walk for cheaper food and drinks.

Grounds:
Very basic. Flight path but I only heard any noise when the window was open.

Room:
very basic but it is fine for a base to explore Geneva. There were dodgy looking stains on the carpets of both the room and several corridors, the room (105) had twin single beds, a desk, wardrobe and en suite bath, toilet, basin and shower. The decor was shabby with some marks on the walls and a dent in the plaster. The bathroom was fine and the general cleanliness of the room was high [found an insect trap behind the bedhead, it was not marked as checked regularly but it was there and had no signs of a problem - see picture]. Slept really well and the beds were comfy, heat/AC worked well.

Staff:
I only saw reception and maid staff. The maids were very thorough and the beds/towels were replaced daily, the bin empties and the room cleaned and hoovered.

Food:
I did not eat.

Bars etc:
The hotel offers an overpriced and basic bar until 11pm.

Excursions:
N/A

Facilities:
I wished to use the room telephone, after putting down the E20 deposit it would not work (the automated wake up cal did not work either). The receptionist could not fix it so he lent me his mobile to make my call to England. This was really good service.

Price:
Compared to staying in Geneva anywhere except the youth hostel, you will find this hotel at least half the price. Compared to another hotel of similar standards you may feel overcharged. It's a 1-star at best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

First of all, this is not in the airport. It is a bus away from the airport, which is not cheap and only takes coins. When we arrived, we were told check-in was at 14.30, rather than 13.00 as advertised. The man on the desk did not apologise for this. A silver-lining to this disappointment was that we had some time to relax in the park just next to the hotel, which is well worth a look. When we got back to check-in, the same 'never heard of customer service' guy took us to our room, only for it not to have been cleaned yet. Yet to produce an apology, he trudged downstairs to find us another room. Once finally in the room, it was adequate and fairly clean. It was another bus to get into Geneva (our tickets were never checked), so getting a hotel in the centre makes far more sense.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had no choice but to stay 1 night due to a lack of rooms in Geneva. I was shocked at how dirty and poorly maintained this hotel was. There was a bucket outside one of the rooms due to water dripping from the ceiling. The carpet surrounding the bucket was soaking wet. The room had a constant dripping noise all night.

I'm not saying this is in any way connected to this hotel but, but the credit card I used to pay for the room was used in a number of unauthorized transactions the following day and had to be destroyed.

The room charge was 130 Euros!!!

Room Tip: Book way in advance of any Geneva trip so that you don't have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Median Geneve Aeroport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Median Geneve Aeroport

Address: Chemin de Colovrex, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Median Geneve Aeroport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Median Geneve Aeroport Hotel Ferney-Voltaire
Median Geneve Aeroport Ferney Voltaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Median Geneve Aeroport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.