We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it, if possible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire to your Saves list
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 rue de Geneve, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid it, if possible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Except if you are desperate, don't stay at the Citadines in Ferney Voltaire. The only "advantage" of this hotel is that is pretty close to Geneva. That's it.. The hotel is quite dirty, the rooms are old and you can easily find a room without toilet paper. The housekeeping is not included, and you have to pay 15 EUR per day if you want the room cleaned. The breakfast is horrible, for 10 EUR you get a crappy cappuccino and really disappointing croissants. We are in France, it is kind of incredible to find croissants like these.
There are many Hotels in Geneva with more reasonable prices and higher quality. I stay in Geneva almost 2 weeks per month, due to my job, and I have tried many Hotels. This is one of the worst.

Room Tip: Good luck. I stayed here two times only and both rooms were very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    18
    11
    12
See reviews for
13
6
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torino, Italia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The title tells you all: this is really a terrible place to stay, as a hotel. I happened to be booked there due to unavailability of other accomodations in Geneva, and it was really a bad choice. Actually this is not a hotel, it's a residence where maybe you can decide, if you dare, to stay more than some nights, as i did. If you go there and you think that's a hotel, first of all prepare to do the bed yourself: they don't do but every 7 (seven) nights. And of course they don't clean the room. But apart from this the place is very outdated and a renovation is absolutely mandatory, as soon as possible. In the bathroom everything is dirty and old, the smell of food of the previous guests is everywhere. As for the rest of the hotel take care of breakfasts in the hall: there is absolutely no space and people are moving, if they succeed, in an extremely narrow space.

Room Tip: Go there only if you want to stay for a long period and if you are prepared to a place with many unc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solingen, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Year by year the same dirty carpets which smell of smoke from years gone by. The rooms have not been painted for ages. They just cash in on the location close to the trade fair in Geneva. Shabby and expensive. At least some of the old sofa beds have been replaced with new beds and firm matresses. Shower does not spend enough water.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel Citadines in Ferney is a good choice for the Geneva Airport, from which it is about a five minutes drive. The hotel itself is comfortable enough, with free wifi, and parking. The decor is a bit dated and needs a refresh though, the carpets in my room were really stained and old.

My only issue with the hotel is that the reception closes between 22:00 and 7:00 AM. This is very odd for what is essentially an airport hotel that should have 24 hour reception. We arrived slightly after 22:00 and were let in by another guest, finally finding a member of staff that still happened to be there by chance that gave us the key.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times of the last few years. Its location in the small town of Ferney Voltaire, is ideal if you are doing business in the Geneva area, but do not want to pay Geneva prices. Its also located very near the airport. Having a small kitchen area I also find useful. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel, but there a several good options within a short walk. The breakfast area isn't very nice, so normally I just had a coffee and pastry in my room.

However, I'm not going to go back again until it has a refit. The decorations are now very old, with the carpets looking particularly old and stained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Reading the reviews from July 2013 and earlier, I expected the worse. I even brought my own towels and considered bringing my own sheets (but eventually didn't). Upon check-in I found out that I would be staying in building B in a ground floor unit. I was already worried.

So when I entered my room, I checked everything. Surprisingly, the toilet was spotless, the bathroom very clean, and the kitchen sink was shiny.

The bath towels are not as good as those from 5-star establishments but they're not as thin as described in other reviews either. Plus they dry faster so it's good for those who bathe twice a day. The bedsheets were very clean and white. The safe in my room was working.

Breakfast was composed of 3 types of pastry bread (croissants, a choco filled one, and a swirly raisin one), brown toast, french loaves, boiled eggs, 2 kinds of cold cuts, yoghurt, emmental cheese, 3 types of cereals, 3 types of jams, butter, margarine, and sliced fruits in syrup (the only one I didn't try, I prefer them fresh). For drinks there was milk, a juice dispenser (orange and apple), various tea bags, a coffee and hot chocolate machine, and mineral water. I ate there almost everyday for 4 weeks and didn't really get sick of the food.

On 2 occasions, a light bulb would suddenly not work. First it was the lamp followed by the bathroom light. I just had to inform the receptionist of this the following morning and it would be fixed by the time I get back at night.

I can see other people's concern about staying on the ground level and if you want to open your window to keep your room cool, people can literally just walk in through the window. I didn't face this predicament since I stayed during the winter and don't really like the cold, so I kept mine closed at all times. Plus there's CCTV everywhere.

There's a computer and printer you can use for free. A washer and dryer in each building. A vending machine for drinks and snacks.

There's a Dia supermarket down the road (3-minute walk) and a Carrefour further down (plus 5-minute walk from Dia).

This place is very good considering its 3-star rating. I wouldn't mind staying there again.



Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotels in Geneva are notoriously expensive and not good value for money. Staying in Ferney Voltaire, on the French side of the border, is a cheaper option and Citadines is an excellent place to try. 5 min walk from Citadines are bus links directly into the centre of Geneva ( to Cornavin in about 40 mins) or the airport (in 9mins). As an ApartHotel, each room has a kitchenette with hob, microwave and dishwasher. Supermarkets are
close if you are planning a longer self-catering stay. Optional daily room cleaning and breakfast can provide the hotel feel but you can do it all yourself if you prefer.
My studio room was small but very clean and the bed was very comfortable. All staff were welcoming and friendly and breakfast, although not extensive, had cereal, fruit, cold meat, cheese and excellent French bread and petit fours. I liked the sleepy French town but it won't be for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire

Address: 34 rue de Geneve, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apart'hotel is located in a quiet and wooded area but yet only a stone's throw away from the cultural and cosmopolitan pulse of Geneva and its historical district, the UNO and other international organisations. Enjoy the ski stations of Jura (15 minutes drive), the Alps (1 hour drive) and the Lake of Geneva. Easily accessible from the Geneva Cointrin Airport, the Apart'hotel has 127 Studios and One-Bedroom apartments. Enjoy a leisure stroll at our private garden followed by a sauna. Absolute must-see: The Bain des Paquis, a natural swimming pool at the edge of Lake Leman Citadines Geneve Ferney Voltaire is a 3-star, triple-storey duplex that houses 127 apartments including 73 two-person Studios, 53 One-Bedroom apartments that can sleep 4 guests comfortably, and a Two-Bedroom apartment that is large enough to accommodate 5 to 6 guests. A double sofa bed or 2 single beds are available in all the Studios. In the One-Bedroom and Two-Bedroom apartments, there are pullout beds or twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and an Italian-style bed in the bedrooms. Reception is open from 7am to 10pm. Each Studio and Apartment houses a bathroom with a separate toilet, a fully-equipped separate kitchen area complete with stove, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone, hairdryer and safe deposit box. The apartment is cleaned and linen and towels are changed for free once a week. Additional housekeeping service is available upon request and is charged according to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire Hotel Ferney-Voltaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.