We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option near Geneva” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire to your Saves list
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 rue de Geneve, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good option near Geneva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotels in Geneva are notoriously expensive and not good value for money. Staying in Ferney Voltaire, on the French side of the border, is a cheaper option and Citadines is an excellent place to try. 5 min walk from Citadines are bus links directly into the centre of Geneva ( to Cornavin in about 40 mins) or the airport (in 9mins). As an ApartHotel, each room has a kitchenette with hob, microwave and dishwasher. Supermarkets are
close if you are planning a longer self-catering stay. Optional daily room cleaning and breakfast can provide the hotel feel but you can do it all yourself if you prefer.
My studio room was small but very clean and the bed was very comfortable. All staff were welcoming and friendly and breakfast, although not extensive, had cereal, fruit, cold meat, cheese and excellent French bread and petit fours. I liked the sleepy French town but it won't be for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    18
    11
    12
See reviews for
13
6
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The appartment is very nice but I will recommend it for long stay nly. For someone lazy like me that always have hard days I dont want to come back where I have to do everything by myself. But clean and confortable, I can say.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The apartment is OK but it should be cleaner. Location is very good, restaurants on walking distance and a Carrefour very near. The surrounding garden is very nice and it was perfect for us who were staying there with a dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Apartment is OK but level of comfort is closer to a good 2 stars than a 3* at Euros 180 for the "club room"...
Staff knowledge of French or English limited and frustrating since we do not speak Spanish...
Room Wi-Fi very weak and hardly usable
The whole flat is filthy (see pics) and smells cooking (poor extraction system)
Location is OK with walking distance to shops/town
All together, poor value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We travelled around Europe for 9 weeks and during this time, this hotel was the only one that was not up to scratch. It was located in the middle of nowhere, despite the fact that it is 10 klms from the City Centre it was literally in the middle of nowhere. The cab drivers in Geneva had never heard of it, and despite the fact that we had prepaid for 4 nights we left after one night. There was no where to have dinner no where to buy food to have in self-contained unit, which was certainly spacious, but very tired, smelly and and in need of maintenance in every respect. It had no working safe, and being located on ground level, we were unsure of safety and security because the glass doors opened onto a car park and we were on display to passers by. It would have been too expensive to daily going into the city for sightseeing, its actually classified as being in France as it is on the border and certainly misleading in its description on the internet.

Room Tip: Choose to stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My family and I are practically life long residents of Ferney. So, when it came time to move away, we thought of no better place than the Citadines to stay our last few nights in this quaint town. We were so disappointed. In short, the price is not worth the discomfort! And then the imaginable happened... someone stole (or rather, helped themselves) to a good amount of Euros, Pounds and USD from a zipped compartment in a closed travel purse.* The hotel apologized and admitted they should have followed protocol when I reported it, but didn't. And finally said there was nothing they could do. It was a horrible end to our stay. This Citadines is in dire need of some care and refurnishing. Our apartment was smelly and old. The carpet was stained all over the place. Everything about this place is just pieced together with some tape or old parts. It made you not even want to sleep with their pillows or sheets. It was a pity to see a place that used to be quite acceptable, turn into that. Avoid this place. *It wasn't enough money that you would immediately want to hide in a safe (which by the way was not working in the room, even after the guy came to fix it), but a good amount to have a night out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a small apartment with a separate bedroom, small kitchen and living room with a sofa which made for a kid´s bed and had a dining table.

I quite enjoyed the place. We stayed there close to a month while seeking for permanent residence in the area. I thought it was cozy and quite liked the decoration of it - felt like home.

I could park my car right in front of our apartment.

There were sliding doors directly to the grass outside, which was great as we had our two rottweilers with us! (not to scare the other guests in the corridors...).

Affordable, straightforward accommodation with space enough for a longer stay with family,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire

Address: 34 rue de Geneve, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apart'hotel is located in a quiet and wooded area but yet only a stone's throw away from the cultural and cosmopolitan pulse of Geneva and its historical district, the UNO and other international organisations. Enjoy the ski stations of Jura (15 minutes drive), the Alps (1 hour drive) and the Lake of Geneva. Easily accessible from the Geneva Cointrin Airport, the Apart'hotel has 127 Studios and One-Bedroom apartments. Enjoy a leisure stroll at our private garden followed by a sauna. Absolute must-see: The Bain des Paquis, a natural swimming pool at the edge of Lake Leman Citadines Geneve Ferney Voltaire is a 3-star, triple-storey duplex that houses 127 apartments including 73 two-person Studios, 53 One-Bedroom apartments that can sleep 4 guests comfortably, and a Two-Bedroom apartment that is large enough to accommodate 5 to 6 guests. A double sofa bed or 2 single beds are available in all the Studios. In the One-Bedroom and Two-Bedroom apartments, there are pullout beds or twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and an Italian-style bed in the bedrooms. Reception is open from 7am to 10pm. Each Studio and Apartment houses a bathroom with a separate toilet, a fully-equipped separate kitchen area complete with stove, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone, hairdryer and safe deposit box. The apartment is cleaned and linen and towels are changed for free once a week. Additional housekeeping service is available upon request and is charged according to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire Hotel Ferney-Voltaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.