We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty n low 3* comfort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire

Save Saved
You added Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 rue de Geneve, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Dirty n low 3* comfort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Apartment is OK but level of comfort is closer to a good 2 stars than a 3* at Euros 180 for the "club room"...
Staff knowledge of French or English limited and frustrating since we do not speak Spanish...
Room Wi-Fi very weak and hardly usable
The whole flat is filthy (see pics) and smells cooking (poor extraction system)
Location is OK with walking distance to shops/town
All together, poor value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    16
    12
    11
See reviews for
11
5
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We travelled around Europe for 9 weeks and during this time, this hotel was the only one that was not up to scratch. It was located in the middle of nowhere, despite the fact that it is 10 klms from the City Centre it was literally in the middle of nowhere. The cab drivers in Geneva had never heard of it, and despite the fact that we had prepaid for 4 nights we left after one night. There was no where to have dinner no where to buy food to have in self-contained unit, which was certainly spacious, but very tired, smelly and and in need of maintenance in every respect. It had no working safe, and being located on ground level, we were unsure of safety and security because the glass doors opened onto a car park and we were on display to passers by. It would have been too expensive to daily going into the city for sightseeing, its actually classified as being in France as it is on the border and certainly misleading in its description on the internet.

Room Tip: Choose to stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My family and I are practically life long residents of Ferney. So, when it came time to move away, we thought of no better place than the Citadines to stay our last few nights in this quaint town. We were so disappointed. In short, the price is not worth the discomfort! And then the imaginable happened... someone stole (or rather, helped themselves) to a good amount of Euros, Pounds and USD from a zipped compartment in a closed travel purse.* The hotel apologized and admitted they should have followed protocol when I reported it, but didn't. And finally said there was nothing they could do. It was a horrible end to our stay. This Citadines is in dire need of some care and refurnishing. Our apartment was smelly and old. The carpet was stained all over the place. Everything about this place is just pieced together with some tape or old parts. It made you not even want to sleep with their pillows or sheets. It was a pity to see a place that used to be quite acceptable, turn into that. Avoid this place. *It wasn't enough money that you would immediately want to hide in a safe (which by the way was not working in the room, even after the guy came to fix it), but a good amount to have a night out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a small apartment with a separate bedroom, small kitchen and living room with a sofa which made for a kid´s bed and had a dining table.

I quite enjoyed the place. We stayed there close to a month while seeking for permanent residence in the area. I thought it was cozy and quite liked the decoration of it - felt like home.

I could park my car right in front of our apartment.

There were sliding doors directly to the grass outside, which was great as we had our two rottweilers with us! (not to scare the other guests in the corridors...).

Affordable, straightforward accommodation with space enough for a longer stay with family,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The property is well located (close to Geneva airport) and had overall a good potential, but somehow seems is not in radar of Ascott group to keep up with times.

The room carpets and beds are getting old and now are long overdue for replacements.
Same applies to toilets and kitchenettes - the plumbing and utensils are not what you would expect in such a place.

There is no WIFi in the rooms (there still good old cable connection).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Citadines is in a great location and the staff at the reception desk are always at their utmost helpful. However despite this, it is glaringly clear that the property is understaffed and desperately needs to be upgraded. I stayed here for two and a half months, long enough to experience the residence on a more long term basis instead of just a short stay where you may be omitted from several misgivings. The carpets especially in the hallways either need to be removed or washed thoroughly as they are fermenting a vinegar like smell. And the internet had moments of complete shut down, making it extremely difficult to complete work from home. Although internet in the lobby should be available and working at all times.

The cleaning staff usually do an really good job, and the reception staff go the extra mile to try and assist you, I strongly commend them for having to be constantly overworked to assist in maintaining the property. Considering the housing crisis in Geneva for foreigners, and its exorbitant prices Citadines is a reluctantly convenient alternative. Although things are still pricey so be prepared.

Washing (small load) and drying will cost 5euros EACH.
Breakfast is on average 9euros per day (with very limited selection considering the price).
From Geneva airport if you want to save money, you can get yourself a 2hour complimentary transport ticket (from the ticket machine in arrivals) and take the Y bus to Ferney Voltaire, the bus stop is Brunette, and its roughly 5-8mins walk uphill to Citadines.

In the very least Citadines organizers events for its residents (mostly expat) to get a chance to meet each other. And ferney voltaire offers a saturday fleamarket which is not to be missed. Also walking distance from cheaper grocery stores like Dia, and Carrefour. And on the F-bus its about 25 minutes to Palais des Nations in Geneva.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ideally situated a short bus ride from Geneva airport, this hotel was just what we wanted.
The desk staff were incredibly helpful and efficient, the rooms were clean and well presented and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
Breakfast offered a wide choice and plenty of it, although they would benefit from having a larger dining room as it was rather cramped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire

Address: 34 rue de Geneve, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire Hotel Ferney-Voltaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.