We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In dire need of maintenance” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire

Save Saved
You added Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 rue de Geneve, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Noida, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“In dire need of maintenance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The property is well located (close to Geneva airport) and had overall a good potential, but somehow seems is not in radar of Ascott group to keep up with times.

The room carpets and beds are getting old and now are long overdue for replacements.
Same applies to toilets and kitchenettes - the plumbing and utensils are not what you would expect in such a place.

There is no WIFi in the rooms (there still good old cable connection).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    15
    9
    10
See reviews for
10
5
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Citadines is in a great location and the staff at the reception desk are always at their utmost helpful. However despite this, it is glaringly clear that the property is understaffed and desperately needs to be upgraded. I stayed here for two and a half months, long enough to experience the residence on a more long term basis instead of just a short stay where you may be omitted from several misgivings. The carpets especially in the hallways either need to be removed or washed thoroughly as they are fermenting a vinegar like smell. And the internet had moments of complete shut down, making it extremely difficult to complete work from home. Although internet in the lobby should be available and working at all times.

The cleaning staff usually do an really good job, and the reception staff go the extra mile to try and assist you, I strongly commend them for having to be constantly overworked to assist in maintaining the property. Considering the housing crisis in Geneva for foreigners, and its exorbitant prices Citadines is a reluctantly convenient alternative. Although things are still pricey so be prepared.

Washing (small load) and drying will cost 5euros EACH.
Breakfast is on average 9euros per day (with very limited selection considering the price).
From Geneva airport if you want to save money, you can get yourself a 2hour complimentary transport ticket (from the ticket machine in arrivals) and take the Y bus to Ferney Voltaire, the bus stop is Brunette, and its roughly 5-8mins walk uphill to Citadines.

In the very least Citadines organizers events for its residents (mostly expat) to get a chance to meet each other. And ferney voltaire offers a saturday fleamarket which is not to be missed. Also walking distance from cheaper grocery stores like Dia, and Carrefour. And on the F-bus its about 25 minutes to Palais des Nations in Geneva.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ideally situated a short bus ride from Geneva airport, this hotel was just what we wanted.
The desk staff were incredibly helpful and efficient, the rooms were clean and well presented and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
Breakfast offered a wide choice and plenty of it, although they would benefit from having a larger dining room as it was rather cramped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

the title says it all. the location/staff guarantee its good occupancy. it can improve by doing more in the rooms and balconies. the question is: will it.
it's not true that its grounds are unkempt. it should remove its climbing rose bushes so you don't snag your clothes on

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Geneva airport is well short of the number of hotel rooms needed, so I went to France by going under the East end of the runways; Taxi was CHF 20 from the terminal for a 5 minute ride. Hotel was ok, but room was 1 hour late being cleaned due to big rush; small kitchen, no English TV channels except CNN; bedroom was a loft via circular stairway-- big danger in the middle of the night. Seemed somewhat pricey, but then again, that's Geneva!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of renovation. The outside of the buildings is simply dirty, unkempt and in major need of a paint job. The apartments are often dirty, with stains on the carpet... Lots of areas that need fixing and repair... too many to mention. The swimming pool has been closed for over 2 years now. It has become a dirty spot that adds to the gloom of the place. It is a dirty, sorry place. Obviously the owners are milking it for all the income they can get without investing anything back. I am very surprised that the Citadines chain lends its name to this horror. Front desk staff is quite unfriendly and at times very uninformed. Maybe they are overworked or there is high turnover. Breakfast is very limited and not worth the price. The breakfast room is very small. When there are a few people taking breakfast together, it is a real traffic jam, quite messy and uncomfortable. The fruit salad often has pieces of bruised or rotten fruit (especially apple) in it. Also, the front desk shuts down at 10 pm until 7 am the following day. There is no one on property to call if there is a problem or a disturbance and no effort is made to provide an emergency number. Given the totally open and unsecured nature of the property, this is also quite dangerous since no security is provided at all. If you need assistance for any reason to get back to your room after 10 pm, it will cost you $100 or so to get a contractor come and unlock the door for you. Overall, stay away especially if you have to pay the cost. If your agency/employer sends you there, they are either uninformed or you carry little weight at your workplace (sorry!). Complain and demand to be sent elsewhere. This is a bad place that exploits its guests and does not really care for their comfort and welfare... A dirty hotel to be avoided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gérant at Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Kachmol,

I would like to apologize for not delivering the quality of service you had expected. While we may not alter your views about our property, please allow us to clarify the various issues you had raised.

We are currently refurbishing our rooms in phases. We are also in the process of reinstating the swimming pool and we hope that it will be opened before the end of the season.

Our breakfast room is opened from 7 to 10 am. While it can get crowded at times, we have arranged extra tables on the terrace and also in our lobby to accommodate everyone.

Given that we are a serviced residence and not a hotel, we have very low demand for guest services at night. Hence, our reception is closed between 22:00 hrsand 07:00 hrs. During this time, an emergency number is in place to assist guests in case of emergency or for guests who arrive late. The telephone number is displayed at the entrance of all buildings and also in the lobby. The fee of 90,00 € is charged only if the guest has forgotten their key in their room and a security agent has to come to open the guest’s room. This cost goes to directly to the external security company.

Finally, I would like to assure you that we value your feedback and they will be utilized to improve our services and communication. In the future, please do not hesitate to alert us during your stay so that we have a chance to discuss with you the issues and maybe find a solution that can satisfy you and make your stay more enjoyable.

Yours sincerely

Pierre Brunaud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ferney-Voltaire hotels

Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Les Citadines in Ferney-Voltaire. The hotel needs some renovations, especially in the rooms and the corridors. It was clean, but there was a strong smell of vinegar that lingered for a couple of days after we arrived. Carpet in the room was stained and needs to be changed.

The room was on two floors; the spiral staircase to the bedroom upstairs was a little rickety. Shower pression was not good. The beds were ok, although they could have been a little firmer. There is no restaurant but rooms have a little kitchenette with a mini fridge, stove and microwave.

Overall we had an average stay. The place was ok, nothing more. I would only recommend it for a few nights, but not for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a single floor if you don't want to have to manage a staircase all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire

Also Known As:
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire Hotel Ferney-Voltaire
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire Hotel
Citadines Geneva Ferney Voltaire
Address: 34 rue de Geneve, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.