We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely séjour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa du Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa du Lac to your Saves list
La Villa du Lac
93 Chemin Du Chatelard, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely séjour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We had an apartment everything you need for self catering, close to lake and Divonne centre for restaurants, shops etc. Lucky with exceptional weather for this time of year.
Enjoyed the Hamman and pool, staff friendly and courteous

Room Tip: Our apartment had one room with two single beds and then a pull down sofa in lounge so a little inco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    85
    68
    34
    14
See reviews for
32
95
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

First a disclaimer - this review will be based on certain requirements that were met (or not met) based on our certain circumstances. Firstly we were here for a week,my wife had a conference and I was at the hotel babysitting our 1 year old. We needed an apartment style accommodation for heating up bottles and food for the young one. Keep this in mind when you read my review and assess my ratings.

The Good

- got a one bedroom + living room with kitchen and dining room + large coat closet + storage room. The kitchen is well equipped with oven, microwave, utensils, fridge, kettle and dish washer with soap. Everything one needs to feed self and little ones.
- all rooms have mounted wall heater which is required for this time of the year. The temperature within the rooms were always pleasant.
- cleaning supplies are provided including broom, vacuum cleaner. Which was very important to us because our guy likes to make a mess when eating and playing.
- laundry was within the building we were staying in and cost was reasonable at 5 Euros for wash and 3 Euros for dry.appliances are Miele so do work well
- the walls do a good job of soundproofing us from our next door neighbours(and vice versa). But we were in the corner unit
- lots of storage space to accommodate the plethora of baby items we brought along
- now the main attraction - the location was perfect. This hotel is just across the road of the man made Lake. The lake has a 3.3 km walking path around its perimeter. Every morning once my wife would leave for work we would walk the lake. There are many things to do when here and the hotels proximity ensured we did enjoy ourselves everyday of our stay.
- about 5 mins walk the opposite direction to the lake is the city centre. Many boutique shops and restaurants. The walk to the centre is also enjoyable as you walk parallel to the river and some man made waterfalls. Very serene.
- free parking close to apartments
- in summary the location drives the rating up for this hotel by a solid 1 point.

The Bad

- the rooms are not properly cleaned at very onset. Now, if it were just us couple visiting we wouldn't have given this a thought but given we now have an infant this was a big issue. The rooms were dusty, floors were not swept properly, dead insects and spiders were in the corners of the rooms and walls. Given we had the cleaning supplies provided we ended up doing a thorough cleaning ourselves to best of our ability. This was required as our guy likes to crawl around and touch all kinds of things
- the apartments are considered serviced. I must admit I thought this meant they would be routinely cleaned during our stay. But this is not the case. If your stay is 8 days or longer you get one cleaning done. This includes replenishing towels, bathroom paper rolls, new sheets etc. Warning though, the cleaning is done under 5 minutes and very basic. And I must admit the water used when wiping the floors was very dirty. I would venture a guess this water is not replaced until a set of apartments are cleaned (including washrooms) which is pretty disgusting
- the restaurant with the hotel is expensive and not very nice in terms of quality. The service was excellent though. The closest restaurants are in the centre.
- because we were on the ground floor, and because all floors are wooden, all of the footsteps and chairs being moved etc could be heard from our rooms. Thankfully we have a white noise machine for the little guy.

In Summary

- had this trip been made prior to our son, we would definitely not have stayed in this hotel. Our priorities and requirements are much different now and this hotel satisfied most of what we wanted for the long stay. That being said, we did a lot of housework to ensure the environment was suitable for our boy.

The next time we come here we would again strongly consider staying here.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The area is great, green, quiet.
The Spa is amazing and i was happy to come back for the 4th or 5th time. My kids were looking forward to it as well but it may have been the last one.
We arrived at 1.28pm : restaurant closed.
But the real problem is that the rules for the kids at the Spa have changed: kids are allowed only from 11 to 14.30 and 19 to 21 !
Lunch and dinner time only even accompanied !
So the rules are made for couples with no kids who want to be quiet at the Spa.
Not for families !
I have to manage to disappointment of the whole family now. It is raining and we cannot enjoy the major asset of this place...

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Attended a two-day conference (1 night). The meeting rooms are ok for smaller groups up to 50 people. The rooms are spacious and comfortable for a short stay. The bed is extremely low to the ground although it was King size. The rooms have balconies but with a view of the parking lot and if the wind is blowing in the right direction, you can smell the hippodrome nearby.

There is one complimentary shuttle at 9am from the hotel to the airport which makes no sense since the airport is only about 15-20 min short drive. Check-in time is strictly at 3pm and the front desk staff is very unfriendly and understaffed (never saw more than 1 person working the front desk). There is a 'bar' next to the front desk but really is not meant for any after work networking or hanging out with colleagues. You're better off driving 5 min away to a local in-town pub.

Lunch both days was not great but was not terrible either. The wait staff/servers are efficient but like the front desk staff, unfriendly. Breakfast was ok and there was plenty of seating space and plenty of breakfast choices (breads, cheeses, yogurts, juices, etc). Overall, ok for business but not much else.

Room Tip: For security, I'd suggest female travelers make sure you get a room in the same building as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Stayed at villa du lac for 2 days (1 night) for a couple of business meetings. It's a nice hotel, easy to reach from Geneva airport (20 min door to door by car) and the rooms are clean. I stayed at a separate building and had a small apartment to myself with a small kitchen and living room.

The conference rooms are very spacious with coffee and snacks always on refill. The lunch was served in a small room near the reception and was very good with a nice choice between meat and fish with tiny desserts to finish with.
The breakfast was ok. But the staff aren't very good at English with makes asking for more plates a bit challenging.

Overall, it's a nice hotel and I would certainly go back.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Isolated, no Internet available at rooms and very bad service.
Typical from this location (Divone/France); no customer service; any attention to customer needs...
slow and bad service at reception. Breakfast starts late and no alternative provided..

Room Tip: Main building. Renovated rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Apartment was clean and tidy but blankets were grubby. Bar staff very nice but not being able to get access to room until 5 pm is a pain. Hotel seemed empty but receptionist told us they were very busy which was strange.
Spa and restaurant looked nice

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa du Lac

Address: 93 Chemin Du Chatelard, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Du Lac Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
La Hotel Du Lac
La Hotel Divonne Les Bains
La Villa Du Lac Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa du Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.