We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views of mont-blanc..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Ducs De Savoie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aux Ducs De Savoie to your Saves list
Aux Ducs De Savoie
253 Route Du Bouchet, 74920 Combloux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Combloux
Paris, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Fantastic views of mont-blanc..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a very friendly hotel with caring hosts. The views from the lounge area were wonderful. The food was of good standard, though on the night we had dinner they were a bit overun and could have done with a few more wait staff. The ambience of the hotel was wonderful, with amazing views of mont blanc.
The rooms were adequate, although the beds weren't extremely comfortable. My only other negatives were that there was no bar fridge in the room and no shower hook in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newtown
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a very warm and cosy chalet-style hotel. The furnishings in the communal areas are simply delightful....timber panelling, wheelbarrows of pine cones, vintage posters, lovely traditional Christmas decorations and comfortable lounge with magnificent views.
The staff are all very polite and helpful.
I do believe though that the beds and bathroom setup let the hotel down a bit. The double bed was very small...and not particularly comfortable, while the bathroom didn't have a bracket allowing the shower head to be fixed to the wall. Washing ones' hair was particularly tricky. We also found a bar fridge to be lacking in the room..fortunately the frosty outdoor temps meant we only had to leave any perishable items outside on the balcony to keep them fresh. This is obviously a considered omission as the hotel provides both half and full board options.....at considerable expense! The heating in the hotel was centrally-controlled which was frustrating as we found ourselves at night feeling at times too hot and at times too cold but unable to do anything about it . I think for the price (215€ per night) these things need to be addressed.
The Christmas dinner we had, on the 24th evening, was very good but unfortunately the waitstaff struggled to deliver the numerous courses promptly, and the entire service took much longer than it should have, despite us being amongst the first to arrive at 19h30.
Walking along the route du Bouchet to reach the skibus stop is a little perilous...as there are no pavements and drivers tend to speed rather carelessly, but we managed to make our way up to La Cry every day and both my husband and daughter were delighted to be able to take their very first ski lessons...
All in all a successful Christmas break...would recommend if the beds were upgraded and the rates a little less steep.

Room Tip: Try to get a Mont Blanc facing room at front of hotel...for which you will need to book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at "Aux Ducs de Savoie" on January 4th for one night. The location of the hotel is excellent, a few kilometers away from Megève and a few kilometers away from the first ski slopes (I think the closest lift is called "La cry"). You can drive there and park you car on the dedicated area or use the shuttle. I guess it stops not that far from the hotel but I didn't try.

The hotel offers an amazing view on the Montblanc if your room is on the right side (see the picture I took). We really enjoyed the view from our room, especially on the first day when the sun was shining.

I paid 215 euro for the night plus 2x 17 euros for the breakfasts as they are not included in the room price, which I find a bit weird for a 4-star hotel. The service is good but not excellent. I have the feeling the room is slightly overpriced as: It doesn't feature a mini-bar, there were no glasses in the bathroom and there was no hook on the wall in the shower. Therefore, we had to hold it while having a shower. Not really practical and not that nice for the price. I did not try the outdoor swimming pool that was frozen ;) but I'm sure it must be amazing in summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed there five terrific days that will be in our memories for ever. We decided to go next year with our grand children. The hotel is half board that you can choose either lunch or dinner. But by judging from the dinner crowd I think most of the guests prefer dinner. The food is of fantastic quality, abundant with a desert table that will crush the will of any person on a diet. On top of everything the X/mass dinner was included in the price with a real French X/mass menu. The family that keep the hotel are not just charming they give the maximum to make your stay pleasant. As they all are born in the vicinity they have all the information that most concierges don't have a clue. Ask them anything. The staff is in the same parallel. The rooms are not very large, but they have everything that is necessary. The bar is full, from eau de vie to champagne and decent coffee. (Extremely important in France.) From the even numbered rooms you can see the Mont Blanc (if you catch the full moon on a clear day, during the night the view is undescribable ) even from your bed when you are laying down. And all the snow that you can handle. Combloux is only four klms. from Megeve that all the fun is. But parking in Megeve is equal to go into the inferno of Dante. If you are going to be in the vicinity of Megeve five days or more I strongly advice you to reserve a place in the parking that is only for reservation for the week. It is steep, 200$ a week, but it is worth it, you can get frustrated after five minutes searching for a spot. During the holidays there are many events in Megeve that you should not miss. ( PARKING AVEC ABONEMENT, You will see it getting into Megeve on your right hand side. ) The altitude restaurants should not be missed. If you don't ski you can have day trips to Chamonix and Courmayeur (Italy, where everything is at least 30% cheaper than Megeve, if you want to buy cashmere for instance. The Mont Blanc tunnel costs 50$ return.)
The food everywhere in France is good, cheese is fantastic. Try the raclette with your friends or family, it is quite fun.

Room Tip: he even numbered rooms has the view of the valley and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combloux, France
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

A superbly run hotel with excellent food and friendly welcome. Rooms look out on fantastic views of Mont Blanc. We have been dining there for over ten years, thought have not stayed there for many years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We are from Rome (Italy)
I selecetd via internet this 4 stars hotel with the ambitious target to spend a week with my family (2 childs) from 31/12/2011 to 8/1/2012 in a comfortable allocation close to Megeve area, very close to ski slopes and save some money due to the high prices of Megeve Hotels.
I red a lot of Tripadvisor suggestions and decided for Aux Ducs de Savoie.
I was very, very happy of my choice; all went in the best way; fantastic dinner and breakfast, very comfortable room with mont blanc view and nice and large relaxing area. The ownership (a very kind lady) remains very descreet but careful to clients needs. Ski slopes are few meters from the hotel and you can go back to the hotel with your skies. The only aspect to improve is the SPA area (sauna and Jacuzzi)... very small .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We were 20 people for a meeting
Luckily, the weather was perfect, so we spent more time outside near the pool for our group discussions rather than staying ijn the meeting room
Astonishing point of view on the Mont Blanc from bedrooms, restaurant, terracce, & meeting rooms.
But even more important, a so cosy & "douillet" atmosphere thanks to the family owning the hotel . A gastronomic restaurant ( deserve 1star Michelin ) with a team 100% flexible, can do attitude which is a great ambassador for our french culture
Thousand thanks to all the team from Pepsico S4S meeting
David Douillet, PepsiCo Europe

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aux Ducs De Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Ducs De Savoie

Address: 253 Route Du Bouchet, 74920 Combloux, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Combloux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Combloux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aux Ducs De Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aux Ducs De Savoie Combloux, France - Haute-Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Ducs De Savoie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.