We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hitel with good location as stop by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1363 Avenue Frederic Mistral, 38670 Chasse-sur-Rhone, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable hitel with good location as stop by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night at this Ibis, 3 star, and found it a comfortable,place. The staff is very friendly and the
Location is very good, south of Lyon to continue your journey Southwards. The hotel has a restaurant that serves pleasant food, all is ver simple but acceptable and clean. The rooms are nice but we found it too warm as the air conditioning was not working properly. Breakfast is very poor with limited choice. Overall nice for a night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    174
    60
    14
    4
See reviews for
96
122
23
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Baden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked the "Hotel Mercure Lyon Sud Vienne". When I arrived it turned out to be "Ibis Style". And it also turned out a complete non-smoker hotel. This was not mentioned in the description in the internet. I didn't get, what I booked and I find that quite annoying. The new design is somewhat over the top poor man's idea of "modern design".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We found this place just off the motorway, we've stayed in Ibis Styles before and enjoyed the properties so decided to stop here for the night.

First thing we noticed when we arrived around 10pm was how secure the property was, there's a large gate stopping access and even as potential guests it took a little bit of talking via the security intercom before opening it (this is a good thing, I knew our car and belongings would be safe).

Getting a room and key was a nice and easy process, the guy on reception was extremely helpful.

The room was a twin bed, brightly coloured one with a few useful amenities including a desk, 2 chairs, a full length mirror, 2 bed side tables, tv oh and let's not forget the free bottle of water and haribo too.

The bathroom was very clean and modern looking with pebble look flooring, a white bath/shower, and a green frosted glass back toilet. The bathroom amenities included towels and a multi use wall soap (soap, shampoo, shower gel).

In the morning we went down for breakfast which was serving until 10am, it was a continental breakfast consisting of fresh croissants, baguette, ham, cheese, honey, marmite, yogurt, fruit, cereals, various teas and coffees and a orange squeezer machine which allowed you to make your own orange juice.

Once again Ibis Styles have provided us with a lovely comfortable nights sleep, I hope to see more of these opening world wide and would definitely stay at this one again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Former Mercure Hotel, freshly and completely renovated as Ibis Style.
Easy access from Lyon South highways, just off the exit when coming rom the South.
Access to hotel and parking place is secured via closed portal
Completely redesigned and refurnished rooms featuring comfortable beds, large TV flat screen,
Soundproof windows prevent from hearing any traffic noise.
Beautufully designed bathroom with bath tub (a simple shower would have been more efficient in my opinion).
Overall the room is not very large but sufficient for sleeping in great comfort.
Breakfast is standard Ibis, with frehly squeezed orange juice in addition.
Nice children game area to keep them quiet, and overall nice people from the reception and the kitchen. very good value for the price.

My advice : if you are coming from Northern Europe and going to ski vacation to the French Alps, this might be a good place to stop and relax, as it is a bit off the regular highway route between Chambery and Dijon, but less busy during peak weekends in winter time. than other hotels located directly on the ski-route

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Very clean rooms, great modern decor and great breakfast. Perfect for a one night stay when on the move as its just off the motorway yet its quiet so we don't hear the traffic. Check was extremely fast as was check out. Good quality beds and size of rooms and provides value for money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

First impressions of this hotel from outside are not great! Surrounded by a high wire fence just off the motorway you think, what kind of a place is this? But once inside it's honestly ideal for breaking the journey driving to or from the south of France. It's location just off the motorway means you don't waste extra time in the car looking for the hotel and the windows are properly sound-proofed. The hotel is super kid-friendly with large family rooms, magazines for children, plastic & melamine tableware in the restaurant, children's menu, highchairs, crayons and games while waiting for food etc. But the cutest touch was the children's paly area, set up like an internet café with toy/educational computers. My 6 year old loved it! The breakfast buffet is plentiful, setting you up for a long drive. There is no other reason to stay at this hotel other than a stop-over with children but for that it's ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As you will see from my many reviews, I stay regularly in Ibis hotels but usually the cheaper versions. This time, due to lack of choice in the area on the right date, I paid (the company) a little more and chose this Ibis STYLES hotel. I was re-assured by the fact that it used to be Mercure hotel, which are usually a slightly better standard, so I was hopeful.

I booked on line and decided to try the "Demi-Pension" or half board option. This price includes an evening meal plus breakfast.

I was not wrong ref the "ex Mercure" bit, as this hotel is very good for a slightly above average budget hotel. The hotel is easy to find just off the motorway with a room big enough for my needs, two single beds and pleasantly furnished. Obviously I only slept in one bed, but it was extremely comfortable with a "topper matress". I wish our bed at home was as good. The room was quiet (see my room tip), warm, air conditioned and felt good quality compared with the cheaper Ibis hotels chain. The road noise outside was minimal and didn't disturb my usual light sleeping habitude. However, I did hear the occassional high speed train pass briefly by in the night, which wasn't a problem for me but might be for others? There was a very clean en-suite bathroom, which had a bath and a shower powered from the taps.

Ref the inclusive evening meal. Having eaten in a LOT restaurants in France, I can only say that the included meal was far from good and stopped this hotel from getting 4 blobs. With the half board option, I had a choice of entrée & meal or the meal plus a desert from the limited "plat du jour", which included a 500ml bottle of water (flat or fizzy) and a coffee. I expected at least a glass of wine included in the extra price, but had to pay extra. Not good value or quality.

Even though I speak reasonable French, I was not too sure what the entrée consisted of so opted for the plat (andouillette troyes) + dessert of Apple pie with cream. I will try anything once, but the "andouillette troyes" (slimey pork suasage?) is definitely an aquired taste and smell plus most probably not to most English peoples taste. It came with boiled green beans (haricot vert) and a sort of mashed potato. Anyway, it was decidedly below average and not enjoyable at all. Also, the dessert of apple pie was pretty much a cheap one straight from a supermarket with some spray cream. I think a better option would be to not choose half board and maybe look for a better restaurant nearby or choose something else from the menu which maybe of better value.

However, don't let that put you off staying here if you want just B&B in a comfortable, easy access, good standard hotel then this is the place to stop over. Maybe use as a base for Lyon as it's only 20 minutes from Lyon. The breakfast was the usual very reasonable Ibis affair. It consists of an all you can eat continental style food of reasonable quality and value for money. A good start to the day.

In the lobby there's a TV with free coffee making facilities plus a bar. All very swish and quite welcoming. The staff were good and spoke English if wanted. There's FREE WiFi throughout the hotel too, which worked well.

All in all...I will stay here again when in this area, but definitely NOT on a "half board" (demi-pension) basis.

Hope this helps....

Room Tip: IF you want a quiet room and are booking on line, add the comment "Je voudrais une chambre cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne

Address: 1363 Avenue Frederic Mistral, 38670 Chasse-sur-Rhone, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Chasse-sur-Rhone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chasse-sur-Rhone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes south of Lyon and 5 minutes north of Vienne, located at the junction of the A7, A46 and A47 motorways, 15 min from the vineyards of Condrieu and Cote Rotie, close to the Gallo Roman ruins of St Romain en Gal. The hotel is fully airconditionedand offers soundproofed rooms with WiFi access available on request. Room for meetings and banquets. Regional cuisine. Free, secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.