We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SKI WEEKENDS BREAK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Verseau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Le Verseau to your Saves list
Hotel Le Verseau
Rue du 8 Mai 1945, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SKI WEEKENDS BREAK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at the hotel Verseau with Ski Weekends, transfer from Geneva 2hrs, the hotel was o.k but a bit dated (but who cares on a short ski trip) the staff were friendly and eager to help, the food was very good. Pre booked lift passes with ski weekends, booked ski hire on line with Ski Set at their Montagne 1 shop, which is situated under the Olympe gondola which takes you up to the centre of Meribel, 20 mins. Also booked a locker at the shop for skis and boots, Got a lift from the staff in the mornings to the gondola, this made for a hassle free, pre ski routine! At the end of the day, 5pm last lift, drop of skis and boots at ski set and the town is a short walk (2mins). About four bars and a couple of restaurants in the town. Ski weekends do run a shuttle back but if you want a couple of drinks the hotel is only another 3 mins walk from the centre of town.

If you're going skiing,its a great, cheap way to do it, especially early season

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
23
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham North Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day ski weekend in the 3 Vallees with skiweekends.com It was my first package weekend trip . We travelled with skiweekends.com and they looked after us very well. We stayed in the Club Hotel Verseau in Brides Les Bains, (pronounced Breed la Ban) the staff in the hotel were great, really helpful. Hotel was clean and comfortable, food was excellent. Although Brides les Bains is a 20 minute gondola ride from Meribel, Ski Weekends ran a minibus to the gondola from the hotel from 08:15 onwards and from 16:30 back to hotel. (Although it was only a 10 minute walk.) I went in a group of 10 and nobody moaned about the Gondola ride, it was a relaxed way to start and finish the day. The timing of the weekend was very good as it meant I took only 1.5 days off work but skied for 4 days. I worked Thursday till 13:00 then drove to Liverpool Airport. Easy jet flight to Geneva. Ski Weekends met us then coach to resort, arriving about 22:30. Food was available for us on arrival. We then skied all day Friday, Saturday, Sunday and until 14:30 on the Monday. Coach left resort at 17:00 for Geneva, and we landed back in Liverpool at about 22:00. I would definitely recommend this as an option for either a cheeky weekend away or a main holiday because they also do full week breaks by coach or by air from UK. All being well I will be back next year. A tip for any skier. Book a locker on the piste in Meribel. (We used the one under the Saulire Express gondola) It cost us about 30 euros for a triple locker. We stored 3 sets of skis, three pairs of boots and three helmets, so we did the daily gondola commute in our après boots. A lot easier and it worked out about 10 euro's each for the 4 days

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We traveled with Skiweekends by coach overnight and had 4 days on the slopes over New year and 3 nights accommodation. Our rooms and beds were comfortable. Their was plenty of food and the quality was OK. The staff were friendly and the transport up to Meribel and the ski area all worked very well, though it is 25mins on a gondola up from Brides and there is a considerable queue to come back down at the end of the day if you leave towards the end of the afternoon in peak season. If you are lucky with the snow (as we were in 2012/13) and you can ski red runs, you can jump the worst of the late afternoon homeward queue by getting on the gondola lower down than the main station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This is my third stay here with ski weekends and my first review.
The review should be taken in three segments - one fog the actual hotel, two for the service and thirdly for huge whole ski weekends concept...

Firstly the hotel - it's ok, bug in died need of a refurb. Bed are comfy, rooms clean enough bug cracked tiles and old furniture really starting to show. Food is pretty good, Mainz s bit stodgy but good skiing fodder.

Service is great and staff very helpful, generally couldn't do enough to help.

The whole concept of ski weekends is fan and this is one of the best ski areas in the world! Bubble from Brides to Meribel doesn't open until 21st December and this was an unexpected disappoinment, however snow in Meribel was exceptional this year. Could do without super loud films on the coach played until midnight on the way out though!

Overall hotel is a basic 2 star, but skiing at bargain prices is a real winner!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from a ski weekends holiday, This is the second time i have travelled with ski weekends staying at the hotel Verseau. The holiday was fantastic from start to finish and great value for money. The coach used was new and extremely comfortable for the overnight journey. Both drivers demonstrated professional safe driving standards along with keeping the passengers informed throughout the journey. They were also really friendly and fun to be with. The ski weekends overseas manager met the coach prior to the resort, issuing the lift passes and ski hire vouchers and communicated the itinary to get us out on the slopes as soon as possible. During our stay i found the hotel staff to be really helpful and made us feel really welcome. The hotel room was clean, spacious and looked out over the town. The restaurant food was excellent and the hotel bar had a lovely cosy atmosphere. The staff were well prepared and ready for the coming season. I really enjoyed the holiday and am looking to return to the hotel Verseau with ski weekends in February and again enjoy this wonderful area.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out towards the town have fantastic views and are really relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at the Verseau on a Skiweekends long weekend on the 1st week of the season. Its a basic, ( tired ) place to put your head down. The staff were exceleent, the food was well above average for the price you pay. The rooms were adequate and the beer was cheap at 4.5e a pint. The only downfall is that it is 30 mins coach ride ( free ) to Meribel. If we had gone later in the season there is a chair lift from Brides to the resort that takes 17mins. I would definately stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath ( and a plug ) - I only had a shower in my room and would have loved to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went on a skiing trip with Skiweekends and stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. I could not complain, it really was a value for money we've paid. The room wasn't too modern, but it was clean, spacious, had a TV and a balcony overlooking slopes and the town. All staff members were British, so they could perfectly understand our requirements (believe me in other parts of France, it's a bit more complicated when it comes to communication). The breakfast was reasonable but would be glad to have more food for dinner (maybe because of our crazy appetite after spending a day on the slopes). Drinks in the hotel bar were cheap so we were having a good wine during the dinner time every night.
In the mornings, hotel staff was giving us a lift to the ski lift and picking us up after the long day of skiing.
There was nothing what was wrong so i would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Verseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Verseau

Address: Rue du 8 Mai 1945, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brides-les-Bains
#4 Spa Hotel in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite year after year, guests return and the new ones say "we can't believe its' this nice". Club Hotel Verseau is a truely sociable and relaxing place to stay. You'll be welcomed and cared for by our own 16 strong team. Our shuttle bus service is provided morning and evening to and from the Olympe gondola so you don't even have to carry your skis or board.Evening meal is a true restaurant experience, our stylish restaurant is open from 7.30pm each evening . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Verseau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Verseau Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Verseau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.