We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Week in the Alps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Golf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Greyffie de Bellecombe, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
San Carlos, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Week in the Alps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Excellent value and far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were very comfortable, tastefully decorated and the beds were super comfortable. Great shower and very very clean. The free internet was appreciated and was available throughout the hotel. We loved breakfast with an assortment of croissants and cheeses and great coffee. The dinner we ate in the Restaurant were superb. Convenient access to the Olympic Gondola we walked it everyday with our skis. The shuttle is good too stopping outside the hotel every 20 minutes. We really enjoyed the town of Brides Les Bains, The supermarket and bakeries were very convenient. The sidewalks do roll up at 9pm so make sure you go and eat early. The jacuzzi in the hotel was nice but could have been a bit hotter. There were also kids jumping in the jacuzzi and left without supervision, however we were still able to get our soak time in. One recommendation is that the hotel can warn guests they need to make a reservation for dinner at night. We were caught off guard one night which was disappointing as we were looking forward to the meal. All in all it is a 3 star that should definitely be a 4 star. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
38
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Polzeath, Cornwall, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in the Golf hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting our son who is working in meribel for the season. The hotel was perfect.only a 30 min cable car ride up to meribel centre . Much quieter down there, for us older people.Cable car stopped at 5pm so you need to get back down by then or a taxi can cost you up to 60 euros! Chepaer to eat out in Brides les Bains too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Golf Hotel was a great base for ski-ing We had a good size double room with a view down the valley to the mountain beyond. Nice sized bathroom with fresh towels and gowns.
Wide bed, television mostly in French but showing all the sport from across Europe.
Plenty of storage and safe deposit box in the room.
Secure Ski locker in the basement. Own car park with lift down to the main street. Only about 400 metres to the ski lift but the free ski bus stops right outside.
There is a lovely snug bar in the basement with large open log fire. Great for apres ski or pre-dinner drinks. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast had everything you would expect with fresh and tinned fruit, yoghurts, cereals, fresh croissants, eggs, ham, cheeses etc.
The three course dinner was OK and beautifully presented. The only slight criticism is that there was no choice available unless you were prepared to pay over 20 Euros extra and some of the set menus were a little uninspiring.
However, we would have no hesitation in returning again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Colomb de Lauzun, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Large, grand looking hotel. We were only there one night. We had a double room, good size, comfortable beds. Lovely view across to mountains. Bright, well – appointed bathroom.
We did not use the restaurant at all because the dinner menu was limited to one choice of a regular three course meal or the special calorie- counted type. Seemed expensive considering. Didn’t see the wine list. Did not have breakfast there either.
Best things were on site parking and the direct link by lift down to the town where there were quite a few restaurants still open despite being October.
Brides les Bains itself is an expensive, small place and totally geared towards “the cure“ and fitness activities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Golf Hotel welcomed us efficently with our keys ready and rooms prepared. Our first dinner was delayed for our late arrival. The staff were helpful, polite and welcoming. Our rooms were well prepared daily and dinner each evening was a work of art. A nice little bar in the basement with a log fire but I wonder would we have used the bar facilities if they had been one floor up in the big bright foyer. All sorts of Spa things available but I was not really sure where it all happened and for the first few days did not realise that our hotel had a sauna and jacussi, also in the basement. We booked this hotel as a large group and I would return.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

The Golf hotel is an excellent hotel, taking into account its price and the fact that it is a 3 star property. My wife and have stayed in 4 star hotels that have far less amenities than the Golf hotel.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was very big and silent. The complementary breakfast was far above average and the restaurant is very nicely decorated and has great views. Bride-les-Bains is a quiet resort not far from several ski stations and not far form the Vanoise national Park, which offers great hiking.

The Golf hotel is a great hotel for the budget-concious traveller (nowadays, who isn't?) and offers great amenities at a very reasonable price.

I would definitively recommend it. The only minor flaw of the hotel is that the parking lot tends to get pretty packed, as the parking spaces are not clearly marked. If there is no room in the parking lot, there uses to be parking spaces in the street adjacent to the hotel, but then the hotel staff places a piece of paper in your windshield reminding you to park in the parkind lot...

  • Liked — The size of our room.
  • Disliked — The parking lot.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed at the Exclusive Golf Hotel in Brides-les-Bains for 3 nights in late January 08 for a ski trip to Meribel.

This hotel is a big old building at the bottom of the valley, stuck on the side of a hill. From the outside it looks like a nice pretty building, the lobby inside looks like your average 3* hotel, and in keeping with many French hotels the public areas look a lot more grand than the bedrooms.

Our room (304 I think) was a standard double - it seems that most rooms there have 2 x twin beds pushed together, which was perfect for us as I was travelling with my brother and we needed a twin room. We had a balcony which had patio chairs on, a generous sized room with TV and desk, and a big bathroom with powerful shower over bath (but no shower curtain so we kept flooding the bathroom)

Room decor was a bit 1980s - nothing fancy or posh by any means, but things were basically clean and in working order.

Staff were friendly and accomodating. Breakfast (not included in our rate but available for €9 a day) was great - a good buffet of quality cold meats, cheeses, bread, pastries, fruit etc, and was worth the extra. Free parking in a small car park, and there was a hotel bar which we didn't sample.

There was ski locker room somewhere but we didn't use it as the excellent ski hire shop in the village let us leave all our stuff in their shop every day and overnight - great service. This shop was 'Marine Sports', as part of Sport2000 franchise. Excellent service here.

Brides is a great little town - not a lot there (a handful of bars and restaurants, pharmacy, village shops, SPAR supermarket, newsagents etc).

The hotel is about 5 minutes downhill then back uphill walk from the ski lift which takes you up to Meribel central in 25-30 minutes in a 4-person Poma gondola. It's a bit tedious, but you rise from 600m to 2000m through the woods, and the trip goes quite quickly. Make sure you buy the whole 3 valleys ski pass and not the cheaper Meribel only ski pass, as the Meribel area is quite limiting - worth paying a bit extra for 5 times more ski area!!

So overall, the Golf hotel was great - it was increadibly cheap, well placed, friendly staff, perfectly acceptable facilities (especially for the small amount we paid), and really was hard to fault. It was not grand and luxurious, but it was acceptably clean and had everything we needed. I could easily have paid 2x or 3x the price in other hotels, but really I can't see what elese I could have wanted for my money.

I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Liked — Accomodation
  • Disliked — Stupid name - GOLF? It's on a mountain in a ski resort!!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel

Address: Avenue Greyffie de Bellecombe, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.